We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel...for a night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Calle Joaquin Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel...for a night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed a couple of times here on a Friday night to go into downtown and enjoy the nightlife in SLO. The front desk is very helpful and the rooms are fairly quiet. They are large and clean. They have a full bar in the lobby and serve breakfast (not included with room). The breakfast didn't look wonderful and with the Apple Farm right up the way, didn't try ti.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear KimDevers:
I am so glad that you chose our hotel to stay with while you visited San Luis Obispo and enjoyed your visits with us. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and the service of our staff. It is wonderful to have our travelers recognize our efforts! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    105
    44
    7
    11
See reviews for
93
73
15
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way driving down the coast, so just stayed one night. The accommodations were more than sufficient: clean comfortable rooms, free wi-fi, warm heated pool, great staff helped to check us in.

My only complaint about this location was the breakfast. For $11.00 for breakfast, I wish it was tastier. The coffee was cold and bitter (even after I asked for a new cup full), the eggs tasted like sawdust. I wish I had driven into town and had breakfast instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear KtLadyBug:
Thank you for your mentions of our helpful staff and clean rooms. I am sorry your breakfast was not as enjoyable. Our heated pool and free wifi makes our guests' stays all that more enjoyable and I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. I am so glad to hear our staff was helpful at check-in and will relay the message on to them as I am sure they will appreciate hearing your positive comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I hope you return to our property again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to LA. The rooms were clean . my complaint is that the bath tub did not drain after my husband took a shower. I called the front desk and told them that I was unable to take a shower because the bath tub was backed up. the front desk clerk said she was sorry and that was it. She did not offer to send someone up to fix it or show that she cared that a guest was not happy. A hotel should include a shower. The staff needs some customer service training . Poor management and lack of customer service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ann S:
I regret to hear you experienced difficulties with your room and the response from the front desk staff. It is our top priority to satisfy our guests and their needs. I am so sorry by the reaction you encountered when reporting your concern. I will definitely bring this to the attention of our staff to make sure this does not happen again. Your feedback is important to us and I can't thank you enough for sharing your experience with us as it allows us to see were we need improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

For visiting Cal Poly SLO University, this Marriott property is the only nearby property in town and they know it. I wish we had more Marriott choice in the immediate area. We are always warmly welcomed when we arrive--often late at night--and this trip was no different. The housekeeping staff and front desk folks are always pleasant, welcoming and warm. The price-to-value for this Courtyard is poor, however, most times of the year. However, for a family visiting the University, their suite rooms are very worthwhile with a private bedroom and a private living area that has a sofa bed (they'll bring in a rollaway) as wells as sink/fridge/microwave part of the room.

Room Tip: Very Close By to Cal Poly SLO University
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here as a one night getaway. Had lunch on our way into town and then checked in about 430 pm. Beautiful exterior, room is spacious with a micro and mini fridge. Restroom was a decent size as well. Our room 120 had a sliding door for full / quick access to the jacuzzi / pool area which i loved. Nice view of the mountains behind us. Quiet room. Room was so comfortable we never left for dinner or drinks like we planned, we stayed in and got some much needed rest. I would defnitely come back, worth staying here and driving to the beach than to stay so close to the beach. Superior Quality is always important when choosing our hotel.

Room Tip: First floor was great, access to the pool from our sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had to spend 2 nights away from home so we chose this hotel. All of the staff from check in to room service, was very friendly, wonderful to deal with and really involved in caring for us during our stay! The room was quite nice and very quiet. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because you have to buy an expensive breakfast. Most hotels now have a free breakfast of some type to start the day.

Room Tip: We chose a room at the back of the hotel - be aware though that Los Osos Valley is a wind tunnel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We checked in late (after 11:00pm) and although the front desk staff was friendly, they were not very professional. We were on the second floor and the people above us partied until 3:30am. Didn't sleep well. The Marriott apparently provided an unadvertised buffet breakfast that we noticed when we checked out, but after not sleeping well, I couldn't get out of there fast enough. I'm thankful we were able to get what seemed like the last room in SLO for that weekend. Now I know why. Try Margie's Diner for breakfast next door. My daughter and I liked it, my husband, not so much.

Room Tip: Request a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo

Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Courtyard
San Luis Obispo Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.