We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM YUM YUM!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciopinot

Ciopinot
1051 Nipomo St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93403
(805) 547 - 1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ciopinot is the second restaurant the owner has opened in the area. It is FABULOUS!

Aside from having great ambience and beautiful interior architecture, the place specializes in (can you guess?) Pinot Noir and seafood. The list of Pinots is endless! There is one for every taste and budget. And they offer many by the glass.

We ordered the Cioppino with crab. WOW! No shells to deal with, and it is the best I've ever had. The seafood was plentiful, the broth is so good it could definitely stand alone as a soup, and everything was perfectly cooked and seasoned. It arrived at the table steaming hot, and delicious!

Our other entry was a fish special...a Sea Bass that was phenomenal as well! It was somehow crispy on the outside, and perfectly cooked (moist, not overdone...just perfect!) and had a sweet/sour sauce. Really, really good!

Our server told us the blueberry cobbler was not to be missed, but we were so full, we had to come back the next night. She was right! It was incredible! The best cobble either of us has ever had! A nice cinnamon note, lots of berries, and a great ice cream beside.

Cannot wait to get back to Ciopinot. What an impressive meal. And very moderately priced to boot!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    37
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Second trip not so hot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wrote a review last visit stating that it was the best in SLO. What a disappointment last month, on a Tuesday night. My son had the seafood appetizer again and hardly ate it. Overly salty and to much smoke flavor. I had an Alfredo seafood dish that was salty and too thick. It was a bit disgusting actually. I cook well and this dish was not complicated yet disappointed. The specials were the same as the last time we came. So, not as high on my list anymore. Consistency is tough to find in SLO at the top end

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is not a Mexican restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I am sure this is a fine restaurant, but should not come up under "Mexican/Southwestern", as it is neither.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN LUIS OBISPO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eat here often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is great that a good restaurant finally went in to this convenient and attractive spot. We like the patio best, even on a cool night the covering and heat lamps keep it nice. Even though I am not a big fish fan, I always find something great on the menu. They serve some of the better salads in town.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Did not measure up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After several wineries recommended this place, my husband and I tried it for dinner. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and the service attentive, but the food was mediocre. Many dishes were deep fried and for a seafood restaurant, the menu was lacking in fresh fish options that were grilled. My sea bass was a disappointment. My husband's Italian Ciopinot was better but nothing spectacular. The stuffed prawns the hostess recommended were deep fried and dry and
$16 fior 4 small pieces. There is no wine corkage which is great but I would prefer to pay a corkage and get a better quality meal. I would not recommend this restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciopinot also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ciopinot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciopinot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.