We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly service, inspiring menu, delicious food, fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koberl At Blue

Koberl At Blue
998 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3205
805-783-1135
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 231 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly service, inspiring menu, delicious food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Go here- great food, service and menu. Attentive friendly service and lively yet relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed great wine and food. Will go again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key Fl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always reliable. Not a great atmosphere and crowded but good food well served and presented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Broad menu and everything is well cooked. Service is always good.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voxboston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Solid food, well crafted drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

comfortable place to get a drink / food in slo when you want a higher-end hang. Very meat-heavy menu in the classic 'this is gourmet food - meat for everyone!!' but they offer some green-ish choices like buffalo. Also, and entire 'secret' vegetarian menu - just ask

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“San Luis Obispo's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Try as they might, no restaurant in San Luis Obispo has what it takes to match the experience of a dinner at Blue, as those of us who live here refer to it. From the ambiance to the service to the food - it never disappoints. My husband and I enjoyed another fabulous dinner which included a glass of local wine from their extensive and reasonably priced 'by the glass" listing, split a simply perfect butter lettuce salad, and after enjoying our perfectly cooked entree, split a dessert that I will long remember.... The White Chocolate Bread Pudding with Drunken Cherries. Not normally a bread pudding fan, this unexpected dish was suggested by our server and she was oh so right! Both my husband and I, both confirmed foodies, had never had anything so delicious.

If you have the opportunity to enjoy a full dinner at Blue, do not hesitate. If on a budget, you cannot go wrong with a simple glass of wine and an appetizer - or maybe consider taking in a movie at our local independent theater, the Palm and then walking a few blocks to Blue and have a dessert and coffee drink. Either way, you will be in for a real treat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, Ca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Dining in Downtown SLO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have dined here on several occasions and always found very interesting menu selections and expertly prepared food. The location is downtown in a beautiful older corner-building that has the restaurant sharing the ground floor with a stylish and well equipped bar. The app menu contains a number of our favorites including foie gras, beef carpaccio and an artfully presented cheese plate w/comb of honey. As for the entrees, they prepare duck breast and confit as well as I've ever tasted and our table also enjoyed the sea bass and lamb dishes. The setting is quiet, comfortable with first quality linens, flatware and glasses. Wait-staff were all friendly, professional and fully familiar with the menu items. The wine service was very competent. Overall it was a first class dinning experience that we highly recommend to our friends.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koberl At Blue also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Koberl At Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koberl At Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.