We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciopinot

Ciopinot
1051 Nipomo St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93403
(805) 547 - 1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ambience and food were good. My husband loved the clam chowder. My PEI mussels were tastey, but lukewarm. The blueberry cobbler was great. The wait staff was over attentive and basically trying too hard. Prices seemed a bit steep and there was an element of pretension that made our evening something less than excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    126
    33
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in San Luis Obispo and stopped in for dinner at Ciopinot's. I could not say anything bad as the food and service were wonderful and we hope to return one day soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great food, good for large parties, fab wine list, the owner is charming and friendly, the service is great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best in Downtown S.L.O.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We are locals and this is our favorite restaurant in the Downtown. Most of their fish is locally caught and delivered from the restaurants pier market in Port San Luis. All the dishes are great. The seafood fettuccine is one our favorites. Try the crab cakes and Ciopinot stock. The service at this restaurant is outstanding and the staff very friendly. Most nights the owner or his son are working. Always a nice touch. The great bonus to this restaurant is no corkage fee for wine. Very much appreciated.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food no corkage fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great food - best feature, they do not charge a corkage fee. If you are a wine drinker this can be huge.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciopinot also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ciopinot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciopinot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.