We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I find a place I like, I stick to it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sierra Madre, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“When I find a place I like, I stick to it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We are very frequent visitors to San Luis Obispo and this is our spot. My family and I have been staying here literally since the place was built, I'm guessing 20+ years ago.The property has been beautifully maintained the entire time. I love the layout with rooms arranged around a central courtyard. Now, let's get down to business. The staff is very friendly and got us settled right away into the room we requested. Even the housekeeping people are nice, but remember, you get what you give. You would never guess the age of the place from the rooms, they are very clean and well-maintained On my "would you walk around barefoot in this room" scale it's an 8 out of 10. The rooms are true suites with a sitting room with a pull-out couch if you need it and a bedroom with a real door in between. There are two TV's, one in each room. This is great for families. The sink area is part of the bedroom and is very roomy with the usual complimentary toiletries. The bath-toilet area is quite small, not for the claustrophobic, but it's navigable. The happy hour is generous and fun and you get a real breakfast in the morning, not the usual motel ready-made. Breakfast room seating is adequate but we prefer to sit outside. See the website for more. Any downsides? There always are. The staff really needs to control activity around the pool. This time we had to put up with three out of control kids and all we wanted was a cold beer and some peace and quiet after a long day's travel. In our room the air conditioning was pretty noisy but that can be fixed with a new unit - it's probably time. All things considered, I hope my long loyalty to this place will speak well for anyone wanting a very nice place to stay in San Luis Obispo.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room in the "quiet section" if you don't want courtyard and pool noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty and for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests that visit us regularly. You did a good job of estimating when our hotel was built. Since opening over 20 years ago we have continued to invest in the property with regular updates, improvements and renovations. Many of our long time guests tell us that the hotel is better now than when it first opened. It was nice to hear that you found our associate to be friendly and the hotel to be “beautifully maintained”

We appreciate your loyalty and will continue the work hard to earn it every time you stay.

We look forward to seeing you again during you next visit to SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    159
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
208
153
14
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We were able to a room last minute for a weekend getaway. This was our second time staying here and once again, we were not disappointed. Lots of restaurants and nightlife within walking distance. Complimentary breakfast was very satisfying. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean. Happy hour around the pool and firepits at night are so relaxing. This hotel is a great steal!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I was nice to see that you had stayed here again and decided to come back and visit again. The opportunity to relax around the pool and fire pits during our complimentary beer and wine tasting reception is very popular with many of our guests. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy it during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.
Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I expected a lot more for upwards of 200.00 a night!
Asked for same blankets/bedding for pull out bed and was told the blanket in the drawer was all They had to offer, not a sheeted comforter as on the king bed. The AC was so loud (even after they inspected it) and poorly located that I hardly got any sleep the first night. The second night I left it off and opened the window waking to the Manager/Owner arguing with someone in the parking lot trying to leave after stealing a 10.00 breakfast! The bathroom is poorly located if you have another person in the pull out, have to walk thru the bedroom to get to it and the sink is in the bedroom. Front desk girl seemed less then pleased to be there and not very helpful. Couldn't buy a drink from the bar area unless it was during there complimentry 2hour period. The breakfast was O.K. and the parking was good. I guess had I been paying motel 6 prices then I would have nothing to complain about, but this is just far overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I hear what you are saying. We strive to communicate the value and amenities we provide. I apologize if we did not provide you the information you needed prior to your decision to stay at our hotel. I will check on the AC unit that you had to see if it needs to be repaired or replaced. It was good to read that they did send someone from our engineering depart to check on the AC while you were here. Feel free to contact me directly if there is anything additional we can do. I want to make sure our future guests know about our hotel and feel that they are going to get a good value when deciding to stay with us.
Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having read good reviews about this budget hotel I booked a one night stay on my way to Big Sur.
Initial impressions were good. The exterior was clean and well maintained with beautiful flower beds. The reception area was well appointed and the booking in process smooth and fast. We were offered advice on events in the area including a local street market and the Manager's drink and food buffet which was free to guests.
The hotel has two squares around which rooms are grouped on several floors. One is the quiet square and the other is the one with a swimming pool and where people gather in the evening for a drink. Unless you like noise ask for a room on the quiet square! We were subjected to the constant screams of delight of children throwing themselves into the pool. I can never understand why 'modern' parents think everyone will be as happy as they are to be subjected to the constant high pitched screams of their little darlings. There seems to be no moderation. In the evening a number of young adults seemingly the worse for wear with drink were shouting and screaming up to 10.45pm using the pool. Seemingly the hotel staff did nothing to curb the noise and this was my biggest complaint about this hotel.
The rooms are old fashioned but reasonably well appointed although the bathroom is small. There was a sitting room with a sink and fridge facing the inner courtyard. Beyond that was the bedroom and bathroom.
Breakfast was based on a voucher system. There was a choice of fruit, oatmeal, cereal, bread and bagels as well as a choice of hot breakfast. Nothing to write home to Mom about but basic fare in line with the facilities. I have never seen a chef who can cook eggs and omelettes so fast. The entire queue stood there watching evidently impressed.
Opposite the hotel is a tram stop where for 50 cents you can get a lift into town. On the way back it will drop you directly outside the hotel.
Overall opinion? A good hotel who have pitched their prices at the right level to reflect the accommodation and facilities. As a stop over or base to explore San Luis Obispo it really works. Avoid the noisy swimming pool square if you can. Recommended

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review on tripadvisor. It was good to read that you were able to participate in many of the amenities that we provide here at our hotel. Like you, many of our guests appreciate the complementary full cooked to order breakfast and complimentary beer and wine tasting reception every evening. We are fortunate to have a very good cook staff and I will let them know of your praise on how quickly they were able to cook omelets for our guests. There are many great things to do while in San Luis Obispo. It was good to see that you found our hotel to be a good base to explore the San Luis Obispo area.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you were able to visit.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

room is nice, breakfast is nice w/ Wall Street Journal each morning! Close to town, can't beat it.
i try to go to different hotels but always come back to this one, either due to availability or price or convenience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was nice to find out that you have tried many other hotels in the area and keep coming back to our hotel. Many of our guests appreciate being close to town. In addition to the other many amenities we provide, we offer a complimentary shuttle downtown for our guests. This gives our guests the option to walk or be driven to the downtown area. The downtown area is enjoyed by many of our guests so we do our best to make it easily accessible.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay at our property.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner /General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I wasn't sure about this place when we first arrived - we were on the ground floor with our back window right in the car park. However, my mind was changed - good fitness room, super cheap BBQ, free beer and a good quality breakfast as well as a lounge area in the room and a huge comfy bed. A good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was great to see that you were pleasantly surprised by our property. By your description, it appears you had the opportunity to participate in many of our amenities. We do our best to provide a great value for all that amenities we provide. The barbecue is a very good example of providing a great value to our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely place! Hoping I'm not being too premature writing this review, but after staying at the Hilton in Los Angeles Universal I'd rate this place well above the Hilton!!!, less expensive, feels more homely & much more room!! A nice quiet place with complementary Wi-fi, drinks, breakfast & even DVD's for your room!! Lots of restaurants a walk away (& we can find the best thanks to Trip advisor!! ) :) the staff are very professional & helpful. Would def stay again if I could!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was great to read that you “only just got here and love it”. It was nice to read that you found our staff to be “very professional and helpful”. We do our best to provide a great experience for our guests so is nice to read that you found our hotel superior to hotel you stayed at in Los Angeles.


We hope you are able to visit again soon.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.