We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms ok but breakfast a joke!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Luis Inn & Suites to your Saves list
San Luis Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   404 Santa Rosa Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rooms ok but breakfast a joke!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as San Luis Obispo had been recommended to us. Reception guy was not very efficient and checked us in for one night only. After we told him we were staying for two nights he had to refund our money and then recharge us for two nights, not very efficient. Our room was on the first floor landing and, in fairness was ok, apart from the fact that it does need some TLC and sprucing up a bit. The TV remote control didn't work and had to be replaced and there was a bulb missing in the bathroom. But it was clean and had decent facilities. Breakfast was a different story! There was no dedicated breakfast room. Instead they put some cake out in plastic containers on two coffee tables in reception. There was one choice of cereal (also in a plastic container) and a jug of coffee all to be eaten and drunk from paper plates and cups. It was all very tacky to say the least. The hotel had a tiny pool but only two sun loungers and one of these was broken. I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    29
    11
    26
See reviews for
27
25
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a room with 3 beds, for 3 people, and, when we arrived at the hotel, at 10pm, after driving the whole day, the front desk woman gave us a key of a room that was completely dirty, the bed sheets had not been changed after the last guests. The woman desk had already charged us for the room, said there was a mistake, and that she would call someone to clean the room. As it would take at least another half an hour to clean the room, we took another room available, but with 2 beds. This one was full of dust and with a bad smell. Definitely, they are not organized, the woman at the front desk was very rude and impolite, and the hotel was not clean. We were glad we slept there just one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My kids loved the place, i did not . Why? It just seemed to old and too functional. No warmth to the place and very little service. Like being in a Holiday inn. Maybe i am just used to being in a B&B, but his place was not for me.
Cheap is what you get, and the bottom line is that i would have paid more for a little place with a bit of charm to it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from SF to LA. It is in a good locatioin, but everything is old, but useful. You have to kick the door to open it, but it does have everything, in cluding refrigerator and free WiFi. The front desk man is smiless, but the lady is friendly. She helped us to open the door. The price doens't match my expectation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is not a high end hotel by any stretch; but it is cheap, friendly, clean and in a convenient location in SLO. I have found that when you begin by being polite to the employees they usually reciprocate. We found the owners to be very friendly and accomodating allowing us to use the bbq in the pool area for a "mini" 21st birthday party provided we kept it clean. It is kind of noisy since it's right on the freeway but considering the price in comparison with other accomodations in the area, it was a minor inconvenience. The rooms were clean, updated & comfortable. Maybe there are some rooms that have not been renovated but our beds & pillows were very comfy. I like a room to have a fridge & microwave, enough garbage cans, blow dryer, magnifying mirror & full length mirror. The only thing lacking were the last two. For the price, deal with it. Go to Booking.com for a good price. We stayed 2 nights & could have stayed longer with no problem. Not fancy, but perfectly fine if you want to save money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Do not waste your hard earned money here!! Absolutely horrible reception service by both a man & woman. No noise control, so I could hear everything my neighbors were doing and saying. Disgusting rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

If I could have paid $50 like another reviewer I would have given this place 2 stars. As it was they charged me $280 and it definitely is not worth any where near that. If no stars were allowed I would have rated it lower. The rooms are clean, but offer nothing after that. Cheap furniture (think Ikea on a tight budget)' small TV with poor picture, hard to access wifi, microwave perched precariously on top of mini-fridge, small bathroom with many stains ( did not use shower as it was so scary looking), lights didn't all work, right next to two all-night fast food restaurants on a busy street at the end of the freeway off ramp (heard cars noise and people talking out side window all night.) On the plus side, they have a key drop outside the office so you can drop the key off and leave real early in the morning (won't be able to sleep so might as well hit the road early.)

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#8 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Inn & Suites

Address: 404 Santa Rosa Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Luis Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your San Luis Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.