We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOME OF THE BEST SANDWICHES IN SLO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gus's Grocery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gus's Grocery
1638 Osos St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
(805) 543-8165
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 257 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Soups
Restaurant details
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“SOME OF THE BEST SANDWICHES IN SLO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This location is close to where my family lives and they regularly go there. My wife and I go every time we are in the area as their sub and other sandwiches are the best. There is outdoor seating, the staff is friendly & fast, and the ingredients are fresh and made to order. The parking in the area can be a little difficult during the lunch time and it is nothing fancy however, you won't walk away hungry or broke.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Encountered rudeness at Gus's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had never been there but saw it on the way to the train station. We tried to order some sandwiches but did not realize that you have to check off your orders on a form that is on a table by the counter. The young man behind the counter was barely helpful, being rude and contemptous in his demeaner. Everything else was OK

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Excellent sandwiches and great selection of chips and cookies.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quick lunch in a college town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We ate here and had some sandwiches along with some sweet potato fries. It was a good value for the price but nothing exceptional.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Gus's has been serving great sandwiches for 30 plus years that we know of!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's Grocery also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Gus's Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus's Grocery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.