We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciopinot

Ciopinot
1051 Nipomo St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93403
(805) 547 - 1111
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a find! Great food and a variety of menu selections. Bonus: bring in a local wine and there's no corkage fee. Aching for a wonderful dessert? Be sure to try the blueberry crisp!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    116
    27
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ciopinot is the second restaurant the owner has opened in the area. It is FABULOUS!

Aside from having great ambience and beautiful interior architecture, the place specializes in (can you guess?) Pinot Noir and seafood. The list of Pinots is endless! There is one for every taste and budget. And they offer many by the glass.

We ordered the Cioppino with crab. WOW! No shells to deal with, and it is the best I've ever had. The seafood was plentiful, the broth is so good it could definitely stand alone as a soup, and everything was perfectly cooked and seasoned. It arrived at the table steaming hot, and delicious!

Our other entry was a fish special...a Sea Bass that was phenomenal as well! It was somehow crispy on the outside, and perfectly cooked (moist, not overdone...just perfect!) and had a sweet/sour sauce. Really, really good!

Our server told us the blueberry cobbler was not to be missed, but we were so full, we had to come back the next night. She was right! It was incredible! The best cobble either of us has ever had! A nice cinnamon note, lots of berries, and a great ice cream beside.

Cannot wait to get back to Ciopinot. What an impressive meal. And very moderately priced to boot!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Second trip not so hot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wrote a review last visit stating that it was the best in SLO. What a disappointment last month, on a Tuesday night. My son had the seafood appetizer again and hardly ate it. Overly salty and to much smoke flavor. I had an Alfredo seafood dish that was salty and too thick. It was a bit disgusting actually. I cook well and this dish was not complicated yet disappointed. The specials were the same as the last time we came. So, not as high on my list anymore. Consistency is tough to find in SLO at the top end

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is not a Mexican restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I am sure this is a fine restaurant, but should not come up under "Mexican/Southwestern", as it is neither.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN LUIS OBISPO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eat here often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is great that a good restaurant finally went in to this convenient and attractive spot. We like the patio best, even on a cool night the covering and heat lamps keep it nice. Even though I am not a big fish fan, I always find something great on the menu. They serve some of the better salads in town.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciopinot also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ciopinot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciopinot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.