We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel that keeps on giving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The hotel that keeps on giving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We hadn't booked and just arrived at the hotel. Very friendly service and were given a king suite - room was what you expect, nothing flash but very comfortable, clean and roomy. But what we were impressed with was the extra mile the staff went to and the free stuff - Internet, parking, happy hour, breakfast and even a couple of band aids! Would recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to see that you came all the way from New Zealand to visit our hotel. We appreciate knowing that you were impressed with our "staff that went the extra mile" for you during your visit. We provide many complimentary amenities and it was great to see them listed in your review.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    126
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
162
117
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Applegate, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is very well-run and while I have not stayed at any other Quality Suites before, would put this hotel in the running with a Marriott Fairfield or Hi Express. The staff is excellent, each night includes a complimentary reception, and food is served on the patio by the pool each night. Breakfast in included as well. The rooms are spacious with separate sleeping/living areas, which is a hug plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was good to hear from another one of our business travelers. We have very attentive associates and they will appreciate that you found them to be “excellent”.
We hope to see you again the next time you travel to San Luis Obispo.
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great hotel for a business trip! Nothing extravangant but everything is new, service is great and the room are very comfortable. Quality Suites thought of everything in anticipation of the traveler's needs and included them in their price:

Wine and Beer tasting
wifi access with free loaner equip
breakfast
2 flat panel TV's with cable
DVD player
DVD movies library
parking

Perfect setting to relax before the next day's meetings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It was great to see that you found us to be “a great hotel for a business trip”. We hope that the relaxation we provided you helped you be productive for your meeting the following day. Our associate feel they are doing a good job when they can help our guests relax and be more productive when they are here on business.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I paid a weekday rate of about $100 (including tax) and it was a spectacular deal - very helpful staff; great suites with a nice bed, refrigerator and microwave; a wonderful happy hour (with two Firestone Walker taps!); inexpensive barbeque (everything $5 or less); free wifi and DVD movies to view; good breakfast included; and free shuttles to the Thursday Farmers Market and the campus. But the Friday and Saturday rate shot up to over $200, so it wasn't affordable (at least to me) anymore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for describing your visit and providing a review on tripadvisor. It was good to read that you experienced our complimentary evening Manager reception and thought it was a “wonderful happy hour”. It was nice to see you were traveling on business. We appreciate hearing from our guest traveling on business. We do provide different weekend rates and rates very depending on the time of year. It is best to call us and if you are flexible on your dates and can provide you dates to receive a value rate on the weekend.

We look forward to seeing you again in SLO,

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I travel between the SF Bay Area and Los Angeles quite often, and don't always want to do the trip in one day. Quality Suites is our newly discovered perfect layover spot--we've been there for a few nights twice in six months. The service has always been friendly and very efficient, and the rooms are spotlessly clean (a major priority) with all the amenities one could want, and the beds quite comfortable. We ask for a top floor room on the back courtyard, and have had no problem with noise at all (also a big factor for us). For the nights that we haven't wanted to go further into town for dinner, the free happy hour and inexpensive courtyard BBQ option met our needs exactly--nothing fancy or gourmet, but very relaxing. The free breakfast is also quite good and with real eggs and fresh fruit available, a huge step above other motels' stale coffee and costco muffins.

Quality Suites SLO absolutely gives full value for what it charges--certainly not true for so many other places. The only "con," if you even want to call it that is how the bathroom sink is right by the beds, and the toilet/shower area is accessed directly near the beds with just a pocket door for privacy--a little odd. No problem for us old married folks, but perhaps could be awkward for others. I reserve my 5-star/excellent ratings for really spectacular experiences, but this Quality Suites is indeed very, very good for what it is, and we would not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you want to insure the quietest stay, ask for a top floor room on the back courtyard away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. Since we are half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles we have many guests that choose to break up their trip and stay with us. It was nice to read that you choose us as your “lay over” location. It was nice to read that you found our hotel to be “very relaxing”. We like to see our guest relaxing and enjoying their stay.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next "lay over".

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights visiting our grandson at Cal Poly. Was the best hotel/motel we have stayed at in years. From the time I walked into check-in until I walked out with the room key was a whopping 2 minutes. Extremely friendly/proficient staff. They offer a free shuttle (PT Cruiser) around town which I highly recommend especially on the weekends as parking is at a premium downtown. The rooms are not overly large but very clean and comfortable, the bathroom is adequate and the dressing area is in the bedroom. The welcome party offers FREE wine and draft beers and a very inexpensive BBQ on the patio. We spent the later hours of the evening just enjoying the fire pit and a glass of wine. I do recommend that if you drink, buy your wine, beer or whatever at a local market as the alcoholic beverages in the gift shop are $$$. The cook to order breakfast is great and unlike most places goes until 10:00 AM. Will we stay there again, bet $$$$ on it, a truly great older hotel/motel.
PS: you can walk to Cal Poly from there and also downtown.

Room Tip: From our perspective, any room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. Since we are close to Cal Poly many of our guests choose visit the campus and family while they are here. As you stated we are close enough to walk to Cal Poly or Downtown. It was great to read that you found our staff to be “extremely friendly/proficient”. We have a very good group of associates and they will appreciate reading that the service they provide you was appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit SLO and Cal Poly.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just booked last minute for a 2 night stay - got a lovely king suite- tv in each room, daily newspaper, kitchen facilities and nice bed /linen. Also, complimentary drinks each evening and breakfast daily, lots of choice and cooked to order section. Good pool outside, loungers and hot tub. Small fitness room plus laundry is needed. Nice outdoor seating with table top fire pits lit each night. Great reception staff, complimentary shuttle available too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate the way you described our suites so that other visitors coming the the area will understand the amenities and value we provide. We always like to find out what amenities our guests enjoy the most during their stay. You did a great job of telling us what you like about our hotel.

It was nice to see that you found our hotel to be a “great value for the money, immaculate and a good location”.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're able to visit San Luis of Obispo.

Thank you,

George New land
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.