We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The rooms are extremely spacious, with a sitting room, kitchenette and bedroom area with an en suite bathroom. Rooms were very clean. A complimentary newspaper was delivered in the morning.

The gardens around the rooms were very well kept and the pool area was clean and an enjoyable day was spent around the pool area.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of on tripadvisor and letting us know that you thought we were a “fabulous hotel”. We are fortunate to have a great group of Associates that take a sincere interest in our customers. I will pass along your comments that they were extremely helpful and friendly. As you mentioned, the pool area is a favorite for many of our guests. It is great know that our hotel is able to provide this type of environment for our guests where they can connect with their friends and family in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in SLO.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    158
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
207
152
14
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So. California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful property, great suite- kids could nap in bedroom while we hung out in living room (just wish beds were queens), fabulous included breakfast, superb happy hour- free micro brews, cheap and delicious BBQ dinner, free shuttle to downtown and back whenever you want. What more could a family of four ( 2 and 4 yo) ask for?

Room Tip: We liked ground floor back by creek. Less foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with your family. It is very important to us that we provide an enjoyable and relaxing environment for families. The information that you provided on tripadvisor helps us understand what is important to families traveling with young children. From our experience, if we can provide an opportunity for families to connect, relax and enjoy their time together we feel like we have provided them something memorable.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Location: just a 5 min walk from downtown. Park your car at the hotel & forget it.

Comfortable: room (suites); has 2 tv's, so you can both watch a diff show or just have a quieter area than the other room. Spacious.

Amenities: complementary wifi, made to order hot breakfast, wine & beer @mgr reception (daily), coffee & tea (lobby, room)

Overall impression: great hotel experience, great value for your money.

Things to see & do: farmers market (Thursdays 6-9pm); mission; antique shops; lots of restaurants & shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Overall impression: great hotel experience, great value for your money.
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. We like your comments about parking your car and just for getting it. We do our best to make it easy for our guest to be car free while staying in San Luis Obispo. We feel this is a unique opportunity to enjoy the hotel and the area.

Thank you for letting us know that you had a great hotel experience and that you received a great value for your money.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed one night and was positively surprised by how much was included in the very modest room price. A nice two-room suite, free wine and beer for a few hours every night, wifi, cooked breakfast, DVD's on loan. The swimming pool area was OK too, and we enjoyed the barbecue poolside, which is a good option if you're only looking for a light dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was great to read that you found our hotel to be an “excellent value”. It was nice to see that we pleasantly surprised you with the many amenities we offer. From what our guests tell us, the many amenities we offer is what makes experiencing our hotel so enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you have the opportunity to visit SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Easy to see why this is a TA favorite; a well-managed beautiful property with nice large rooms in a park-like setting with tall trees cresting above the 3rd floor level. Make SLO your stop on the drive between LA and SF, you won't be disappointed. Nice happy-hour hospitality and great breakfast with cooked to order eggs and all the other usual items.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet; the property backs up the the creek and a garden supply store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It was nice to see that you recognized that we are a favorite for many reasons. We appreciated reading that you had the opportunity to enjoy our park-like setting. The hotel is set up so there are many areas to relax and enjoy spending time with family and friends.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are able to visit SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The main purpose of the hotel room is to provide good night sleep. We stayed on the third floor of building five. It has been several years since we stayed at this hotel but we have stayed in building five as well as building six before and did not experience the issues that we had this stay. Maybe hotel has been re-piped since our last stay, but we could hear shower, toilet and sinks in use. From the intensity of the sound we could tell if it was coming from the third, second or first floor. The sound of shower running in the rooms next to us was beyond description - it jerked you out of bed. I think travelers are entitled to use bathroom any time they need to and it is up to the hotel management to make sure it does not bother other guests. Also, we were there during a fairly hot weather for the area and used AC. It literally sounded as if the train was coming - no exaggeration. I was puzzled enough to ask another guest few rooms down and he had identical issues with water and AC noises. In addition you could hear people opening and closing drawers if they pushed them just a little hard. One night room below us was having a late party and we could hear their raised voices - I just could not recall such poor sound insulation from years ago. Maybe during re-pipe some insulation was removed and never put back? Just guessing as the experience was odd. My wife and I are both over 50 and our hearing is not exactly what it used to be, so it makes me think that the noise levels were probably worse than we even perceived them to be. If you go to bed late and get up early - you might have avoided our experiences...

BTW, mattress and pillows were comfortable and room clean. We did not take advantage of the free breakfast as there are so many fun restaurants in town. As the last note - the toilets are straight from the 60's - tiny size. Come on - I am 6 feet tall and regular weight - and the toilet felt like a toy - definite upgrade item for future renovations.

Room Tip: Try building 6 - the layout of the suites is different from building to building and we liked buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. I apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. I am over 50 as well and I know from my own travel experiences that unpleasant noise can detract from the enjoyment of staying at a hotel. Based the other reviews and customer feedback we receive, the noise you experienced is unusual. We will have to have our engineering department research it further to find out if there are repairs that we need to make to our plumbing system. We have not had any significant plumbing or sound insulation changes since we opened in 1986.

It was good to hear that you found our bedding comfortable and that the room was clean. We agree, there are a lot of good restaurants in town. Most of our guests still prefer to stay and enjoy our breakfast. Many of them tell us it is the best breakfast they have had while traveling.

If you would like to contact me personally I can be reached at the hotel or by e-mail.

We hope that you will try us again. I guarantee that you will have a more pleasurable experience or we will provide you a refund.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our Big Sur Drive and absolutely loved it. We stayed at some swanky hotels along the way but the fact this hotel had free breakfast, a great room, free Wifi and free wine & beer for 2 hours each evening means a lot when you've been travelling all day and so we decided it was our favourite out of the 6 hotels we stayed in. We walked to the Farmers Market, which is held every Thursday, that was fun and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. We appreciated hearing that you “absolutely love” our hotel. It was good to get your feedback on our hotel compared to other” swanky” hotels. We feel we can hold our own when compared to the best hotels in our area. Your confirmation that we were your favorite among the six hotels you stayed helps us know that we are providing a good value to our guests.

It was great to read that you had the opportunity to walk downtown to farmer’s market. Walking and enjoying farmers market is rated one of the most pleasurable experiences while staying at our hotel. It was great to see that you enjoyed it as well.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you were able to visit SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.