We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch on the patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novo

Novo
726 Higuera St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3513
(805) 543-3986
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad st.
Description: Set against a rich eclectic backdrop, Novo's international flavors are the leading ingredients in an exotic dining experience. Located downtown San Luis Obispo in a historic turn of the century building with spectacular creekside dining. Multi award winning restaurant for food, service and ambiance. Extensive global and local wine and beer selection. Novo easily accommodates large parties either on one of the patios in in their lower level "cellar room". A favorite with both locals and tourists, Novo is a truly a San Luis Obispo experience.
Avila Beach, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great lunch on the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I shared an excellent lunch on the patio. We giggled at the heat lamps - being from Chicago, high 50's in March is bikini weather! :P But the patio is what makes this place. It's really cute to sit out by the creek.

We each had a sandwich. I had the portobello mushroom burger and he had the salmon sandwich. Both were tasty but I thought mine was better. I also paid an extra $2 for the Salmon Bisque, which was delicious but I'm not sure it was worth the extra money. He had he mixed greens salad and the dressing that come on it was delicious. Our lunch came with little bread bites with oil and vinegar.

Service was friendly and great!

I'd love to come back for dinner and sit on the patio. I can see how the lights, delicious food and beautiful SLO breeze would make for a magical meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    275
    127
    37
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm a SLO local and ant to encourage visitors to include Novo in their itinerary. First, you'll find some of the best servers in the area. Where most local restaurants fall back on the student population, Novo is mostly all professional wait staff.

Their menu is a wonderful fusion of Asian, Indian, Southeast Asian and California cuisine. The produce is so fresh, on Thursday nights you can literally see them walking it in off the street from farmer's market.

You can't judge the restaurant from the street...walk through the restaurant to their back patio to enjoy fine dining on the creek. I have to say though that I prefer a spot in the window so I can people watch.

Their specials are usually amazing...if they have a fish special jump on it. On the main menu I strongly recommend the lavender lamb chops!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The night we could go was a Monday in winter so not so busy so we were seated outside by the river. Outdoor warmer took the chill out of the air for a really pleasant evening w/California friends. It was all good, the three course lamb special was nice but the regular menu items were the best. We will return when we return to the central California wine country, a region that does not receive the attention it merits.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“better restaurants in SLO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Crab cakes sub par, too much filler. Lamb Kefta too spicy but the setting by the creek is nice. Waitress was awesome but most likely wouldn't return

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stay for a drink, forget the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was to be our "star" dining event for this trip-turned into a nightmare! Things started alright as it was busy, our party waited 10 minutes to be seated even though we had reservations. I was delighted that they served vintage cocktails which were well made.

Once seated, the waitress was not very friendly or helpful and actually a bit rude.

The appetizers and salads came out in a timely fashion which gave us high hopes, but this was soon dashed- the entrees took an inordinate amount to arrive and when they did appear, and not surprisingly, were STONE COLD.

EVERY plate in the party had a temperature as if they'd been left sitting outside for an hour. The manager (?) came over and offered to 'warm things up' and I replied I'd rather not have the meals microwaved, which seemed to stun him and he replied, "well if we made new dishes it would take a while."

We decided we didn't want to wait any longer and suffered through a cold meal that felt as if it had been squeezed out of an Army ration pouch. The manager offered to comp a dessert, but this hardly recompensed for a ruined dining experience, and quite actually, was insulting.

Novo became the butt of jokes for the rest of the weekend and some of the greasy spoons in Pismo Beach were more enjoyable and convivial.

Will never return, which is a shame as Novo has potential- if the staff can get over themselves and receive professional help for the waitstaff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novo also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.