We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible customer service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Luis Creek Lodge to your Saves list
San Luis Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
whistler
1 review
“terrible customer service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We usually go to the effort of searching out a quaint bed and breakfast because we like to support small family run businesses and we also particularly like the "breakfast" portion of the stay because they are usually such a treat and so well done.
We were told upon checking in that breakfast would be served until 10am the next morning yet when we arrived at 9:40 the next morning we were told that breakfast was over at 9:30 and we had missed it by 10 minutes. When we explained that we were told by the front desk at check-in that the breakfast was over at 10:00 we just got a shoulder shrug and a sorry. There was no offer for a simple bowl of cereal or toast, not even a cup of tea. We were obviously annoyed yet there was no effort to ease the situation. Stunned at the lack of service we went back to the room to make our own tea and realized there wasn't any available in the room, other than one packet of decaf camomile... which we think this is pretty weak for a british themed bed and breakfast.
When we checked out very shortly after, only because we were starving and frustrated and needed to forage for food now, the same girl was at the front desk. She didn't bother to ask "how was your stay?" or apologize for the incident, only a quick goodbye and at this point we were too irritated and hungry to bother expressing our issue again. Lets just say that this led to a few hours of scrambling around an unfamiliar city trying to find parking and a decent cafe to spend more cash on to get a meal when we had already paid a premium for at our "bed and breakfast" and we were already late for the road trip we had planned. I know this is such a simple thing, but it put such a bad taste in our mouth and really set a bad tone for the rest of our day.
We spend several months of the year travelling and booking many accommodations and this is the first time we felt so aggravated as to write a review. I only gave this place 2 stars because the rooms are quite nice. But as i feel most people desire to stay at a true B&B, it's the personal touches and quaint service that makes them worthwhile. I recommend you skip this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisCreekLodge, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We feel terribly about this experience! It is our hope that every guest enjoys their time with us. Unfortunately, this one slipped past us as we have been in transition of new management, new employees and new policies. Excellent customer service is something we strive for and we are diligently working on. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make you feel well taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    95
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
190
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a ground floor king room in the Plantation building (the Antigua room I think). The room was spacious with a fireplace, side chairs and a desk. It also had a mini fridge, good size shower, and double sinks in the bathroom. Daily cleaning was well done, though there was some "deep cleaning" tasks in our room - like the vent fan in the bathroom - that hadn't been done in awhile. Bed was very comfortable, and we appreciated the in room DVD player and newer model tv. Only major drawback is that there seems to be very little sound proofing between the first and second floors - you can hear nearly everything in the room above and it's made worse by the jacuzzi tubs in the upstairs rooms. It also doesn't help that the hallways are all tile, you can really hear people coming and going at night! So pray you have good neighbors. We also enjoyed the provided continental breakfast each morning, though the breakfast room is a little small for the number of rooms this property has.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I always wanted to stay at San Luis Creek Lodge after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor. My daughters both attend Cal Poly, so I make frequent trips to San Luis Obispo and have stayed at many hotels in town. Recently we booked 2 nights in the Craftsman building (2 queens for ~$250/night), and were a little disappointed. The service was good, although we preferred the afternoon/evening staff to the morning. The room was well furnished and comfortable, but was showing some age and had very dim lighting. The bathroom was large and beautiful, but there was a constant noise that sounded like water in the pipes - we thought it was coming from the Best Western pool next door. The property is very small and parking was always a challenge. There is no pool or jacuzzi, and the fitness center consisted of a treadmill and bike located in the main building upstairs in full view of the dining area, with very little ventilation. Breakfast was good, with fresh baked pastries, juice, coffee, sausage, dry cereal, and eggs made to order. We were encouraged to bring our food back to the room since the dining room was very small, but it was difficult juggling the heavy plates, drinking glasses, and silverware on the tray. I would recommend providing lightweight paper goods as an option. I believe San Luis Creek Lodge is intended for couples as a romantic getaway, (although for $250/night I would expect a hot tub and better view). For us, we prefer accommodations with more amenities (and less cost) and will stick with the Quality Suites or Holiday Inn for future visits to SLO. One note: my husband noticed a charge on our VISA card to 'Aung San' which made him suspicious and he almost cancelled our credit card. I checked with the front desk and found out that the owner's name is Aung O'o. I would recommend specifying San Luis Creek Lodge on the credit card statement.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

As a real life English person, I find it amusing when I go to themed "English" places here in the US. They are almost always nothing like England! This place was English themed, the room we stayed in was made to look like some kind of medieval castle, with tapestries on the walls and a grand fireplace. Overall, it wasn't as cringe-worthy as most themed places, although it was verging on Disney-esque. So, despite the strange theming which is a personal preference, the hotel itself was immaculately clean, the room spacious and the breakfast satisfactory. I don't necessarily think I would stay here again, but I have no reason not to recommend it to others. The only note I would make is to the owners - the Faux-English block of rooms has been misnamed: Londonderry is in Northern Ireland...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in Plantation 606. We had booked 3 nights to celebrate my husbands Birthday -Room was lovely. Back window was open to green "creek" area, so we could leave it open and still have privacy.
BE AWARE: This property is sandwiched in between two other hotels! There really is no open space and hardly any view to speak of. Parking is very difficult if the hotel is full. No pool. Breakfast room is very small and cramped. My advice:
If you are in San Luis, there are so many lovely locations with much better ambiance.! If I could have cancelled and rebooked somewhere else, I would have Do not settle for San Luis Creek Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before you check in. The vary wildly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisCreekLodge, General Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. We are always happy to make improvements in the areas where we are able. One of our most recent endeavors is to create a more functional space in our dining room by rearranging our buffet tables and to upgrade our seating arrangements. We hope the next time you visit San Luis Obispo, you will want to experience our little piece of luxury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

5 of us stayed three nights in 2 rooms and really loved our experience.

Room 1: King bed, large bathroom, fireplace, large TV, rocking chair. 5 of us hung out there each evening to watch TV and it was smallish but AOK for us. My dad has a very hard time walking any distance, so it was perfect that he could park the car right out in front of this room and be in the door 10 steps later.

Room 2: 2 queen beds, two large chairs, tons of space, very large bathroom / washing area. Our boys hooked up their x-box, the flat screen TV was great, we had a fireplace (fake as is the other one).

I don't eat breakfast, just drink coffee. Their coffee is very weak, but that's why I bring my own. The breakfast made everyone happy - different breads, rolls, morning cake-type things, sausage, eggs, juice, milk, cereal, fruit.

The staff was very kind and called right away when they thought we'd left a power cord in the room and offered to mail it to us (turns out it wasn't ours). This hotel is located near almost all the others - right across from Sands Inn, easy drive or 20 min walk downtown.

We'd definitely stay here again. We got a AAA discount which helped a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nicely decorated with homey touches like hot chocolate, tea or coffee in your room. Large bathroom, flat screen tv and fireplace! Comfy bed. Great breakfast!

Room Tip: No elevator so you have to lug your luggage up the stairs if you are on the second floor. Stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Luis Obispo's newest hotel ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.