We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff in the Universe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest Staff in the Universe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Okay, we travel a lot and I was tired and praying that I could have a room early (after a long drive). When I called in, the nicest (Nicole) person immediately (and for free), upgraded our room and it was ready...early! It was lovely, and our entire stay was made much more enjoyable by the very sincere staff. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, the motel very convenient, quiet, and breakfast was good. It really helped to have the WSJ ready for my husband. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: We chose the top floor (3rd) and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    45
    35
    24
    11
See reviews for
45
32
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were given a room on the third floor and there was no elevator. I had my parents with me and all luggage had to go all the way up three floors by hand -- and no offers of help and wouldn't give us another room. The "suite" was OLD and the bedding was all stained with disgusting marks and dirty. The space was advertised as two king rooms, but one was in a room and the other bed was out in the shared open space. No door on the shared bathroom and only one sink. The breakfast was disgusting and there was barely any food out. Things were old and dirty, trash and beer bottles everywhere outside in the halls and never emptied. I would NEVER stay here again. We had four rooms and all of us felt the same way. If you MUST stay here, stay in the main building on the newer side for sure! If you get a more expensive "suite" you'll be in the crappy old area across the street!

Room Tip: Don't stay here, or demand the newer main building -- but they won't give it to you even if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Village
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff was friendly and cordial! We tried to check in and the room was not ready. Ok can live with that. Came back and still kinda of a hassle but got our room. Come to find out it was out back and across the street. Ok can live with that. Now it was on the 2nd floor. Apparently all the 2 room suites are situated that way, as well as, the 3rd floor. Well cant live with that when there are no elevators! And the fridge was not working! So went back to front desk and was informed 1st floor wasn't available. So we looked at another room in main bldg but was too small and was going to get charge the same rate! So we got another room on the 2nd floor that seem better. The stairs need to be refinished and repaired chipping etc. Hard to see at night.

The room is was large, but outdated and need serious remodeling and room configuration. Fridge and micro stuck in closet near restroom. Restroom was tiled and very slippery! Did have a window. Wallpaper peeling,door scuff marks etc. Carpet seem cleaned but needed to be updated. Only 1 phone in the room and it was on the opposite side! King bed in front room could not see TV. The beds are not the most comfortable but passable I guess. Couch was dirty & sketchy! 2 queens in the bedroom with tv and no phone! Had to run from bedroom to get to phone quite dangerous in the dark! Lighting was very dim and not enough of it in any part of the room.
Now the TV situation sucked! The cable was broken had to call and get maintenance and that took a day or so! Remotes didn't work and these were not flat screens!! Got repaired and still fuzzy reception and not enough channels! Again staff was accommodating and nice! The AC is way too small and did not cool the whole room. It was extremely hot and humid! Needed central AC or add another to the bedroom! Again room configuration needs to be strongly addressed! Rates are on the high side for an older facility. Does need to be spruced up on the outside. Had a big what seem lantern and rubbage in garden area of our section. The breakfast was ok did have a selection. Bacon was probably pork and looked greasy! Need to provide alternative meats like turkey, etc. Coffee not so good. Waffles stick and are dangerous with the hot irons. And the waffle tab came off the batter machine and leaked all over! The breakfast gal could not speak English very well. As far as the rest of the staff the English was not a problem even the housekeeping could understand and comprehend!
We did stay for 9 nites so this is why a comprehensive review! I probably wouldn't stay again unless all issues were addressed and rates lowered!

Room Tip: Always ask to see room before paying or checking in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having a gimpy knee, it was wonderful to find that there was an elevator to get to the third floor. Odd layout of the place, tho...the hallways that were Inside opened directly onto the Outside...no doors at the ends of the halls, just step right out to the outside balcony. Carpeting went right up to the outside balcony where the cement started for the walkway to the outside rooms...no door! I guess the weather is never that bad there. We were upgraded upon a somewhat late arrival, from a standard room to a larger deluxe one. We wondered what made it "deluxe," however. Only one of the amenities, the microwave OR the refrigerator, could be plugged in at one time. So, filled the fridge, unplugged it when we used the microwave, then plugged the fridge back in. Odd! And beware the toilet...it flushes like toilets in jet planes, with a MIGHTY Wooosh that tends to wake the dead in the middle of the night and scare your socks off the first time you use it. Most disconcerting if you tend to flush while still sitting on the pot. There were plenty of wall sockets to plug miscellaneous electronics in to charge, which was nice. The coffeepot had a little problem: the basket in which the coffee was to be placed fell off the machine so had to be held in place while using it. Odd! The room was stuffy, but no matter how far down we turned the air (or up...never sure about that), it never seemed to get any cooler in the room. It was clean, however, and that was wonderful. There was a nice breakfast, scrambled eggs (from a carton, I'm sure), tasty sausages, fruit, yogurt, cereals, waffle-maker, pastries...the full gamut. The stuffed chair sort of swallows the one seated in it and you almost sit on the floor. Since I'm no spring chicken, I had to sit on a folded over bed pillow to be able to use it. Sort of like getting into a little sports car where your bum is almost on the ground. The TV was nice, the refrig worked quite well. All in all, I'd stay there again when we return to SLO.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the super 8 across the street the night before and moved based on the review I wrote. This hotel was very different, nice room, comfortable bed, large bathroom. They had a decent breakfast with eggs, bacon and the normal cold items. Spend a few extra bucks and stay here, don't think about the cheapest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I feel bad about criticising this place, as where we had booked was the Embassy Suites and they had overbooked and dumped us out here, so we were helped by them that night.

However, I would not stay there again, as the rooms were small and somewhat spartan, and the breakfast was non-existent compared with what we were expecting elsewhere.

It is also not close to anywhere but the shuttle bus stop

At the price I know that they were recharging us at, it was daylight robbery.

Sorry, but thank you anyway

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Good location only about 5 minute drive or about 15 minute walk to downtown area for shopping and eating. , rooms are clean and tidy, front desk is efficient and helpful. We would stay here again. Other reviews made us a little concerned but we have nothing good to say.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.