We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Quality Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

A large and spacious suite that was well furnished. Sink, microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the lounge area that had a large sofe as well as a table and chairs. The bedroom was also a reasonable size and there were TV's in both the lounge and bedroom. Another plus is the free WiFi, something that the majority of more expensive hotel chains do not provide. Also a free newspaper. Breakfast was good with a hot choice. Our room was very quiet and we got a good night's sleep both nights we were here.
We were happy to walk into town rather than drive and it helped us to digest our rather large meals! We enjoyed the Happy Hour each evening with complimentary drinks. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again if we returned to SLO.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was good to know that you found us a "good value". We want all our guests to feel like they get more than their monies worth when they stay with us. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to walk around town. I always like to hear about our guest experiences while they are here. Walking into town is something that we hear from a lot of our guest that they really like about our location.

We look forward to seeing you again.

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    138
    41
    9
    6
See reviews for
181
132
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Convenient to downtown and to the College. Great shuttle service to and from downtown. Rooms were comfy and quiet. Breakfast was fair, usual continental breakfast but they would also cook eggs, bacon, potatoes. Simple happy hour but friendly staff. Pool got crazy on a Holiday weekend, hours not quite followed, but nothing too late. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We have a good staff so I appreciate hearing that you found them to be friendly. We strive to treat our guest like they are family friends coming to visit. Many of our guest also enjoy the shuttle to downtown as you did. They like that when they stay with us they have the choice of not always getting in their car to enjoy the town.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner /Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We arrived inSLO without a hotel reservation and drove round about 5 different hotels. The Quality Suites was by far the best. The room was huge and really clean and comfotable. We were offered the free drinks and nibbles option from 4-8pm which was great, free wine!! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I liked hearing that you shopped around before deciding on our hotel. Good to know that you enjoyed the free drinks. Many of our guests are interested in the wineries in the area so we provide a tasting of a of a local wine each evening as part of our Complimentary nightly reception. I hope that you had the opportunity to sample some of the local wines while you were here.

We hope to see you again next time you visit.

Thanks,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011 via mobile

I am a business traveler that stays in over 100 nights of hotels per year. I spent one night at the Quality SLO and it was very nice. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are nice, breakfast is very good (made to order omlets), and the happy hour is great (free drinks!). Hotels like this makess business travel much easier.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate getting the feedback from our customers. From someone that stays over 100 night a year at hotels your compliments were high praise and I will let our associates know that they are doing a good job.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Room comfortable and clean. Breakfast good. BBQ is a nice touch but I did wait 20-25 mins for my food as the server couldn't find me (she said she would look for me) and I was near the bar (she suggested the bar to me). Finally went to check on my order and there it was waiting for me. The server apologized--too bad she kept calling me the wrong name.

Grounds look a little rough but wasn't expecting anything special anyhow.

Overall it's a nice enough for this type of place but I usually prefer Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I apologize for the delay at the barbecue. From what you described there must have been some confusion on our end regarding your name. This is good information. I will work with the staff to make improvements.

Now that the spring has started we have been doing a lot of planting around our hotel. Once the flowers bloom the landscaping will be a lot more colorful.

I do appreciate that you recommended our hotel.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

This all-suites motel really makes an effort to please and succeeds beautifully. From agreeing to put us in the quietest area of the motel to serving us a delicious made-to-order hot breakfast, to having a nice variety of pillows and bed coverings, this place really aims to make its guests comfortable. We thought it was especially great quality and value for a chain operation. The suite was clean and comfortable, the only drawback being that the window did not open far enough to get sufficient fresh air in. Otherwise, everything about this place screams out that it is well-managed and cares alot about the comfort of its guests. We stayed two nights and were completely satisfied and even surprised to receive as much coddling as we did. A particularly friendly touch is the evening reception with free snacks and drinks, and the low-priced barbecue offered most evenings on the patio. Also, it is very conveniently located, being an easy walk from downtown SLO.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms overlook rear courtyard
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. We do care a lot about our guests and it was great to hear that it shows. All our associates took pride in your quote "this place screams out that it is well managed and that we care a lot about the comfort of our guests". We have a great staff and they appreciated knowing that the care and comfort they provide to our guests is recognized and appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Quality Suites San Luis Obispo during our US “Route 1” holiday. Here are the things I remember most:

Arrival / Reception: It was easy to park the car right in front of the hotel whilst we took out our luggage and we then found a car park space just a few meters from the hotel door. Reception was light and spacious with very friendly staff. Warm, soft cookies were a lovely touch and of course we couldn’t resist – yummy! Reception staff have put together a fantastic information book containing details of local restaurants and were happy for us to take this to our room to browse whilst we decided.

Free hotel car: We were amazed to learn that the hotel car was available to take us to & from wherever we wanted to eat that evening. Such a treat for us both to be able to have a drink and not drive. The driver was really friendly and clearly proud of his town and was able to share a lot of information with us.

Room: The room décor is quite dated and the furniture a bit past its best but the bed was comfortable and it was great having a separate sitting area, as my husband often comes to bed later than me so it was great that he had a room to sit and watch TV / use the laptop without disturbing me. The bathroom was quite small and also a bit dated, but very clean and perfectly adequate. A bit strange having the hand-basin in the bedroom rather than the bathroom though.

Facilities: Since we were only at the hotel for one night we didn’t make use of a lot of the amenities of the hotel but we noticed when we went out for dinner that a lot of people were enjoying the BBQ and ‘fire table’ which looked like a great facility if you wanted to be sociable.

Breakfast: The inclusive breakfast was nothing special, but fine. A bit of a Mexican twist – my husband had a breakfast burrito! Nice to have hot breakfast included – clearly cheap ingredients but an easy way to start the day.

We would recommend the hotel and thought that it was good value for what we paid (£84.57 for one night).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is always nice to see guests come all the way over from the UK to visit San Luis Obispo. We started to providing the breakfast burrito as a once a week special. There were so many guest that requested it that we now provide it as one of our regular breakfast menu items. It was good to hear that your husband gave it a try and like it during his visit.

We hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.