We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn - recommended by Rough Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Luis Creek Lodge to your Saves list
San Luis Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great inn - recommended by Rough Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during our recent trip to California after seeing that it was listed as a recommended place to stay in the Rough Guide.
We got our room at a great discounted price thanks to some bartering by my husband but the room was definitely worth the $159 that we should have paid.
The room was really well presented with an extremely large and comfortable bed. Quality bed linens and furnishings. Coffee maker in a room is always a bonus! Bathroom was also of a good size.
A good breakfast was provided in the inn's breakfast room. It was continental style and there was plenty to choose from. We were also offered scrambled eggs and waffles.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    94
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
46
185
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you can deal with less than stellar customer service, want a place that's not your typical Marriott or Hilton, and don't mind weird interior design, try it!

The office crew looks to be a bunch of college kids running the front office. There is no one there at night. There doesn't seem to be much communication from one shift to the next, which ended up being incredibly frustrating.

When we checked in, we heard this non-stop loud gurgling noise that sounded like a bathtub draining on the floor above us. It sounded like we were in the pipe! I called the gal at the check in desk, and she said, "You are here for 3 days...I think you should move to another room." I asked about just having someone come and see if it was fixable, but the "handyman" was off that day. I went back to the office, and was given a key to look at another room. I walked in, and it had not been cleaned. I went back, the girl apologized, and after consulting her computer screen, gave me a different key. That room was either not cleaned, or the occupant was still there (the TV was on, the bed had been slept in, and the light was on in the bathroom with the door closed.) Again, she apologized, and was not really sure what to do. (The cleaning folks were gone, too...)

I said we'd keep the room we had, and asked her to just have someone look at the gurgling issue. She said she would, and we never heard another word from anyone about it. In fact, I couldn't ever get any information on whether anyone had even looked into the issue. The gurgling continued to be an issue for the 3 nights we were there, but I turned on a white noise program on my phone, and we slept just fine.

This property is made up of 3 themed buildings. We stayed in the Craftsman building. The king bed was comfy, but the room was very full of furniture. Fortunately, it was a spacious room, so there was room for our luggage on the floor. The additional rooms I checked out were in the Londonderry building, and the rooms looked very dark and cramped to me. The Plantation building was supposedly fully booked during our stay, but I never saw more than one car parked there....although there WAS an HVAC company truck parked back there every day....????

On the plus side, the breakfast was good. The breakfast room is nothing fancy, in fact...well, let's just say they could use a professional interior decorator that has experience in the hospitality business.

I'm not sure about this place. It has some corny charm, but surely there are better places to stay in SLO....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Half way from SF to LA via the PCH, we decided to stay overnight here. Squeezed in between a Best Western and Super 8 motel, the location is a bit odd. However, rooms were comfortable although attempts to put everything in room, like microwave and fridge yielded a mis-matched and cluttered appearance. Beds were comfortable and shower great. Timed "heat-lamp" light near shower had non-heat bulb:odd. Biggest complaint was the included b'fast. Although they did make either waffles or scrambled eggs to order, conspicuously missing was any fresh fruit. In the heart of California farm country this is inexcusable. Suggestion to management: drop the meal, lower the price and just call yourself a motel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The breakfast is great. The rooms are good sized but way overdone. The staff is incredibly helpful. Good one night stop on a Rt 1 road trip on a street full of motels and a short distance from the downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A few years back when my oldest daughter was at Cal Poly, I stayed here frequently. I recently came back to visit San Luis Obispo with my youngest daughter & wasn't as thrilled as my previous stays. We tried to check in a little early (1 hour) as my daughter wasn't feeling well & nothing was ready (Check in is not until 4) Although the rooms are nice & the breakfast in the morning is a nice amenity, I think they need to overhaul their check-in process & double check that their rooms are ready & nothing is missing. We did not have a "do not disturb" sign & were disturbed a few times. The light in the hallway did not work & it was pitch black trying to navigate the stairway at night! Our room made a loud noise when the air conditioner is turned on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My mother and I came across this gem of a hotel while traveling to Southern California. It is centrally located within walking distance of town among a number of other hotels. I physically checked out 5 local hotels (all within a $10 price variance) along this section of hotels and was blown away by the difference. While this hotel does not look like much from the front it was fabulous. Each of the 3 buildings (all with a differnt theme) is virtually new and extreamly fresh. We had a room with a stone faced fireplace. Some rooms have a view of the mountains. The staff was very helpful, knowledgable and curtious. If you are looking for a place to stay in SLO this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the San Luis Creek Inn. This hotel has a unique arrangement, in a row of otherwise unremarkable hotels. We stayed in the craftsmen building, and unlike other reviewers we did not hear street noise. Our room had charcter, it was far from the typical motel room you'd finding in any of the neighboring places, it had bay windows, was nicely furnished, with craftsmen style furniture and accents such as lamps. We had a nice mini fridge (not mini bar), microwave and coffee pot. The room included nice extra touches, original artwork on the walls, umbrellas and night lights in the bathroom. The room did not have the motel-smell I am sure you'd finding in many of the other places along "motel row" in SLO. The breakfast was a cut above other chain hotels we've stayed in, a variety of breakfast bread and muffins were available and scrambled eggs or fresh waffles could be ordered. The dining room was charming, every table different, bay windows looking out to the street, and interestingly, I heard several different languages being spoken by the breakfast guests! The hotel is nicely located for visiting the University-the purpose of our visit. Ice water with lemons was available in the lobby, a touch I appreciated so I could fill my water bottle!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Luis Obispo's newest hotel ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.