We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience - Great Staff/Amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Pagosa Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience - Great Staff/Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent 5 days recently in San Luis Obispo, and this wonderful hotel added significantly to our enjoyment of the central California coast. I graduated from Cal Poly in 1968, so this was a chance to revisit the area and show my beautiful wife around my old stomping grounds.

The hotel is wonderfully maintained, and the staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The suite had a king sized bed, which was very comfortable and well-appointed. Two flat screen HDTVs add to the enjoyment, and there was a refrigerator and microwave available. The exercise room is well equipped, and there is a pool/spa available.

The evening manager's reception featured free wine, beer, and snacks nightly. The bar tending staff was friendly and did a great job handling all the guests - the hotel was fully booked while we were there.

The evening BBQ featured hamburgers/cheeseburgers/steak sandwiches, tacos and more, and the prices were very reasonable - nothing more than $6. Although we dined out most of the time to have fresh seafood, we enjoyed the BBQ service - the BBQ staff was excellent and accommodating.

The free morning breakfast service was exceptional - it featured freshly prepared eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, potatoes, as well as cereals, fresh fruit, bagels, pastries, and great coffee (I'm a coffee snob), juices and pleasant restaurant area. Can't say enough about the staff at the hotel restaurant. Bao and Salvador were great!

Should we return to SLO, THIS is the hotel we will choose. Excellent value, great staff. The only downside is that the room had a musty smell that dissipated quickly when we turned on the A/C.

The hotel is conveniently located in SLO, with easy access to downtown and the University. A great choice, moderately priced, and top of the line staff.

Room Tip: The pool can be a bit noisy with enthusiastic children - if you prefer to avoid this, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. We know how important to our guests when they have the opportunity to share time with the people they care about. It was great to read about your experience that you had at our hotel and San Luis Obispo with your wife. Opportunities to share a memorable experience like this is what we strive to provide for the guests that visit our hotel. We are very fortunate to have a great group of engaged Associates that enjoy their work and the people that come to visit our hotel.

We hope the experience you had makes you and your wife both want to come back and visit again soon. We look forward to providing you another memorable experience.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    146
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
191
143
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We travelled around California from 29th March-13th April 2013. We stayed in many hotels during this trip and this one was THE BEST place I stayed in. The hotel is well located and you can walk into town easily. I stayed in a room with a living area and two double queen beds. The room had two large tv's and was both spacious and cozy.
The staff were obviously happy to be working there and always had genuine smiles on their faces. We were greeted by Wes when we arrived. We told him that we loved Carmel and he replied "I can guarantee you will like this place better" and he was right. He didn't mechanically check us in, he chatted, offered information and advice about the area and suggested where we ate that night. We actually bumped into him and his girlfriend in town when he was off duty and he was still happy to chat and help us out with things to do. He told our kids to go see him at 7pm and he would make sure they got a cookie. They plagued him from 6.30 and he was so chilled and relaxed with them even though they must have been annoying!
This hotel is also by far the most generous. They offer free beer, wine, pretzels and crisps (chips) every evening. WiFi is also free and you can use the computers in the lobby for free. We were half an hour late for breakfast on the first morning and the chef happily cooked breakfast to order - shouting options through the hatch - he was great!
The pool and jacuizzi area is relaxed and there are several little seating areas dotted about the place. On the whole it has a really chilled air about the place and it is all really well appointed.
My son left his precious phone in the room and we called lost and found. Can you believe that someone was actually willing to drop the phone to us 100km away as they were visiting family past where we were then staying. We couldn't impose in this way so the hotel ensured that the phone was sent on - it arrived well packaged and quickly.
I honestly cannot fault this place and would recommend it wholeheartedly. We stayed in some places where they charge so much more for so much less. We ended up extending our stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. You described the experience that we strive to provide for all our guests. We want everyone to feel they experienced something special when they stay with us. We hope that the experience you described with your family will provide you great feelings for years to come. We have a great staff and it was good to read that you found them to be genuinely friendly.

It was nice to see that your son got reunited with his phone. We know that our guest’s personal items are important and we do our best to make sure they get reunited with their owners when they get left behind.

We look forward to seeing you again and creating some more of that positive “family togetherness” feeling.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I won't make this long, but to say that this is a fabulous little gem for travelers of all walks of life. Business, solo, families, couples and more. Great rooms, happy hour, walking distance to downtown for shopping and great little restaurants.

Great pool with handicap access, and some really wonderful bath products which is hard to find in most hotel chains these days. See pics

My only complaint was the sink set up in the bedroom area instead of the bathroom. It is not convenient for people who want to sleep in while the other person gets ready in the morning. Using a blow dryer while someone else is sleeping ..not cool!

We really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend this hotel if you need a place to saty in San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was nice to see that you found us to be a “gem” of a hotel. I like that you noticed our bath products. We have worked at providing the best possible amenity package for our guests. SLO is a wonderful town and I hope we provided you with a great experience that you will remember for a long time.
We hope to see you again soon.
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I have stayed over the years at most Monterey St. hotels in SLO. We agree with other reviewers that Quality Suites is the best. The facility has become a bit dated but the rooms are quite spacious, clean and comfortable. My wife was disappointed by her inability to make the hair dryer work. The front desk staff was sure that she had not plugged it in. That was not the problem.
But overall the hotel services were quite good. The included breakfast was surprisingly complete and the nightly wine reception, also complimentary, was very satisfying. There is a nightly barbeque available for a moderate charge.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was good to see that you have experienced most of the hotels on Monterey St. and found us to be the best. We will check on the hair dryer. Sometimes the reset button on the dryer gets tripped and needs to be reset before it will turn on. I am glad to see that you like our services. We do everything we can to make it easy, relaxing and enjoyable for our guests. We like see our guests be able to focus on enjoying family, friends and the area while they are here. We try to take care of the rest.
We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was quite surprised by the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. We booked it due to it's location since I was running the SLO marathon (btw walking distance to the start). Staff was friendly upon check-in and throughout the whole stay. Loved the outdoor area near the pool where M-Sat they have a BBQ (for a fee) and 7-days a week (I think) they have happy hour. The hotel bought a bunch of Costco furniture to make the outdoor patio area near the pool very cozy and relaxing to chill at. Our 1 yr. old had a blast just walking around everywhere and smiling at the staff. BTW, make sure you get some of the fresh cookies in the evening before they run out!

Room Tip: For families with infants, get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor or else you'll be hearing people g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and posting it on Tripadvisor. The SLO marathon is a great event. Our location is very close and convenient to the start. This makes it easy for the marathon participants. Most take the 5 minute walk from our hotel to the start. We hope that you had a great race and experience at our hotel.
Our patio furniture was actually ordered directly from Tropitone. We ordered it from them because they have some of the best furniture available for our patio. It was great to see that you had the opportunity to relax and “chill” in our pool/patio area. Relaxing by the pool is a great way to recover after the marathon.

We hope to see you again. Maybe for next year’s marathon or maybe the City to Sea half marathon coming in October?

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I took our teenage sons down to San Luis Obisbo for Spring Break, and based on TripAdvisor reviews we stayed at the Quality Suites. The reviews were very accurate! It's located very close to the freeway, so easy to get to and it's an easy walk to the downtown shopping area. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable beds, nice couch and sitting area which turns into a sleeper, great shower, free hot breakfast, happy hour offering free beer and wine at night, and a pleasant front desk staff. I even complained to my friend that I forgot my eye makeup remover and there was a packet of eye makeup remover included in the toiletries in the room. You can also check out movies for free. My only two small improvements would be that you cannot order movies on demand in your room, which is no big deal, and our room was right next to where the cleaning staff get supplies, so during the day there was some noise when they went in and out, but it didn't bother us and if it did, we could have asked to change rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not get room 128 as it is right by the cleaning supply room and the staff go in and out during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. Spring is a great time to visit SLO. The days are longer and the hills are a beautiful emerald green. It was nice to see that you decided to stay with us over spring break. We also appreciate knowing that you found the other reviews to be accurate. Our great location is mentioned by many guests as one of the reasons they choose our hotel. We are “walking” close to downtown and within a half mile of Cal Poly University.
San Luis Obispo is a great town. I am glad that we were able to contribute to your positive experience here.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Central Coast Suites a Quality Suites Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are so glad we chose Quality Suites! Our room was a king on the 3rd floor. We took the train up from Santa Barbara, and the hotel shuttle was there in no time! We were actually able to check in early, which was great. The excellent value comes from the free shuttle (to train, air, or Farmer's Market!), the excellent evening reception where the drinks flow freely, an inexpensive dinner BBQ (great for the kids - let them eat at hotel, while you go out!), HOT breakfast with lots of choices, and in walking distance of many points of interest.

We walked down to the Mission, window shopping along the way, then caught the trolley back to the hotel for $0.50/person. Because it was Thursday, the great Farmer's Market was underway from 6 to 9 pm. The shuttle goes there too so, after enjoying the happy hour we headed out to find dinner and enjoy the market (which includes entertainment).

Some mention that the rooms are dated. For $150 a night and all those amenities, you expect designer chic? While a lot of the basic furniture is a tad dated, it has been refreshed with paint, curtains, carpet, etc. Bed was comfortable, 2 sinks, fridge & microwave and 2 big TVs. The only thing they should pay attention to is paint on some of the trim and the sliding door to bath was slightly rickety. Minor criticism. We will definitely go again. It is ideal for families, the larger the better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. Your visit was the experience that we strive try to provide for all of our guests. It is great to see our guests out enjoying the hotel and San Luis Obispo. Our shuttle and the SLO city trolley make it easy to get around without the need of a car. This provides our guests the convenience of not having to worry about getting around and where to park.

It is great too see families and couples enjoying their time together. We make our BBQ both convenient and a great value that helps our guests feel relaxed and comfortable. We see many couples and families enjoying the patio area, pool and the BBQ.

We hope you have some great memories of our hotel and that you are able to come back and visit again soon.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.