We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay- Nice Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Stay- Nice Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I won't make this long, but to say that this is a fabulous little gem for travelers of all walks of life. Business, solo, families, couples and more. Great rooms, happy hour, walking distance to downtown for shopping and great little restaurants.

Great pool with handicap access, and some really wonderful bath products which is hard to find in most hotel chains these days. See pics

My only complaint was the sink set up in the bedroom area instead of the bathroom. It is not convenient for people who want to sleep in while the other person gets ready in the morning. Using a blow dryer while someone else is sleeping ..not cool!

We really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend this hotel if you need a place to saty in San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was nice to see that you found us to be a “gem” of a hotel. I like that you noticed our bath products. We have worked at providing the best possible amenity package for our guests. SLO is a wonderful town and I hope we provided you with a great experience that you will remember for a long time.
We hope to see you again soon.
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    138
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
180
127
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I have stayed over the years at most Monterey St. hotels in SLO. We agree with other reviewers that Quality Suites is the best. The facility has become a bit dated but the rooms are quite spacious, clean and comfortable. My wife was disappointed by her inability to make the hair dryer work. The front desk staff was sure that she had not plugged it in. That was not the problem.
But overall the hotel services were quite good. The included breakfast was surprisingly complete and the nightly wine reception, also complimentary, was very satisfying. There is a nightly barbeque available for a moderate charge.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was good to see that you have experienced most of the hotels on Monterey St. and found us to be the best. We will check on the hair dryer. Sometimes the reset button on the dryer gets tripped and needs to be reset before it will turn on. I am glad to see that you like our services. We do everything we can to make it easy, relaxing and enjoyable for our guests. We like see our guests be able to focus on enjoying family, friends and the area while they are here. We try to take care of the rest.
We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was quite surprised by the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. We booked it due to it's location since I was running the SLO marathon (btw walking distance to the start). Staff was friendly upon check-in and throughout the whole stay. Loved the outdoor area near the pool where M-Sat they have a BBQ (for a fee) and 7-days a week (I think) they have happy hour. The hotel bought a bunch of Costco furniture to make the outdoor patio area near the pool very cozy and relaxing to chill at. Our 1 yr. old had a blast just walking around everywhere and smiling at the staff. BTW, make sure you get some of the fresh cookies in the evening before they run out!

Room Tip: For families with infants, get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor or else you'll be hearing people g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and posting it on Tripadvisor. The SLO marathon is a great event. Our location is very close and convenient to the start. This makes it easy for the marathon participants. Most take the 5 minute walk from our hotel to the start. We hope that you had a great race and experience at our hotel.
Our patio furniture was actually ordered directly from Tropitone. We ordered it from them because they have some of the best furniture available for our patio. It was great to see that you had the opportunity to relax and “chill” in our pool/patio area. Relaxing by the pool is a great way to recover after the marathon.

We hope to see you again. Maybe for next year’s marathon or maybe the City to Sea half marathon coming in October?

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I took our teenage sons down to San Luis Obisbo for Spring Break, and based on TripAdvisor reviews we stayed at the Quality Suites. The reviews were very accurate! It's located very close to the freeway, so easy to get to and it's an easy walk to the downtown shopping area. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable beds, nice couch and sitting area which turns into a sleeper, great shower, free hot breakfast, happy hour offering free beer and wine at night, and a pleasant front desk staff. I even complained to my friend that I forgot my eye makeup remover and there was a packet of eye makeup remover included in the toiletries in the room. You can also check out movies for free. My only two small improvements would be that you cannot order movies on demand in your room, which is no big deal, and our room was right next to where the cleaning staff get supplies, so during the day there was some noise when they went in and out, but it didn't bother us and if it did, we could have asked to change rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not get room 128 as it is right by the cleaning supply room and the staff go in and out during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. Spring is a great time to visit SLO. The days are longer and the hills are a beautiful emerald green. It was nice to see that you decided to stay with us over spring break. We also appreciate knowing that you found the other reviews to be accurate. Our great location is mentioned by many guests as one of the reasons they choose our hotel. We are “walking” close to downtown and within a half mile of Cal Poly University.
San Luis Obispo is a great town. I am glad that we were able to contribute to your positive experience here.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Central Coast Suites a Quality Suites Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are so glad we chose Quality Suites! Our room was a king on the 3rd floor. We took the train up from Santa Barbara, and the hotel shuttle was there in no time! We were actually able to check in early, which was great. The excellent value comes from the free shuttle (to train, air, or Farmer's Market!), the excellent evening reception where the drinks flow freely, an inexpensive dinner BBQ (great for the kids - let them eat at hotel, while you go out!), HOT breakfast with lots of choices, and in walking distance of many points of interest.

We walked down to the Mission, window shopping along the way, then caught the trolley back to the hotel for $0.50/person. Because it was Thursday, the great Farmer's Market was underway from 6 to 9 pm. The shuttle goes there too so, after enjoying the happy hour we headed out to find dinner and enjoy the market (which includes entertainment).

Some mention that the rooms are dated. For $150 a night and all those amenities, you expect designer chic? While a lot of the basic furniture is a tad dated, it has been refreshed with paint, curtains, carpet, etc. Bed was comfortable, 2 sinks, fridge & microwave and 2 big TVs. The only thing they should pay attention to is paint on some of the trim and the sliding door to bath was slightly rickety. Minor criticism. We will definitely go again. It is ideal for families, the larger the better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. Your visit was the experience that we strive try to provide for all of our guests. It is great to see our guests out enjoying the hotel and San Luis Obispo. Our shuttle and the SLO city trolley make it easy to get around without the need of a car. This provides our guests the convenience of not having to worry about getting around and where to park.

It is great too see families and couples enjoying their time together. We make our BBQ both convenient and a great value that helps our guests feel relaxed and comfortable. We see many couples and families enjoying the patio area, pool and the BBQ.

We hope you have some great memories of our hotel and that you are able to come back and visit again soon.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a business trip and our room was paid for, so I can't complain too much but let's face it, sometimes free just isn't worth it. It's not that this hotel was bad because there were some nice things and some not so nice.
I'll start with the nice things.
The service was just fine and the rooms were cleaned well. The amenities such as the Happy Hour, the breakfast, and the complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day were all great. The pool and jacuzzi area was nice with outdoor fire pits, space heaters, and nice comfortable furniture.
The areas in need of attention:
Let's start with the rooms. While they are spacious since the hotel is all Suites, they not only need updating, but upgrading from the cheapest budget furniture, particularly for the rate. The furniture is just not comfortable. The couch was hard as a rock and I can only imagine what sleeping on it would be like. Both the furniture and the 1980's built-in oak cabinetry that runs along the entire wall in both rooms, brings down the value. The cabinets also take up too much space for its worth. And please remove the 14 foot long bathroom mirror that runs along the entire bedroom wall. A framed 4 foot wide mirror will work much better and not make it appear as if you are sleeping in the bathroom.

Now for the room's heating system. If the hotel is on a limited budget and can only afford one thing to replace - it should be the heating system. The reviewer that wrote about it being too loud was not wrong. I had read that review before I stayed there and had to laugh when I turned it on and I doubt I was in the exact same room. Not only was it extraordinarily loud, it didn't heat very well. The Rooms Manager knows very well it's not the only room, it's the type/age of the system. Let's just say it was the one of the cheapest systems money could buy when the hotel was built.
There are several "band-aids" throughout the property trying desperately to hide the poor construction. The stairs, the walkways, the very slow elevator, all should be replaced in their entirety.
It appears that the owners are trying to upgrade the property and have put money in areas that count like the lobby and pool area. The rooms should be next on the list. If I stay there again, I'll ask to sleep on the pool furniture.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your tripadvisor contribution regarding our hotel. I noticed from your posting that you are a hotel designer. We understand that we are not able to meet everyone’s tastes when it comes to design. You are correct; over the last year we have made improvements to the patio and lobby area. We are now planning or improvements to the suites. We appreciate the input you provided.

Our heating and cooling system is an individually controlled central system. This system is more expensive to build than the “wall units” you see at most hotels. We choose to invest the additional up front costs because the central system is more energy efficient. Our guests have told us that staying at a “greener” hotel is important to them. We continue to replace the nosier units on a continual basis.

It was nice to see that you found our amenities to be great.

We hope that you will come again in the future.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We picked this hotel from Trip Advisor reviews and were completely surprised by the quality of the hotel, in all respects.

The staff were very friendly, the room was outstanding and there were free drinks during a happy hour, as well as a very reasonable BBQ dinner.

The breakfast the next morning was excellent - freshly cooked and very adequate.

Could not fault it in any way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We work to provide our guests with an experience that they will fondly remember for many years to come. We know this is working because many of our guests tell us how much the enjoyed there visit and they come back to stay with us on a regular basis. We are fortunate to have a great staff and SLO is a great town to live and visit.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;