We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novo

Novo
726 Higuera St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3513
(805) 543-3986
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad st.
Description: Set against a rich eclectic backdrop, Novo's international flavors are the leading ingredients in an exotic dining experience. Located downtown San Luis Obispo in a historic turn of the century building with spectacular creekside dining. Multi award winning restaurant for food, service and ambiance. Extensive global and local wine and beer selection. Novo easily accommodates large parties either on one of the patios in in their lower level "cellar room". A favorite with both locals and tourists, Novo is a truly a San Luis Obispo experience.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My family and I went here last week and we could not have come away more happy. We sat outside along the creek and though the night was chilly the heaters kept us nice and warm. The overhanging trees and setting made the atmosphere extra special. All the dishes we ordered were excellent and the service was first rate as well. When we go back to San Luis Obispo you can bet we will dine here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    153
    41
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Creekside dining al fresco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food here is very good. My husband and I stopped in for dinner, and even though the evening was quite chilly, we were comfortable under the gas heaters. The menu is huge and will appeal to virtually everyone. The staff is well-trained, friendly and attentive.

The ambience here is probably the big attraction, although the food is good as well. Try it...I think you'll like it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had the Chicken breast sandwich with a cup of salmon bisque soup was very very good (same owners of Robins in Cambria,Ca) my wife had a bowl of salmon bisque,can`t wait to go back for dinner. We were able to sit outside on the deck,weather was perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
465 reviews 465 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice setting. Good Food. Spotty Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had lunch with outside seating by the very pretty creek. Extremely nice setting. Once we were acknowledged and finally served, the food was very good with adequate portions. The next challenge was getting our bill. But overall, a nice experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sunday night extravaganza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and i really enjoyed the back patio seating and atmosphere. The rack of lamb was absolutely amazing. Great food and great service. The prices were fair. We will defiantly come back and have dinner and cocktails again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novo also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.