We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown San Luis obispo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added San Luis Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to downtown San Luis obispo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 2/22 & 2/23. Nice room small but it had a fireplace, microwave and fridge. Only problem the fridge is next to the bed and is very noisy . Breakfast is provided they have the usual continental breakfast, but will cook eggs or waffles if you ask. This is the second time we have stayed there. About the same price as the Marriott and similar hotels,but it is walking distance to town. Would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, General Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your response. We do try to provide something a little different here with our themed buildings and individual furnishings in each room. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. I think we have a good variety of items now with our scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes and slow cooked oatmeal. If you return please call us and we will be happy to discuss all room options available for the dates you are interested in.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    89
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
172
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just stayed at the San Luis Creek Lodge as we were passing through on our way south. We spoke with Brandon upon check in who was very accommodating. We were in the first building upstairs. We walked into the room and the first thing we said was "wow, this is beautiful". Our room had an English theme. Fireplace, double sinks, comfortable beds, and an amazing breakfast. Walking distance to downtown SLO where we had a great dinner. Complimentary WiFi with easy connection. It was more than we had hoped for. We would definitely return. It's a great town with a lot of character.

Room Tip: The three separate building have different themes. From authentic to contemporary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisCreekLodge, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are fortunate to live in such a lovely part of the world. I hope you get an opportunity to stay with us again in the future. We have added a few touches to our breakfast so I am so glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierce, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

the manager (june) went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect!!!!!!
the room was very nice, and the brakefast was great!!!!
we will be comming back.....i do wish that tripadvisor did'nt make me have to use 200 characters.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisCreekLodge, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. We appreciate your taking time out of your day to let us know how your stay went. We hope to see you in the future if you are in this beautiful area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We specifically booked a King Premium Fireplace room. When we checked in, the college student running the desk assigned us to the Plantation Building. We drove to the back of the property, opened the door, and found not only no fireplace, but a very cramped room with no fireplace. I promptly called the front desk and asked if there had been a mistake. The student said that while there were fireplace rooms available our first night, the next night they were sold out. I asked that they just give us the fireplace room or provide a discount on the rate. The student said that the rooms reserved for Friday/Saturday had been reserved before ours, so that we shouldn't have been able to book the fireplace room. I said that was fine, just give us the $40 lower rate, I understand these things happen... etc. He said we were already getting a low rate and he couldn't do anything about it. I spoke to another student in charge of the desk upon checkout and they couldn't do anything about it.

Bottom line: I paid for a premium King fireplace room and got a standard king. To add insult to injury, the "free" wi-fi in the plantation building does not work. I had to go up to the front office to use the wi-fi to complete a work assignment. The front desk clerk said their IT guy "might" be in the next day (after I had spent 2 days without connectivity).

I dutifully filled out the survey card upon leaving, but more than a month later, I have heard nothing from the management/owners. It was probably thrown in the trash...... Wouldn't stay here again as I did not get what I paid for.

Room Tip: Plantation building while nice, does not get wi-fi on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisCreekLodge, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I took over management of San Luis Creek Lodge in January. I can only apologize for the issues and resolve to stop them from happening again. Your information is very valuable to me and I will ensure that I deal with these shortcomings. You seemed to be more than reasonable and again I can only apologize. We have fixed our internet problem and it will be my mission to ensure that guest's expectations are fulfilled in the future. Should you wish to speak to me at any time I would be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I travel to SLO for business at least once a month and always stay at this quaint B&B. My company found this property for me online, and from my first stay I fell in love with it. Their rooms are set up like a European B&B with the latest U.S. amenities. Roomy showers, two sink powder room, comfy beds and some rooms even feature a fireplace.

Their breakfast is always prepared fresh. Try their waffles, with real maple syrup! The breakfast selection can use some fresh fruit, but otherwise totally beats any continental b-fast at a chain hotel.

There is no business center, but the front desk is accommodating for light print jobs. For business people who arrive late, the lock-box is particularly convenient. Look forward to enjoying the serenity of the property on a personal holiday sometime!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back building are awesome. The second floor even has a small patio in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisCreekLodge, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really do appreciate it. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We have been serving fresh grapefruit recently along with the other fruits and for your information we also have a 'to go" breakfast option now which may be useful for you if you are ever a little short of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this lodge 12/27-29, 2012. We were surprised with the layout upon driving up. Very crowded with 3 buildings on this small strip of land. There is only one way in and one way out. We stayed at the Plantation lodge which the last building in the back. The room was nicely decorated but the bed was uncomfortable, the pillows flat and the lighting poor. At breakfast there was no room to sit, very small area. Once seated the rolls were gone, juice & milk warm and we were not told we could order waffles & eggs to cook. When we did finally order eggs they were brought on a saucer plate. After a visit to Bishops Peak we came back to damp towels in the room. For the price we paid we should have had better not to mention the website pictures are misleading. We will not be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not a chain, so if you are hoping for free stays this is not for you. However, breakfast is delicious, rooms are spacious, intricately designed, and clean. The price is very reasonable for what you get. And the WiFi is ACTUALLY fast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Luis Obispo's newest hotel ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.