We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low budget at premium price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Low budget at premium price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here on our way to San Francisco. We were given a handicapped room because that's all that was available, so the room was spacious. The hairdryer did not work and we had to ask two different lethargic managers three times to get some shampoo. The elevators and hallways were dingy and smelled strongly and mysteriously of mustard. This place is LOUD. doors slamming all night long and a lot of noise from the street, even with windows closed and the air blasting. There was vomit and empty bottles of Jack Daniels in the sidewalk below our room in the morning...cheers! Continenal breakfast was some stale danishes, cereal and the like. Coffee pot was empty. Lack of tables, no seating and they wouldn't let you take your stale roll back to the room (??). The $209 we spent on one room for one night for this place was ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    47
    35
    24
    11
See reviews for
45
33
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights in July 2013. After having spent the previous 2 nights at another Comfort Inn in Ventura, I was expecting one of comparable quality. That was not the case. The room had holes in the wall. The air conditioning was noisy. And the cleaning staff aren't too thorough since I found a cracker on the floor in plain sight when I checked in. It was also advertised as having flat screen TV's but they appeared to have my old CRT TV from the early 90s. The breakfast provided was so-so. It seemed like powdered eggs but cant say for sure. The only nice thing I have to say is how helpful the young man working the front desk was when I needed to print an email. Within walking distance of downtown SLO and the train station. At least for someone in average shape. Will stay elsewhere the next time I'm in SLO.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have stayed at several in SLO and this is the worse, I think it cost the least but not the value and only stayed there because of a friend. Stayed across the street, hotel is split by a street. Found the room to smell and only hotel in my memory where paint was peeling from both ceiling ad walls. Wall repairs also incomplete, what looked like black mold around small shower. No Iron! Coffee packets not replaced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice place, clean, great breakfast, good staff. I'm very happy about this place, especially given the small price! I paid about 1/3 with respect to other places in the same street. That's not a lux hotel, but you know it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed overnight in a room with 2 queen beds. Spencer checked us in and was very speedy and helpful with all the questions we had about the area. The room was pretty spacious for the price you pay and the free continental breakfast in the morning was great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My guess is that most people who read TripAdvisor fall into one of two major categories. One is the new trailer who does not have any real experience on the road and then the second group is the road warrior who spends too darn much time on the highways and byways. I am in fact a road warrior! For this review I will address both groups. Now the experienced among us know that the Choice Hotel Chain and in this case the Comfort Inn and Suites Lamplighter in San Luis Obispo CA are good mid level hotels. They are not the Hyatt and they are not the local roach motel. In truth they are pretty good for a decent nights sleep and so it was with the Comfort Inn in SLO. The difference in his case was a young woman name Britney who worked the front desk. I had not taken time off of work for several years and finally took a break to visit wine country up in Paso Robles. For wine lovers a GREAT thing to do by the way. She was simply incredible. She made recommendations far beyond what one would expect and literally stayed on top of all the needs of my son and daughter in law plus yours truly during our two day stay. She became part of the great expericne we had. So...a great visit, a good hotel, and a fantastic guide at the front desk to all things cool in the area. She deserves a raise for sure and for one, this old man appreciates the care she showed us!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Encouraged by positive reviews at TripAdvisor.com and at Hotels.com, we reserved a room at the Comfort Inn and Suites for two nights. Upon arrival, we were booked into a room with convenient access without stairs or hallways. But as soon as we opened the door we were met by a strong "off" odor that we couldn't quite identify. The room itself was small and dark, the bathroom was old, looking like something from the 1950s or 1960s.

I immediately spoke to the front desk clerk, who may have been the manager. He gave me a key card for another room that he said might be better, but it was not any better.

If we had planned to stay in SLO for only one night I might have stuck it out. But we decided to cut our losses and we found a better room elsewhere in town.

Room Tip: If you go, make sure you ask for the newest, nicest rooms they have. Better yet, stay elsewhere, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.