We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...and Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciopinot

Ciopinot
1051 Nipomo St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93403
(805) 547 - 1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Northern California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good...and Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a classy seafood restaurant with a lively bar scene. The menu selections are ample, but everything is very pricey. The fish was delicious, but there are places in town with equally good fish at half the price.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    37
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Let me start off by saying we found this restaurant by accident and walked in on a busy Saturday night and they still sat us! The best place to sit is outside, even on a chilly coastal evening the heaters keep you warm! The server was a little odd, but the food was so fabulous that the service really did not matter much. We had the oysters and the stuffed shrimp appetizers! I recommend them both! The food was to die for and the wine was great! We had the Fisherman’s plate, the Mediterranean scallops, the cioppino and the Sea Bass. All of which we got to share and LOVED! The best part was probably the desserts! We ate the chocolate mousse, the crème Brule and the Butterfinger ice cream cake! The Butterfinger cake is a MUST!!! This restaurant is casual or elegant depending on your mood! It is a San Luis must do!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ambience and food were good. My husband loved the clam chowder. My PEI mussels were tastey, but lukewarm. The blueberry cobbler was great. The wait staff was over attentive and basically trying too hard. Prices seemed a bit steep and there was an element of pretension that made our evening something less than excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in San Luis Obispo and stopped in for dinner at Ciopinot's. I could not say anything bad as the food and service were wonderful and we hope to return one day soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great food, good for large parties, fab wine list, the owner is charming and friendly, the service is great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciopinot also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ciopinot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciopinot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.