We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and reasonably priced as well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Padres Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Los Padres Motel to your Saves list
Los Padres Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1575 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice place and reasonably priced as well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We all think it is a very nice place , nothing extremely fancy but clean and comfy and less than $100 for the night, very worth the cost and would stay here again if ever back in this area . If your looking for a nice place to rest than I we recommend the place for you

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
21
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our room had dirty cushions on the chairs, mold on the shower door, paint peeling off the wall in the bathroom and a badly worn heater grill. I would recommend you not stay there. It's worth about $50 a night, not $200. Please tell your friends. The bed was hard as a rock.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is the worst most overpriced motel we have ever stayed in. Over $200 for a small, old, dingy room with a creaky bed, no A/C, noisy fan, falling apart shower and slow internet speed. It may be worth more like $95.

Room Tip: Carefully select other nearby motels that are higher quality for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were visiting for only one night.
The motel is authentic, and located in a lovely area, close to several restaurants, cafes and city downtown.
Smoking is allowed in the middle of the parking area, with nice table & bench setting (other places will send you outside the premises to smoke).
The room was basic, but clean and nice and the shower was great.
The host was really nice and friendly, took care of our needs and gave many tips for the area.
Thank you :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Living a bit of a gypsy lifestyle I was in need of a place to call home for a few days.Traveling solo this space is safe, clean, affordable, family owned & operated, and conveniently located to downtown San Louis Obispo and the 101. I will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The porch light was unable to be switched off at night which caused the room to be a bit bright. Per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a convenient and affordable hotel in SLO , this is a good choice. Rooms are clean, bed is comfortable and the hotel is easy to find. There is even a coffee shop adjacent to Los Padres to help you jumpstart your day's adventures. I've stayed here twice and will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I think a lot of the negative reviews stem from people who paid high prices on some "special" Cal Poly weekend and/or who are used to more Four-Seasons-y accomodation. I use tripadvisor a lot to find basic, non-chain motels and hotels when I am road-tripping. For that purpose, this place was great. I stayed here for one night when there was nothing special going on at the University. Walked in, got a great price (lower than online) and a nice room. There were some spots that could use fresh paint and the like, but it was clean and smelled good and comfortable. Guy at front desk (owner I think) was very nice and easy to deal with. Most important it was comfortable walking distance to food, downtown and the like. And per previous reviews there is a good, comfortable coffee shop next door so the morning caffeine fix has been easy. I'd probably be less positive too if I'd paid $200 for the room, but I paid less than $100 and it was a good deal on that basis.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Padres Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Padres Motel

Address: 1575 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Padres Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Los Padres Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Padres Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Padres Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.