We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Great rooms, Super clean and tons of Perks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect, Great rooms, Super clean and tons of Perks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Quality Suites in San Luis Obispo is an outstanding hotel with customer satisfaction first in mind. Clean Rooms! Free hot breakfast, the real deal. Eggs, Bacon, waffles and more. Free open bar in the evening with good local wines and beer. Very Inexpensive Great fresh food cooked outside at the patio. Great shuttle service to downtown SLO.
Free DVD rentals. 24 hour shop to buy drinks, popcorn and pick up a free video. Staff is super friendly.
I could go on and on but to put it in a nutshell, "one of the most pleasant hotel stays I have had in 35 years of traveling"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to read that you thought we were an “outstanding” hotel. We liked seeing that you have been traveling for 35 years and this was one of your top experiences. We have a great associates and a good property. Everyone does their best every day to make it as enjoyable as possible for our guest. It was great to see that you enjoyed the amenities that our hotel provides.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    147
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
191
143
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Everything was clean, modern, and spacious. The complimentary breakfast included a egg cook, so you could get whatever you wanted. We like the two patios, one with the pool and the other called the 'quiet patio' that had a nice fountain. And it is nicely located only a mile from all the fun places downtown and a mile or so from Poly.

We both highly recommend the Quality Suites. They have all the charm of their nearby competitors at a fraction of the price. Definitely a 'best value'!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. We are pleased that you thought we were a great value. We do our best to provide a great value for our guests. We want our guest to come and stay with us repeatedly. Since we provide our guest a great value they usually visit us many times. When we see guests continue to come back we feel like we are doing a good job and that is a great endorsement for the hotel and the services we provide.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a good hotel with many perks. I like their happy-hour, their breakfast, but when it comes to checking special requests, and more importantly, correcting their mistakes, this hotel is sub-par. I was traveling with my elderly parents so we requested a quiet room. So where did they put us? - right under a staircase close to the laundry unit which was blowing out steam the whole time. Basically I think we got one of the worst rooms in the entire complex. And if the manager is reading this, go back to March 3, 2012 and you will recall our front desk conversations.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and posting it on Tripadvisor. Yes, I do read all the reviews that are posted. I apologize that your request was not honored. I will cover this with our assocaites so that we do a better job in the future. I would like to let all our customers know if there is anything we can do to make their stay better to please let us know as soon as possible. We want to do our best to make sure all of our guest enjoy their stay at our hotel.

Thank you for alerting us to our mistake. We will take corrective action so that it does not happen again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family travels to San Luis Obispo a couple of times of year. This is a great choice, especially for families who want some extra space. Bedroom and seperate living area. Great hot breakfast and complimentary DVD rentals. Convenient location and many extra conveniences provided by hotel. Good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate hearing that you found us to be an “excellent choice” as place to stay while in San Luis Obispo. It was good to see that you travel to San Luis Obispo several times a year and choose our hotel to enjoy time with your family.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our family of five--two adults and three kids ages 6 to 8--stayed here for four nights Thanksgiving week. It was a terrific deal for the price. The suite is not huge, but hey, its a suite, with two double beds, a sofa bed, and even another small sofa big enough for one of our kids to sleep on. The breakfasts are great (I loved the fact that I could get egg whites and veggies, or non-fat milk and cereal), and you can't beat the nightly barbecue. We fed our family of five on hotdogs, chicken sandwich, and garden burger for $13 (plus free drinks and cookies every night). Lots of nice outdoor tables and chairs with heaters and fires to relax in the evening The wireless works great (you only need to resign in every seven days), there's an onsite coin laundry, there's a fitness room, and free DVD checkout (we just watched Rapunzel with the kids). Oh, and did I say two TVs in the suite? The pool and hot tub are nice too. This is not a luxury hotel, but we found it very family friendly and enjoyable, and we'll definitely stay here again if we come to San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and posting it on Tripadvisor. It is nice for us to see families enjoying their time together at our hotel. Thank you for doing such a good job of describing all of our amenities. Many of the guests appreciate the value we provide with our BBQ. It was great to see that you were able to feed you family of five for $13. We are pleased to see that you found us to be “very family friendly and enjoyable”.
We hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.
Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Convenient location. Simple and comfortable accommodations. The hotel has a pleasant and serene ambiance. No bellman to help with the luggage. Suite: large, comfortable, clean, very quiet. Bathroom: ok. Breakfast: cooked-to-order, good options (friendly guys). The hotel has a charming and peaceful central patio (Spanish style), excellent for relaxing, especially at night. Staff: polite. I recommend this hotel for families with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was great to see that you found our Hotel “excellent for relaxing”. We feel it is very important whether traveling on business or with your family to be able to relax during your visit. Your review provides a good description of what makes for a relaxing stay at the Quality Suites.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A nice hotel,at first glance,freindly welcome stuff,free beer ,wine and soft drinkes at evening in the bar,nice young atmosphere but...small small room,we were 2 adults and 3 children,too croweded in one of their family rooms,very small bath and inside same room the w.c.,beds were not comfortable at all,and very very poor breakfast,so in total-you can consider to stay elsewhere if the room apperance,beds and breakfast are important to you!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I have a large family as well and I know that traveling with everyone poses some challenges. I have found that our suites worked better for our trips than a conventional hotel room. We do our best to accommodate all our guests. I apologize that you felt crowded when you stayed with us.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.