We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and reasonable value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Padres Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Los Padres Motel to your Saves list
Los Padres Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1575 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nice location and reasonable value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. We did not have a reservation and the lady at the checkin was friendly and helpful. We checked out the room and decided to stay. The cost was reasonable.

We were close enough to walk downtown, which was a consideration for us.

The room was small but it was clean. The beds were comfortable and the place was quiet.

There was no coffee maker in the room and that would be a good addition.

This is an older property but it has been kept up, it is clean and has a good location.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to see the rooms first to ensure it meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
20
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Here and There
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My experience there was the best... Their location is a short walk to downtown SLO... And the Thursday Night Farmer's Market or take the "Trolley" when it's running... Couple of places to eat not a hundred yards away... Great Mexican food and happy hour even closer... The Motel is somewhat Vintage... Like a good wine... However... The rooms are clean and more then adequate with a mini-fridge and microwave...They have very fast Wifi...Considering the location... The Motel is a real value for SLO... The staff was very attentive to my needs and always helpful... I'm retired and travel a lot and found myself returning to this quaint little Inn any time I was in town... The Motel is comparatively small and I enjoyed the Court Style layout of the Spanish Style Architecture... I don't normally write reviews but just wanted to let the next guy know that you can get more bang for your buck at Los Padres Inn in San Luis Obispo...Aka SLO...

Room Tip: I enjoy staying in the rooms in the corner in the back of the Motel... They have carports that make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

For 71 US Dollars a night, I was expecting breakfast but the hotel does not have breakfast available. The room was clean and quiet. When I asked about the internet connection, the employee said the code for access would be on the telephone in the room but it wasn't. I coudn't be bothered to go back to reception and ask again as it was late at night. The location was okay. It's about a 10 minute walk from most restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great little hotel, not far from the town centre of San Luis Obispo. Arrived on a Thurs evening and we were able to make it to the farmers market which was a highlight, great food and great atmosphere in the main street. Our room rate was cheap and it was clean and comfortable. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful and we would certainly recommend this motel to any of our friends and family. There is also a great place to eat breakfast right next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This little motel has a cheery blue and terracotta exterior with charming touches like hand-painted tiles and courtyard fountain. Staff member was not cordial over the phone, but very friendly in person. Our rate was cheap ($85) and the room size reflected that -- very small but adequate. Great location, but street traffic was noisy. Little drawbacks were annoying: burnt out lightbulb, very tiny bars of soap, no liner for ice bucket (we were told they were washed daily instead), and the hot water sink faucet was ridiculously loose. All in all, a good price but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Room was clean but dated. Appeared to have been decorated recently. Thin curtains did not keep out the light. The view from both windows in the room was awful a wall from one and a wall and a rusted car out of the other! On a positive note was not too long a walk in to San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Firstly I'd heartily recommend this hotel simply for great value and for being a quick walk to downtown San Luis. The rooms are humble but charming and clean. The manager was extremely helpful and reassuring with a problem I had (which had nothing to do with the motel). There simply isn't anything to complain about the Los Padres Motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Padres Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Padres Motel

Address: 1575 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Padres Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Los Padres Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Padres Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Padres Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.