We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - Comfortable, Quiet, and Spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Luis Creek Lodge to your Saves list
San Luis Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay - Comfortable, Quiet, and Spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The accommodations were well kept, clean, and very comfortable. In addition the room was spacious (compared to other hotels/motels) and quiet. The front and breakfast staff were very helpful. Nice breakfast with choice of scrambled eggs or waffles. Coffee (or tea) is available in your room. We would come back again.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room to avoid stairs if you have heavy suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. We are always happy to help with any information you may need for a future visit so please feel free to call with any questions you may have.

Thanks again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    99
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
197
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've stayed in a number of U.S. hotels over recent weeks and the San Luis Creek Lodge is, without doubt and by some considerable distance, the best. From the moment we checked in it was obvious that this is a hotel run by people who really know their business. The rooms are spacious, elegant and very well furnished including the largest, most comfortable sleigh bed I think we've ever slept in. The shower room facilities are excellent and the breakfast second to none, with a wide choice of cereals, dried and fresh fruit, numerous breads, a very good cooked option and copious amounts of fresh juice and hot coffee. The staff are, without exception, pleasant, capable and seemingly dedicated to the well being of their guests and you really could not ask for more. It's been suggested that the people of San Luis Obispo are the happiest in the U.S. After a night at the San Luis Creek Lodge I felt more than ready to join them. This is an example of how a hotel should be, a rare combination of class, quality and value. Certainly our favourite hotel in the U.S. and possibly anywhere. In short...simply the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Well, all I can say is thank you so much. We work very hard to provide as good a service as we possibly can here. Reviews like yours make us all very happy indeed!

Thank you so very much!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Although I went to graduate school in San Luis, I'd never stayed in a hotel there. This place was perfect - walking distance to downtown, but not one of the hundred run-of-the-mill motels. The room was well-appointed, and the shower fantastic! My only little complaint is that the bedding should have been nicer for a hotel of of this calibre. I didn't expect cheap pillows and cotton blend sheets. The staff were very warm and welcoming, and breakfast included everything you might want. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The ground floor Plantation room was almost like sleeping in a treehouse - the oaks are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it very much. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. San Luis Obispo has a lot to offer our visitors.

I have to agree with you. We are not a run of the mill establishment and I think a lot of our guests really like that. I hope the rest of your trip went very well and thanks again for your review.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We enjoyed our room at the San Luis Creek Lodge - beautifully furnished with a very comfy bed and spacious bath with a window. One complaint was the steep, narrow driveway with no turn around at the bottom - we had to back out of it in the dark with parked cars on one side and a stone wall on the other. The breakfast was lovely, but the room tiny for all the guests. You could take breakfast to your room, but there were no containers for the food - you get a tray for the dishes, which you then have to carry down that driveway! Other than the driveway/parking issues, it was a very charming hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Many thanks for writing this review on Tripadvisor. I am so happy you found your room so comfortable and attractive. In our busy season our parking lot can be pretty crowded and I really appreciate your comment about carrying trays down the driveway. We will now be providing 'to go boxes' for guests to fill and carry to their rooms as an alternative to putting plates of food on trays. So thank you for your constructive comment, it helps us to have your suggestions!

We hope you come back to see us again, and in the meantime....have a great Summer!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was hesitant at first to book because I am a big pool person and so is my family, however, we only had one night and would be getting in from a long drive down Hwy 1. When we arrived, the moment you pull into the parking lot, you get a small quaint feeling, which was nice. The gentleman who checked us in, was very helpful. He gave me recommendations of places to eat, gave us free popcorn for our movie evening in the room (my wife loves popcorn!), allowed me to choose a few movies to watch in the room for free ( I found 3 movies quickly I had never seen, that's hard to do) and we headed off to the room. When we walked in, to be honest I was some what blown away with how cool it looked. I had seen some pictures online, but compared to a normal hotel room, this is luxury. Beautiful decor, bed, bathroom, had a stone fireplace, etc. We couldn't have been much happier. The bed was VERY comfortable and large. The next morning, we went for the free breakfast and instead of the mass made semi-cold waffles, etc, they asked if you would like pancakes or waffles and if you would like eggs with it. They then cook it for you so it's hot and fresh. They also had fruit and many other things. As we were getting ready to leave, all we could think about, like other reviewers have said, was that we wished we could stay a few more nights. It was that good! I highly recommend the San Luis Creek Lodge and I made sure to tell them the next morning how happy we were before leaving. There is a reason why they are the #1 hotel in San Luis Obispo.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Londonberry I believe. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do try to add some little touches, like the updated dvd collection, to add to your experience. Our freshly prepared hot breakfast items are always a winner! We hope we have an opportunity to see you again. We are fortunate to be situated in a wonderful area with lots to offer our guests and we are always happy to assist you when planning your activities.

Have a great summer, and many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I found this Inn on TripAdvisor. I'm a travel agent and our family, as a result, is very picky about our lodging. The San Luis Creek Lodge was FABULOUS!!!!! The room was appointed with great décor, taste and comfort. The showers are amazing! We did not want to leave and were regretting only having one night at this location. The manager is top notch! We spoke with her at breakfast, which is very yummy, and she went so far as to make up a breakfast tray for my daughter, since she was still getting ready to come to breakfast. The décor in the breakfast area was so well done - just the whole atmosphere was very welcoming!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the lower floor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write these wonderful comments about our hotel. It is much appreciated! We try to make our guests as comfortable and welcome as possible and we are very happy that you and your family had such a good stay with us. We hope we get the chance to see you again in the future.

Have a great summer and thanks again.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My fiancé & I stayed Windsor Suite which was very spacious! Everything was great starting with the check in. We arrived before check in time but the lovely front desk girl Alexis informed us that our room was ready and that we could check in early. We are local and wanted to get out of town but still stay close to home so this was perfect. My fiancé and I we're celebrating our 3rd anniversary together and we asked Alexis for dinner recommendations and she recommended Novo which was excellent! We can't thank you enough! After we came back from dinner we enjoyed the amenities in the room: fireplace, jet tub and curled up and watched tv on the flat screen which was quite big. The details in the room were spot on, it felt like we were in another country. We will definitely be back because of the great hospitality and accommodations!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It means so much when guests appreciate the service we offer. I am so happy you chose to spend a special celebration here with us and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Thank you again and have a great Summer!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Luis Obispo's newest hotel ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.