We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Calle Joaquin Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fresno, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night before moving on to the pismo beach area. The hotel is very nice and well kept. It had a restaurant, bar, pool and hot tub. I got a good deal on Priceline. The staff was courteous and the rooms were updated with granite and such. I would definitely stay there again. The only concern I had was when I checked out, the front desk woman would loudly say, 'so you booked on Priceline so your all set.' I heard her say it to a few people and thought she could use more discretion about how people reserve their rooms or if they use a coupon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear nancypw,

We are so happy that you chose to stay with us for your visit to San Luis Obispo, and thanks for leaving such a wonderful comment and score. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel, and I have followed up with my staff in regards to your checkout experience; I apologize for any inconvenience. Thanks again for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    93
    41
    7
    11
See reviews for
88
66
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stopped at this Courtyard on the drive from San Francisco to LA. We had been staying at Courtyards the whole trip due to Marriott Rewards membership and Courtyard preference. This was by far the best of the brand we stayed at. Hotel feels new and clean. Room was spacious and well appointed and bathroom was large and clean. Our room looked out over the pool and to a field beyond that had horses. Kids loved sitting by the window and watching the horses play in the late afternoon.

Hotel is situated a few miles from SLO downtown and right off the highway (101). A few minutes drive and you are in downtown for dinner and strolling around the area. We only stayed for the night but all agreed that this hotel plus the town would have made for a nice several day stay.

We were originally deciding between this hotel and the Madonna Inn and while I think the Madonna wins in the uniqueness factor, this was definitely the better choice.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room overlooking the pool and the field with horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear fisheke 1,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review in regards to your last stay at our hotel; thanks!! I am so pleased to hear that you have such an enjoyable stay, and we are glad that you chose our hotel over the variety of choices here is San Luis Obispo. We hope to see you again for a longer stay as well, and happy travels! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I and our 3 kids came to San Luis Obispo to visit Cal Poly where my husband graduated many years ago. We loved our stay at Marriott. We're familiar with th courtyard series but this one has been one of its' best. Our room was spacious, mini fridge and microwave in our rooms, and a heated pool outside which the kids loved. Great coffee bar in the lounge area and customer service was great. We'll definitely stay here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Julie R,

Thank you so much for the excellent 5-star rating, we appreciate your comments! I am so pleased to hear that you loved your stay, and that this is one of the best Courtyard hotels that you have stayed at; we take a lot of pride in our property. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

While taking our daughter to SLO to tour Cal Poly we stayed at the Courtyard. It was a newer version, so it had the bistro amenities, a nice sitting area with daily newspapers, they had coffee, tea and water available in the lobby. The rooms were standard courtyard but overall it was a better hotel. The location isn't perfect, it's not close to downtown SLO so you have to drive but the town is small. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful with directions. A good budget hotel. Would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear rotzpeople,

We are so happy that your chose to stay with us while you toured Cal Poly. We regularly have Cal Poly parents stay with us, and have lots of information about the school and town for new students/families visiting the area. I am glad to hear the Front Desk was able to help with you in regards to directions, and we are pleased that you were able to have an enjoyable visit. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you again for your future Cal Poly visits. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

These people make you feel at home. Friendly staff, clean rooms, plenty of towels (always a plus for a runner like myself), and the staff seems happy to be here. Our second stay while we happened to be in the area, last was 5 years ago, and we we looking forward to the hotel as much as the area! Ridiculous I know, but once you stay here you will understand what I mean. The vibe is great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear DaveA99,
Thank you for the wonderful comment, and honored 5-star rating; we appreciate it! We strive to be our best, and I am so glad that both of your experiences (5 years apart) have confirmed our goal and efforts. Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon... hopefully before another 5 years go by! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge,CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are ok with staying outside of SLO and not in the center this is a pretty decent choice. It's located right off the 101. My wife an I went all over the central coast for a long weekend so the location was fine. Looked like most Courtyard by Marriotts. Front desk was very nice and always willing to help. The free Wifi was really spotty on my cell, laptop, and wife's ipad. Not really a big deal since we were on vacation and just wanted to check the weather and places to visit. Would stay here again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back so you are farther away from the 101 FWY
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear ScottinLA550,
Thank you for sharing your stay experiences, and for choosing our hotel! We know you are a frequent traveler, and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a comment. I am glad that our super-friendly Front Desk staff was able to accommodate you during your stay! I also want to assure you that we have just updated our internet provider, so during your next visit you will notice easier internet access on your wireless devices. Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A pretty typical Courtyard, with an updated lobby & cafe. It's a bit outside of town, and very convenient to Hwy 101. If you're looking for something close to the city center, this may not be your best choice. All in all, no complaints--a decent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear SteveFromBoulder,
We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your travels to San Luis Obispo, and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. You are right, we are about a five minute drive from downtown, but we do offer Courtyard amenities and a variety of business close by that keep our guests coming back time and time again! Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo

Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Courtyard
San Luis Obispo Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.