We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was nice...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added America's Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn & Suites
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   950 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The room was nice...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The title sums it up. Lady at the front desk was very rude when we checked in. Got to the room, was nice. Still had a regular TV and not a flat screen. Shower would be hot, ice cold, scalding, ice cold, and back to hot. Our second day we left the room at 10:30am and came back at 3:30pm. Maid never showed during that time. Went down to the office..same lady came out and when I explained what had happened...she told me she'd get the maid to come to the room. She then proceeded to go into room off of the office. She slammed the door and I could hear her complaining loudly to whoever was back there. Maid finally came about an hour later. I just asked for towels and some toilet paper. Will probably never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    9
    11
    20
See reviews for
9
19
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed one night and couldn't wait to leave! TV reception on ABC & HBO channels was lousy, plus TV set must've been at least 10 or more years old. WiFi was horrible, only 1-2 bars most of the time. Pillows were paper thin and mattress was so-so. Heater only blew cool air and so was cold as heck in the morning. Microwave was old and had some kind of orange stuff on the viewing window. Management was unfriendly. Waffle iron was busted which left you with 2 types of cereal or piece of bread for breakfast. Other guests were noisy, had to listen to TV from one room and music from another. On the plus side, bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Lodge here at your own risk!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvi805, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you Mr. Bruce J for your review, as a matter of fact we were expecting it because after using a room for few hours and comparing the rates of other area hotels you wanted to get a refund and upon not getting it so there comes all these problems and a review BUT you forget that before checking in you saw the room and you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed 11 nights on a business trip. Every night when I got back to my room the room service did a thorough job of keeping the room clean. And it always smelled great! I would recommend this motel to anyone who wants a no frills inexpensive place to stay and it has all the amenities that you would expect a more expensive motel would have.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the building might be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

this room was quiet, inexpensive, and clean. we parked right outside and were a quick drive away from the downtown area, but also right next to the highway south. there is a washer and dryer outside downstairs next to the ice machine, which is convenient if necessary

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I come here just for sleep, as I need to continue my trip. Motel is quite standard. Simple breakfast, coffee tea, a waffle maker and toast on the house.

Room are clean, but price are so different here compare to Palm Spring, I was in PS only a day ago, and price here is double, and totally different class, over there in PS clients are more sophisticated and classy, and here are all the transient and non-white collars. And the motel in PS is lot more classy. Maybe the location make a difference, in short price here for 1 nite is almost I can stay in Palm Spring for 2 nites.

If you are looking for relexation and enjoyment, don't come. But just overnite and go, that will be OK.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This place is so run down and in need of a total makeover. I was stuck and needed a place for the night. If I was traveling alone I would have slept in my car over this place. The first room was a smoker haven and the odor was horrible. i was moved and the next room was so old looking and was patched together poorly. Not recommend to stay here especially if you are with your family.

Room Tip: someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed there on a Saturday to Sunday night. It was the cheapest option in town ($129 incl. tax) but the value for money was bad.
The room was quite large but worn. The bathroom was even larger, but in even more need of maintenance. Both were clean - so no complain about that.
In the middle of the night, I fight broke out right outside of our room. It lasted for a good 45 minutes and the guy from the front desk did not manage to stop it. No physical fighting, just a lot of jelling. This was characteristic for the clientel who stays there.
Conclusion: Avoid, if possible. Otherwise don't expect much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 950 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — America's Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your America's Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
America`s Best Value Hotel San Luis Obispo
Econo Lodge San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.