We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK from the outside” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK from the outside”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

All that you expect from this chain until I saw my room (3103). Walls have been spackled but not painted. Power plugs are broken so the clock/radio and light don't work. The one usuable plug was in the bathroom by the sink - not a great place for a lap top or phone to charge. Carpet is about 20 years past prime. If you stay here, avoid the rooms "across the street" perhaps the rooms in the central area of the hotel are OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    50
    42
    25
    14
See reviews for
52
34
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It's in a convenient location to get to downtown. After the first night we walked outside our room in the morning and saw empty beer cans right outside. The hotel advertised a complimentary hot breakfast, but it was pretty sparse. Most mornings they had "run out" of several of the items, like yogurt and fresh strawberries. Even the vending machines were out of several options so we couldn't even get a bottle of water. The utensils were plastic (which is not a problem in itself), but they were very small and so flimsy that I ended up eating my waffle with my hands.
We will try to find a better place next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a king size bedroom. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was in working conditions. The swimming pool is smallish and not very attrative but again looked clean and neat with plenty of direct sun light in the afternoons. The breakfast was pretty decent (fresh strawberries!) and the staff worked very hard to ensure nothing ran out. The front desk staff were professional and friendly. All in all this is a very decent mid-range hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our room, the bathroom and the front lobby were all clean and decent. The towels were clean too. The room and bedding was modern, the AC worked. It isn't a fancy hotel but it was comfortable, clean, pretty quiet and perfect for our road trip. Breakfast was the normal Comfort Inn style. The staff was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over the 4th of July and would recommend it. Our room was in the main building by the pool and, unlike the comment of one other reviewer, it was very clean and comfortable. It had a fridge and microwave and bathroom amenities as well. The pool and spa were clean - several families were swimming in the pool and we used the spa which was nice and warm. The breakfast included the usual fare of cereal, waffles, etc. but there were hot options of eggs and bacon also. The staff was very helpful and the parking was right outside the front door. We would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thank goodness we only had to stay 1 night. Our room was in the main building by the pool it had cobb webs hanging from the ceiling and hair stuck inside the wall mounted blow dryer. The pool was dark and dirty, my kids would not even swim in it and they will swim in lakes and rivers.Needless to say I did not sleep well and we left when the sun came up! Would not recommend staying here until they update the rooms and clean the pool!

Room Tip: We love SLO but WOULD never reccomend staying at the Comfort Inn. I would rather camp in a tent or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
343 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was in town for business and stayed for 2 weeks, the price was good (averaged $84/day with taxes). The breakfast in the morning was as expected, nothing fancy but they always had cereal, eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles, fruit, pastries, and coffee. The room was very comfortable and quiet (except for the noisy people that tend to come in during the weekend).
I enjoyed the hot tub but did not get in the pool as it's not heated and with the weather barely getting to the low 70s it wasn't worth the chill factor.
The property is located near the top of Monterey Street, with a number of restaurants close by and more within walking distance or a short drive to the center of town.
No real complaints, I'll be back here again next month as it saves money and get's me free rooms with the Choice Hotels club I joined for free.

Room Tip: There is a section off the pool "in the back" that I stayed in...so you aren't near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn
BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn
#15 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#10 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter

Address: 1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter Hotel San Luis Obispo
Comfort Inn And Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn Lamplighter
Comfort Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.