We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, when doing the drive from San Francisco to L.A” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, when doing the drive from San Francisco to L.A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We arrived late, after a long drive. The reception staff were very friendly. It was happy hour, so enjoyed a free wine & the kids free softdrinks . We decided to try their dinner choices. The family had steak sandwiches & hot dogs. All Ok, and the prices were cheap. Decided to eat outdoor in casual dining area . It was very relaxing.
We the one room, two double beds & pull out sofa end in the small livingroom. Very comfortable beds .
The only let down to the stay, was my jacket being stollen.
Had left it when dining outside & realised in the morning.
So popped down to reception , thinking it would be there.
They checked and there was no jacket. I was so disappointed to think either a staff member or guest staying had decided to take it.
So that was the only let down to an otherwise enjoyable stay

Room Tip: We had one room, with two double beds & sofa bed. Enough room for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. Like you, many of our guests like to stop here and visit when traveling to and from LA to San Francisco. I enjoyed hearing that you and your family decide to stay and enjoy the BBQ we provide in our patio/pool area. Many of our guests tell us what a great value it is for them and their families. I particularly liked hearing that you were able to relax and enjoy your time here. I was sorry to read about your jacket. All our associates are trained to take any items left by our guests to lost and found. Based on our customer responses to lost and found items it looks like all the associate are doing their part in turning items in when they find them.

We hope that you are able to see us again the next time you are able to visit SLO.
Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    147
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
191
143
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had no idea this place would be so great. The suite was clean, roomy, comfortable, and quiet. The grounds are very well-maintained by an excellent staff. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and competent. The extra amenities were the most amazing part. The complimentary hot breakfast, the complimentary beer and wine happy hour, and the cheap evening BBQ were all very social and lively, giving the place the feel of a resort. The pool, while small, was immaculately clean with nice lounge furniture, and even an immersible handicap seat, something I'd never seen before. They also had free DVD's to borrow and a complimentary shuttle, not to mention the coffee and cookies in the lobby. Yes, the place is a little dated, but they more than make up for that.

Room Tip: Top (third) floor. Units enclose two courtyards, one with the pool, the other a fountain (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay and posting a review on tripadvisor. It was nice to read that you found our extra amenities to be “amazing”. We try to “Wow” our guests during their visits. You provided a great description and this will help provide other visitors to SLO a good feel for our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my first time staying at a Quality Suites hotel ever. The room rate was great and the staff was very friendly. I thought that the hotel was nice for the hotel class. It was nice to have two rooms and breakfast and internet included in the room rate, The hotel could use a little updating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to see that this was your first time visiting our hotel and that it was a great experience. We are in the process of upgrading the suites. We intend to have many of the upgrades in place this year. Please look for them on your next visit.
We hope to see you again soon.

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel was great for the price. Very nice clean room with a separate living room area and bedroom. The pool area is really nice with a hot tub and fire pits. They have a barbeque in the evenings, the standard manager's reception, and a good selection for breakfast in the morning. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and for recommending our hotel. We have had fantastic San Luis Obispo winter weather here the last week. It has been cool in the morning with sparking warm 75+ degree afternoons. I hope that you were able to enjoy some of our great weather during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were traveling from Vegas to San Fransisco and had a one night stop here. I have to say we wanted to stay longer as this hotel has great charm and it was good value for money. Room was very large with seperate living area. We had free drinks with our barbeque which cost $7. Staff were lovely and we had a great night on the town. Hope we can return again some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I was great to see that you wanted to stay longer. The barbecue is mentioned as a favorite by many of our guests because of the great value and proving a guest to better opportunity to enjoy our pool courtyard area.
We hope to see you again the next time you are traveling through SLO.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Loved the Quality Suites! The suites are good size and come with all the amenities. The place itself shows a lot of character - with a heated swimming pool and fire places around the pool surrounded by a lovely seating area. Staff is polite and helpful and the morning breakfast pretty functional with hot food choices compared to many other similar motels that offer next to nothign with their cold breakfast choices!

Highly recommend this motel for a day or two stop over in this neat little town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate that you “highly recommend” our hotel. It is helpful for us to see which amenities you liked most. You provided a good description of our property and that helps our future guest understand the character of our hotel.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our reasonably priced and well-located roomy double included a balcony, flat screen TV, large drawers & coat closet. The suite sitting room provided a long L shaped couch, coffee table, DVD player, micro, refrig., sink, 2nd flat screen, attractive wood table with chairs, and plenty of move around room. Lighting, colors and artwork are bright and inviting. Pluses include: free wireless Internet, free parking, very comfortable beds, free wine in the evening, BBQ sandwiches available for reasonable price with seating by pool, and a friendly desk staff.
The bathroom is adequate with outside sink, and my only complaint is the annoying slider door without sufficient handle making bathroom entry and exit difficult. I would not hesitate staying there again.

Room Tip: We were on top floor overlooking pool. This could be noisy on summer nights with poolside dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on tripadvisor. It was nice just to see that you found our hotel to be reasonably priced and well located. We appreciate the description you gave of the amenities we provide our guests. We liked hearing your thoughts on the handle for the pocket door. We will look into other door handle options that would work better for our guests.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.