We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
VA Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a great surprise to walk in to this "Treasure" of a hotel. Everyone at this hotel has been trained in "Great" customer service. They go above and beyond. We arrived in the evening and only had one night to stay. The Front desk sales agent told us about the Farm Market and offered to take us and pick us up with their free shuttle. That was a wonderful experience and gave us a good feel for the area. The hotel offers a free made to order breakfast, wine and beer reception and a social by the pool with burgers and more. My room was a suite and it was more than I asked for with 2 TVs, very spacious and clean as a whistle. I enjoyed the fitness room before we checked out. You need to try this gem out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. From what you described this is exactly what we try to provide to all of our guests. We really like seeing it when our guests connect with the hotel, staff and the local area. We feel we have a lot to offer our visitors when they come to San Luis Obispo.
Your review was very helpful for us. I try to respond to as many reviews as possible. We feel this is a good way to connect with our guest to hear about their experiences.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    146
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
191
142
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've been scratching my head wondering why this place ranks #1. Went to visit Cal Poly for the weekend with our daughter, and we're glad we did. After our visit, our daughter decided to attend a U.C. This place was a dump. The room was extremely dated. We used the recommended pull out sofa, but almost broke our back trying to move that heavy coffee table in front of it. There was no sink in the bathroom. The sink was in the bedroom. There was no way you could avoid waking everyone else in the room while using it. A normal bathroom has a sink in it. The space was so cramped that it had pocket doors instead of swing doors. While they boast their infamous breakfast, don't bother to ask for cottage cheese, because they don't have it. None of their breakfast staff will even understand what you are asking for. Apparently these folks who are leaving positive reviews for this place simply don't get out much. I gave this place two stars because San Luis Obispo is a darling little town. P.S. I really don't need to hear some insipid reply from the management staff, either. Recommendation: Seek accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I was troubled to read that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We understand that we cannot be all things to all people. The way the suites are constructed is not easily changed. It is hard to know specifically what is meant by your reference to our suites being “dated”. We have been on a five-year cycle of replacing and refurbishing the furniture and soft goods since we opened. Many of our guests find that the design and arrangement of our suites work out well for them and their families. That is why we typically get positive feedback on our tripadvisor reviews.

We do offer a guarantee on our suites. If you did not feel you received the value that you expected from your stay, please contact me directly and I will do what I can to make it right.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is located well foe a parent visiting their child at cal poly, but it is getting a little dated. The customer service from the hotel staff was great. We stayed there for a mini college reunion and the staff was helpful with getting things organized. The hotel provides a full breakfast and courtesy happy hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It is great to see parents and their children coming together and connecting when they visit Cal Poly. We feel fortunate to be part of this special time in their lives. We have a great staff that does everything they can to provide for our guests to make it a memorable visit.

Cal Poly is a great school, and if it works out that you end up having a student that goes here. We hope you will continue to visit.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived in San Luis Obispo about 9pm after spending most of the day exploring the Montery Peninsula. Straight onto TA, selected the #1 rated, set the GPS, found the hotel and checked in. The room was a suite (apparently they all are) with a lounge and a bedroom. Staff we terrific (especially Christina who helped us in the morning), breakfast was good and the sleep quality excellent. My only small beef was we could hear the people above us move around. Apart from that, I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on tripadvisor and letting everyone know you “highly recommend” our hotel. It was good to see that you easily located our hotel. It is unfortunate that you arrived after our complementary beer and wine tasting reception as well as the poolside barbecue. Thank you for letting us know about our terrific staff and it was great to hear that Christina was able to help you out.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed here on two separate occasions one being New Years Eve girls' weekend on Dec 31-Jan 1, 2012 and another for a family get away for a night in July 2012. Both times I absolutely loved this place. The staff is so friendly and helpful, the rooms are big, beds are comfy, the happy hour beer and wine is the best, the kids' loved the pool and BBQ during happy hour, and the hotel is convenient to all the great things to enjoy in San Luis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on tripadvisor and letting us know that you “love" our hotel. We appreciate the opportunity to assist our guests in connecting with their family and friends. It was fantastic to see that you had the opportunity to do both at our hotel on separate occasions. Investing in family and friends is a special time for our guests and we do all we can to make it as memorable as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you were able to visit San Luis Obispo.

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm a little late with this review. My husband and I stayed here during the SLO marathon and half marathon. He ran the full marathon and I walked the half.
It was perfectly located right around the corner from the start and an easy walk or drive downtown. Our room was comfortable and spacious and the pool/hot tub were particularly wonderful post marathon.
We booked it for the location and were happy with the comfort level.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It is never too late to provide us a review on our hotel. Thank you for taking the time and posting it on tripadvisor.

We provide a lot of extra services for the participants and supporters of the marathon. It is worth it to us for the connections we provide for the participants, supporters and family members. We see the marathon as a great opportunity participants as well as there are support groups to get together. Since our location is within walking distance to the start of the marathon and with all the amenities we provide we have many participants and their supporters stay with us. We get a great feeling knowing we are helping them with the race.

We have noticed that the hot tub is very popular after the race.

We look forward to seeing you again at next year's event.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The rooms were amazing. Clean, spacious and very comfortable. The happy hour wine was delicious. Everyone was nice. Close to Cal Poly too. Great price to boot. We loved the Farmers market. I had a bbq sandwich with cole slaw on the bun. Yum yum. When you go visit Cal Poly SLO, stay here you will not be disappointed. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you love our hotel and posting a review on tripadvisor. It is great to see families and friends making memorable connections here at our hotel. We work to provide an environment that makes our guests feel relaxed and comfortable so they can enjoy each other and SLO.

It was great to see that you enjoyed our many amenities. We do this to help facilitate opportunities to make connections with friends’ family and other guests staying at the hotel. Cal Poly is a great campus and I am glad you were able to visit the University while you were here.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.