We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery

Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery
1491 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2925 (Formerly Famous Splash Cafe)
805-544-7759
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 255 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Splash Cafe ~ Artisan Bakery is located in San Luis Obispo, CA. In 2005, we opened this second location in San Luis Obispo and expanded to include an artisan bakery too! The bakery features artisan breads, pastries & desserts baked fresh daily. Each item from the bakery is carefully created and guaranteed to delight your senses.The café has a larger selection of salads and specialty sandwiches as well as signature ‘sun pizzas’! Come and enjoy!
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good for the budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When you enter this place, you are surrounded by smart college kids (adults). It is very busy but not noisy. The place is a bit small but not uncomfortable. The service was good and food came quickly. The quality of food is not bad. I tried the famous clam chowder in a bread bowl, the bread was really nice but chowder was a bit too salty to my liking. I also ordered garden salad, it was fresh & good. My husband ordered fish and chip, not bad.

Satisfied overall.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    72
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
slo life
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“the reason they call it Famous Splash Cafe...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

the reason they call it Famous Splash Cafe...Consistently good , fresh food,. Try their famous chowder, super! Their fresh made, onsite, bakery, oh yeah, that's what I'm talking about! I have had swordfish sandwich, on special, mmmmmm GOOD!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I like to make it over to here for breakfast when I can. Its the best for your buck, and you can usually avoid some of the downtown foot-traffic since its down Monterrey a bit. I often order their grilled cheese sandwiches (What can I say? I'm a child at heart!) and they are delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder Bowl!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great clam chowder in a sour dough bowl. Thick and creamy with large chunks of clams. Your spoon will stand up in this chowder!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Been to the one in Pismo several times so decided to I would give the Splash Cafe in SLO a try. I liked the decor of the interior and the seating area is nicer then the restaurant in Pismo. They also have a yummy bakery. Love the Bread Bowl with the seafood topping!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.