We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good home base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Padres Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Los Padres Motel to your Saves list
Los Padres Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1575 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good home base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Living a bit of a gypsy lifestyle I was in need of a place to call home for a few days.Traveling solo this space is safe, clean, affordable, family owned & operated, and conveniently located to downtown San Louis Obispo and the 101. I will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The porch light was unable to be switched off at night which caused the room to be a bit bright. Per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
15
22
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you are looking for a convenient and affordable hotel in SLO , this is a good choice. Rooms are clean, bed is comfortable and the hotel is easy to find. There is even a coffee shop adjacent to Los Padres to help you jumpstart your day's adventures. I've stayed here twice and will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I think a lot of the negative reviews stem from people who paid high prices on some "special" Cal Poly weekend and/or who are used to more Four-Seasons-y accomodation. I use tripadvisor a lot to find basic, non-chain motels and hotels when I am road-tripping. For that purpose, this place was great. I stayed here for one night when there was nothing special going on at the University. Walked in, got a great price (lower than online) and a nice room. There were some spots that could use fresh paint and the like, but it was clean and smelled good and comfortable. Guy at front desk (owner I think) was very nice and easy to deal with. Most important it was comfortable walking distance to food, downtown and the like. And per previous reviews there is a good, comfortable coffee shop next door so the morning caffeine fix has been easy. I'd probably be less positive too if I'd paid $200 for the room, but I paid less than $100 and it was a good deal on that basis.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Drove in late and were given a nice room at a great rate. We were delighted to wake up and find a lovely town with good shops and cafés within easy reach and so had a tasty bagel and good cup of leaf tea under the orange tree in the courtyard/car park of the motel. Friendly, accommodating staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stopped into San Luis Obispo without a reservation on our way south to Anaheim. Worst thing was it was parents weekend at Cal Poly and most hotel rooms were booked. We checked at the Holiday Inn because TripAdvisor app said there were rooms for $119 but when we got there they only had one room for $191. We moved on. Los Padres showed vacancies on TripAdvisor app and when we stopped it was $10 less so we stayed. Room was old and small, but we slept well and it was walking distance to a beautiful downtown. Only stayed one night. I'd stay again but only if we couldn't find other choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The motel is definitely older but I knew that going in. This establishment is pretty close to the 101 so getting in and out wasn't a problem. Plus, there are many restaurants that are easily accessible by walking so I think this place was good for a short visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

OMG. By far the worst motel I've ever seen. Based on the earlier review we booked here. So overpriced for such a crappy place. Dirty, run down, noisy, paper thin walls, disgusting bathroom. Do not book and waste your money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Los Padres Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Padres Motel

Address: 1575 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Padres Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Los Padres Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Padres Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Padres Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.