We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 Calle Joaquin Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Very good first impressions of the actual hotel upon arrival. There were free cookies and Hot Drinks and Internet Access available in a sort of foyer area that lead onto the dining area.

Rooms were good, clean and spacious with the bathroom also equally clean. The laundry services were excellent, especially as the dryer was broken so you could use it for free :P

The pool area was good, nice sized pool, a cute jacuzzi and plenty of sun beds

We went out each night for dinner but the breakfast food was good enough. Plenty of choice including all the usual Bacon, Egg, Toast and Cereals etc

Make sure to get a room high up though

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    100
    42
    7
    11
See reviews for
92
72
15
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This time, I had my younger brother drive his car up the coast on Sat. October 6th, 2012 to visit San Luis Obispo and Nipomo (Can You Say 'Jocko's Steakhouse'?) at the same time visiting my dear friend 'The Polar Bear' who was also visiting SLO with his Church group while he stayed at another property with the number '6' next door. Polar's room was like being in Port Au'Prince, Haiti while the room my brother and I had at the Courtyard by Marriott was Paris, France (Room 227, with two double beds). Arrived early Saturday afternoon, loved it. Checked out late on Sunday afternoon, loved it. Did not use the pool or spa. Will most likely return. Five Claws Up!!! JG 'Bear'

Room Tip: Request High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-ARC, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Goriajk, thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your last stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we have passed these comments on to our staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Amanda Cretcher - FOM
Courtyard by Marriott - San Luis Obispo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had it not been for extremely rough towels, I would have rated this excellent. Location to 101 and downtown is great, food was great, check-in easy, nice staff...but scratched my kin on the towels, rough as sandpaper

Room Tip: Due to towels, rated room average
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times over the past few years. It is set off the road and the surroundings are peaceful and you do not hear any road noise. The staff at this location is excellent. Amanda the front desk manager is just great. She is very helpful and makes you feel that you are a valued guest. Location provides easy access to Highway 101 and dowtown San Luis Obispo is only five minute drive. It is an easy drive to the airport as well (~10 minutes).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Found this Courtyard by Marriott online while traveling from Santa Cruz to L.A. and needed a place to stop on the way . Staff was courteous and helpful. Room was large but no large bath towels. Pool looked ok but hot tub was not the cleanest. Although they say they have coffee24/7, they didn't. I woke up a little late and didnt get down in time to get coffee and couldn't even buy a cup in the hotel. Couldn't buy breakfast either and had to get in my car and drive to Starbucks to get coffee! Coffee in the room but no milk, creamer or anything. Decent price and it fit our needs but thank goodness we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good place to crash after all day sightseeing. Nice location. Parking was a bit difficult to find, probably because of labor day weekend. Free internet was good, a bit spotty though. Would be good if the breakfast was included. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just stayed again at Courtyard SLO - nice property but a little pricey compared to Holiday Inn Express. Rooms still look new (built 2008) and have nice flat screens but limited channels. There are no suites or so we were told, so don't expect an upgrade. Would be tight with 4 people and a rollaway, but just fine for 2. Nice spacious bathroom counter with Paul Mitchell shampoos. Nice curved shower curtain, good water pressure. Small frig and microwave in room. Free coffee in room and lobby. Courtyard facing rooms are very quiet. WiFi is free but connection often drops. Small hotel restaurant offers breakfast, small bar offers alcohol service until 10pm weeknights, 12am on weekends. AM/PM down the street can meet your beer and snack needs.

Rooms are small compared with Holiday Inn Express and Embassy Suites. A bit farther from freeway than Hampton so will be much more quiet. No free breakfast here or special treatment if you are an elite in MR except for better room location.

Overall I can recommend this hotel, though a bit pricey during high season weekends, Though we found rates dropped at all properties about 1-2 weeks before arrival (always keep checking).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lrrid262, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments regarding our hotel. You gave such a wonderful oversight of the property and its amenities. We do offer discounted prices to our qualified hotel guests. If you qualify for the Marriott senior discount or you have a AAA card the price is lower compared to the regular rate. I am sorry that you feel that we are pricey as we are very careful to stay in line with the other hotels in the vicinity. We also take into consideration the things that are complimentary like our Wi-Fi and parking which usually adds on another $30 to $40 at other properties. I hope that knowing all of this will bring you back to us on your next visit. We would love to have you back at the Courtyard by Marriott - San Luis Obispo.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Ridgeway - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo

Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Courtyard
San Luis Obispo Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.