We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Calle Joaquin Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice visit ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were only in San Luis Obispo for one night but found our room to be very comfortable, clean and more spacious than we expected. Front desk helpful in their restaurant recommendations & directions. Convenient to downtown. Would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Srbohrer,

I am pleased to hear the Front Desk was friendly and accommodating to your needs. We take great pride in delivering excellent customer service. I will be sure to share your comments with my staff. I am also glad to hear you will return to the Courtyard by Marriott next time you are in San Luis Obispo. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    122
    48
    9
    12
See reviews for
107
82
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, large rooms , awesome bathrooms great pool area. Very impressed. Friendly staff , very accommodating and informative. Really nice. Would definitely recommend it to all travellers whether business or families.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear HeatherB1154943,

You are correct that our hotel caters to both business travelers as well as families. With our many amenities and great views of the hillside and courtyard anyone and everyone enjoys their stay. Like you said, our service is friendly and accommodating and guest needs are our top priority. I am so glad you enjoyed staying with us. Next time you find yourself in San Luis Obispo we would love to serve you again!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This Courtyard is very conveniently located near downtown and Cal Poly (4 miles from college) and its price is much more reasonable than the Madonna Inn! We had two large and comfortable beds, free wifi and all the amenities of a clean nice hotel. The hotel provides maps and directions to go to Cal Poly and they seem very organized. Breakfast is extra but we really wanted to go to the Madonna Inn Copper cafe that has fantastic food and great views, and were not disappointed. The hotel was a little tricky to find at night, as it is on a side road parallel to the main highway, but if you turn immediately left after crossing the bridge (coming from L.A.), you will go back to L.A.! You need to turn in the SECOND left after the bridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Pourpre,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience of staying with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in San Luis Obispo! We do have many amenities to offer and I’m glad you were able to enjoy them. Like you said, we are conveniently near shopping centers and dining options and only about ten minutes away from Cal Poly College. I hope you and your family will visit us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I've stayed here every six months for the last three years. The hotel is a little more upscale than a traditional Courtyard. it has it own restaurant that offer breakfast, lunch and dinner as opposed to the current Bistro Cafe model in most Courtyards. The morning buffet has a good hot and cold selection. the food is solid all the way around and not over priced.
The lobby is spacious and sports a nice full bar with local wines.
The gym is small but has the right equipment. Free weights, a bench, bike, elliptical, and treadmill. Towels are provided in the gym.
The location is just off 101, so easy travels to Cal Poly, downtown SLO or Avilla and Pismon Beaches.
I travel each week and typically stay in Marriott's. This is a cut above the typical courtyards, but smaller than a full sized JW.
No regrets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel. Nice view of the mountain ridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear hannamac,

I am so pleased to know we are your go to hotel that you consider a cut above the rest! I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurant. We are scheduled for renovations at the end of the year presenting the Courtyard Bistro, but until then we are happily serving full service breakfast and dinner daily. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We look forward to your return again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk va
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Arrived after dinner - had one drink in bar - went to bed. Woke up to goats on the hill behind the hotel. Was fine. Nothing glamorous, but convenient and priced right. Not free breakfast. Had plenty of items in the little store to get something to eat before hitting the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear neik4,

Enjoying our bar during your arrival plus waking in the morning to goats on our hillside sounds like a wonderful and relaxing stay and I am glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to have the chance to serve you again soon so please come visit us next time you are in San Luis Obispo.

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was driving the pacific coast highway (CA - 1) from Frisco to San Simeon. Due to my prior good experience with Marrtiot, I drove out of the way from San Simeon to San Luis to stay in this Marriot. I wanted a good nights rest before the long mountain drive to Yosemite.

The room was unclean!! The bed was making a big creaking sound for every turn. On top of all this, fire alarm was blinking brightly every few minutes reminding me to change the battery. I called the front desk and she told me that there was no fire and I can sleep! :). Then she said it is normal for fire alarms to do this. Then she finally confessed that it is their fault and they forgot to change the battery and they would give free breakfast! Terrible experience and this certainly is not a Marriot though they claim this to be and charge over $150 a night.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear LathasLover,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Your feedback is always appreciated as it lets us know where we can improve and your comments were shared with our front desk staff as well as the appropriate maintenance and housekeeping departments. I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would really like the opportunity to get a second chance at making a great impression on you and discussing this matter further. If you are open to discussing your stay further, I can be reached directly with the hotel’s main number.

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We recently stayed to visit a friend in the area. Very nice place with a great view. We woke up in the morning to see horses grazing on the mountain behind the hotel. Nothing wrong with that!!
The whole surrounding area is filled with small hotels on the beach and if this is your thing then great, However, while driving passed these places and seeing all the "beach people" sleeping outside or in the parking lots I knew we made the right decision to stay at the Courtyard which was five minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear lut5556,

You are quite right that our views from our hotel rooms are lovely. I catch myself often looking out the windows of the lobby watching the horses in the nearby field. “Nothing wrong with that” indeed! Please visit us again soon to enjoy one of our beautiful courtyard or hillside views. There are some new cults and fillies prancing in the field near us and it is such a delight to watch. We hope to see you again very soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo

Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.