We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added San Luis Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Half way from SF to LA via the PCH, we decided to stay overnight here. Squeezed in between a Best Western and Super 8 motel, the location is a bit odd. However, rooms were comfortable although attempts to put everything in room, like microwave and fridge yielded a mis-matched and cluttered appearance. Beds were comfortable and shower great. Timed "heat-lamp" light near shower had non-heat bulb:odd. Biggest complaint was the included b'fast. Although they did make either waffles or scrambled eggs to order, conspicuously missing was any fresh fruit. In the heart of California farm country this is inexcusable. Suggestion to management: drop the meal, lower the price and just call yourself a motel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    89
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
172
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The breakfast is great. The rooms are good sized but way overdone. The staff is incredibly helpful. Good one night stop on a Rt 1 road trip on a street full of motels and a short distance from the downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A few years back when my oldest daughter was at Cal Poly, I stayed here frequently. I recently came back to visit San Luis Obispo with my youngest daughter & wasn't as thrilled as my previous stays. We tried to check in a little early (1 hour) as my daughter wasn't feeling well & nothing was ready (Check in is not until 4) Although the rooms are nice & the breakfast in the morning is a nice amenity, I think they need to overhaul their check-in process & double check that their rooms are ready & nothing is missing. We did not have a "do not disturb" sign & were disturbed a few times. The light in the hallway did not work & it was pitch black trying to navigate the stairway at night! Our room made a loud noise when the air conditioner is turned on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My mother and I came across this gem of a hotel while traveling to Southern California. It is centrally located within walking distance of town among a number of other hotels. I physically checked out 5 local hotels (all within a $10 price variance) along this section of hotels and was blown away by the difference. While this hotel does not look like much from the front it was fabulous. Each of the 3 buildings (all with a differnt theme) is virtually new and extreamly fresh. We had a room with a stone faced fireplace. Some rooms have a view of the mountains. The staff was very helpful, knowledgable and curtious. If you are looking for a place to stay in SLO this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the San Luis Creek Inn. This hotel has a unique arrangement, in a row of otherwise unremarkable hotels. We stayed in the craftsmen building, and unlike other reviewers we did not hear street noise. Our room had charcter, it was far from the typical motel room you'd finding in any of the neighboring places, it had bay windows, was nicely furnished, with craftsmen style furniture and accents such as lamps. We had a nice mini fridge (not mini bar), microwave and coffee pot. The room included nice extra touches, original artwork on the walls, umbrellas and night lights in the bathroom. The room did not have the motel-smell I am sure you'd finding in many of the other places along "motel row" in SLO. The breakfast was a cut above other chain hotels we've stayed in, a variety of breakfast bread and muffins were available and scrambled eggs or fresh waffles could be ordered. The dining room was charming, every table different, bay windows looking out to the street, and interestingly, I heard several different languages being spoken by the breakfast guests! The hotel is nicely located for visiting the University-the purpose of our visit. Ice water with lemons was available in the lobby, a touch I appreciated so I could fill my water bottle!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good points - spacious room, double sinks in bathroom, continental breakfast (but go down the street to Splash Cafe for good coffee!)

Bad points - Room and bathroom are dark, blinds were broken, uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It doesn't not look like much from the street because it sits between two other large motels but once you get inside your room it is super. Great value for the price. Very comfortable bed, good shower, good cable TV, soft towels, quiet rooms, everything I was hoping for in a motel. We usually stay in a bed and breakfast when we travel. We stayed in the building with an English theme and the furnishings featured beams on the ceilings, four poster bed, etc. it was a clean place. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Luis Obispo's newest hotel ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.