We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware or suites on the other side of the road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beware or suites on the other side of the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We thought we were getting a good deal on the two bedroom suites on the other side of the road. Come to find out, they are older and not clean at all. After unpacking we discovered our sink was clogged (not by our doing) and the residue was left in the sink. We moved to another room that was smaller but newer. They did give us 30 percent off our bill but we had to ask for it. The night guy was not sympathetic to our situation but the day manager was very attentive.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    48
    37
    24
    13
See reviews for
47
34
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel in SLO. The hotel is divided into two different buildings. The one where we have stayed is across the street from the main building and is a motel-style building. The rooms and furniture are dated and smell like old carpet (we bought air freshners). The A/C is an old-style wall unit but works great. What we like about this hotel is that for the price we get a good bit of space. We stay in the one bedroom suite that offers a private bedroom with two queen beds in it and a tv. There is also a main living area with a king size bed, tv, small table with 2 chairs and a full-size couch (not a pull out). Beds are pretty comfortable. Ask for ground level if possible because this building has no elevators for the upper levels and the outside steps must be used. The staff has always been courteous and easy to work with. Free breakfast is offered but we usually skip it as the dining room gets very crowded. Since the room has a frig, we keep milk and cereal on hand. There is a coin laundry available, but there is only one washer and dryer. The location is good if you are interested in being close to the shopping and restaurants of SLO. If you are looking for luxury do not stay here, but if you need basic accommodations for a family of four or more, this is a good spot that is easy on the budget in comparison to other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for ground level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had not planned on staying at this facility, booked on the road at the last minute. We would not have planned on staying at this facility by looking at the previous reviews, so I am glad we didn't see them. We had a wonderful experience. The property is very nice, extremely clean, the rooms appointed wonderfully. It looks to be a fairly renovated or newer property and the entire facility is extremely nice. Our room was immaculate. The only problem we had was the fridge, we didn't know it was unplugged and the maintenance man that came was very nice. He not only plugged back in the fridge, he went out for some cloths to clean out the inside to freshen it up. He was rushing around everywhere. He was also helping in the breakfast room and front desk. I hope they are paying him well !!
The breakfast room was average in size, the selection of food was huge and very good. There were even fresh sliced strawberries. The young lady running the breakfast room was constantly cleaning and replenishing the food. She did a wonderful job. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The man working the desk was super friendly and even walked us to our room. The room is spacious with a VERY spacious bathroom, and appears to be very clean. My only complaint is that being 2/3 of the way through a three week road trip, it's time to do quite a bit of laundry and there is only one washing machine and only one dryer. Luckily, having to wait around for three hours doing laundry has allowed me plenty of time to take advantage of the free wifi and post photos from our trip and write some reviews here on Tripadvisor. Overall, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Conveniently located only a few blocks from Hwy 101, just north of downtown SLO and a few blocks from the Cal Poly St Univ campus, it has free parking directly around the inn. There is no lobby to speak of and a limited complimentary breakfast is available but we only learned of that by happenstance since there was no mention of it during our check into the inn. We arrived at 1:30pm and asked if we could check in early and were told "no" because no rooms were available and told to return at 3pm. When checking in there were no pleasantries exchanged, just "sign here" and "your room number is...." The hotel is in need of a renovation, there is lots of dark patterned carpeting that needs to be cleaned, wall paper boarders everywhere to include the one in the hallway that is partially peeling off the wall. Our room does not have a closet, only a fake wooden wardrobe cabinet to hang items. The toilets in the hotel seem to have a vacuum component because there are the loudest flushing toilets I've ever heard and I can hear our neighbors flushing theirs. The lack of employee friendliness is a little surprising - husband and I have come and gone from the hotel a dozen times over two days and not one employee has said a word to us, tonight the clerk behind the counter did not even look up from his cell phone as we walked through the front doors to the elevator and were within 5 ft of his counter. With that said, our room was the best priced option in SLO for the weekend and it provided what we needed, a place to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good Grief ! If you happened to be renting during OpenHouse, your room rates could have approached $160/night or more! But, right after these dates, the rates were cut about half ! So we got to our room and thought we were walking into two Queens instead of one but that was probably a misunderstanding on my part. Just the same, although the room was clean, it was very small e.g.not enough table space, NO Frig, NO microwave (what are these omissions all about?), TV was fine, AC/Heater remote control did not work except for one button well, actually two if U count the on/off, good breakfasts though. Still, at 1/2 price---too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that gives you enough "room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Was moved from the room next to stairwell to an upper room that was much quieter. The room was small but comfortable. Disconcerting to hear water bubbling in our sink (2nd floor) when neighboring rooms used their showers or bathrooms sink. Called front desk for maintenance to check on it but no one ever showed up. Complained at checkout and they happily gave us a discount on our room.
Loved the town, lots of pleasant looking young college people (Cal-Poly) enjoying the pleasant weather that evening. We felt safe walking to and from our restaurant at night.
Directions to hotel were clear and easy to follow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.