We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The feel of a resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The feel of a resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our second visit here. Great time. A little more expensive than where we usually go, but the extra money isn't wasted. The breakfast rocks. Cooked eggs, spinach and mushrooms were on the menu when we went.

The atmosphere is very friendly. Pool area reminds me of that for a resort hotel, just smaller. They have a free happy hour with some quick bites to eat (which are very reasonably priced). Some reviews do talk of noise; I would describe it as the happy type of noise, with people playing/socializing.

Our room was just fine. The triple sheets are good/clean. I hate those styrofoam bedspreads that never get washed, and this place doesn't have them. The extra space in the King room is nice and has the feel of being a 2nd room (ok, it's not really a 2nd room, but it feels like one) w/ a 2nd TV.

Might be tight for 4 adults if using the couch pullouts as a bed, since the shelving situation is a bit limited. There's this big granite countertop in the suite area, and part of the cabinetry, where you could literally fit install a large dishwasher, has no drawers. What could be behind there that they wouldn't put in drawers?

Overall, it's the kind of place where you don't mind hanging out in the room. Whereas a lot of other places, you want to get out of the room.

Room Tip: If noise is a factor for you, then stay away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you taking the time to providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was good to read that you found our hotel to have “the feel of a resort”. Our associates strive to provide our guests with and enjoyable stay. We want everyone to feel recharged and energized from their visit. Thank you for noticing the triple sheeting on the beds. As you probably know, it is more expensive in both time and materials for us to provide this service. We do it because it provides cleaner and more sanitary bedding for our guests. We know that providing a clean hotel very important to both us and our customers.

Great to see that this was you second visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    143
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
185
139
13
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful lobby in photos is deceiving. My room was so disappointing:
very dated (1970) and insulting to say the least. The bathroom was
just a basic bathroom you would see in a cheap motel. The rooms were
dark and depressing. The dark blue carpeting and dark sofa didn't add
to the ambiance. Traffic noise directly outside made sleep difficult.
I was on the 3rd floor and the walkway all along the corridor was slanted.
A Structural Engineer is definitely needed to investigate this issue.
The breakfast was great, a wonderful display and good. Beautiful
lobby and great breakfast aren't enough to make me want to stay here
again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. Please contact me directly at 805.597.6060 and I will do my best to make it right. Our Hotel opened in November of 1986. Since opening we have done major refurbishments and upgrades on a regular 5 to 7 year cycle. We are in the process of our next upgrade now. Many of the guests that prefer a quieter setting select the suites in our Gazebo courtyard. I apologize if we did not make you aware of that option upon check in. The decks are slightly slanted so that water drains to prevent puddles. I appreciate that you mentioned that we provided a great breakfast and a beautiful lobby. We value our customer’s input and we will work on continuing to improve our hotel.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/ Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Quality Suites SLO. The hotel is beautiful, with quite a social atmosphere (they have a happy hour with free beer and wine in the evening, and a BBQ).

The room was clean, with a large fold-out couch, two LCD TVs, a small fridge, microwave, even a balcony.

We loved the free shuttle ride to downtown SLO and would end up walking back to the hotel (about half a mile) in the evening.

Breakfast was free, and decent. Great, friendly staff.

We loved SLO! What a cute town! We really enjoyed Boo Boo Records, Jaffa's Cafe, visiting the mission, the Firestone Grill, driving to Morro Bay, and the overall "vibe" of the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was great to read that you “love SLO” just like we do. Thank you for telling us about the places you visited in town during your stay. We have found from our customers that our complimentary shuttle service to downtown really helps them enjoy our town. It is always good for us to hear about places our guest enjoyed. Many of the places that you wrote about are favorites among both our Associates and our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again the next chance you were able to visit SLO.
Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed here in January on route to LA. I am quite sceptical about old type accomdation styles and fit out but this one quickly proved me wrong. Check in was easy with the asstistant GM checking us in with a new lady that was training. they offer a communal type BBQ there and i paid $18 bucks for 4 x massive steak sandwhiches and salad - cant beat that.
the Holtel is close to the town centre too.

BTW, they also have a free breakfast which really isnt massive but cvcant complain as its inclusive.

Room Tip: stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. I was happy to see that you gave us a try. We have found that once our guests have had the opportunity to experience what we have to offer they will be pleasantly pleased with their selection of our accommodations. Even with the advancement of technology there is nothing like actually staying here. The barbecue is a great value. I am glad you were able to experience it during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/ Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We arrived late, after a long drive. The reception staff were very friendly. It was happy hour, so enjoyed a free wine & the kids free softdrinks . We decided to try their dinner choices. The family had steak sandwiches & hot dogs. All Ok, and the prices were cheap. Decided to eat outdoor in casual dining area . It was very relaxing.
We the one room, two double beds & pull out sofa end in the small livingroom. Very comfortable beds .
The only let down to the stay, was my jacket being stollen.
Had left it when dining outside & realised in the morning.
So popped down to reception , thinking it would be there.
They checked and there was no jacket. I was so disappointed to think either a staff member or guest staying had decided to take it.
So that was the only let down to an otherwise enjoyable stay

Room Tip: We had one room, with two double beds & sofa bed. Enough room for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. Like you, many of our guests like to stop here and visit when traveling to and from LA to San Francisco. I enjoyed hearing that you and your family decide to stay and enjoy the BBQ we provide in our patio/pool area. Many of our guests tell us what a great value it is for them and their families. I particularly liked hearing that you were able to relax and enjoy your time here. I was sorry to read about your jacket. All our associates are trained to take any items left by our guests to lost and found. Based on our customer responses to lost and found items it looks like all the associate are doing their part in turning items in when they find them.

We hope that you are able to see us again the next time you are able to visit SLO.
Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had no idea this place would be so great. The suite was clean, roomy, comfortable, and quiet. The grounds are very well-maintained by an excellent staff. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and competent. The extra amenities were the most amazing part. The complimentary hot breakfast, the complimentary beer and wine happy hour, and the cheap evening BBQ were all very social and lively, giving the place the feel of a resort. The pool, while small, was immaculately clean with nice lounge furniture, and even an immersible handicap seat, something I'd never seen before. They also had free DVD's to borrow and a complimentary shuttle, not to mention the coffee and cookies in the lobby. Yes, the place is a little dated, but they more than make up for that.

Room Tip: Top (third) floor. Units enclose two courtyards, one with the pool, the other a fountain (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay and posting a review on tripadvisor. It was nice to read that you found our extra amenities to be “amazing”. We try to “Wow” our guests during their visits. You provided a great description and this will help provide other visitors to SLO a good feel for our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my first time staying at a Quality Suites hotel ever. The room rate was great and the staff was very friendly. I thought that the hotel was nice for the hotel class. It was nice to have two rooms and breakfast and internet included in the room rate, The hotel could use a little updating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to see that this was your first time visiting our hotel and that it was a great experience. We are in the process of upgrading the suites. We intend to have many of the upgrades in place this year. Please look for them on your next visit.
We hope to see you again soon.

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.