We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for the breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peach Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Peach Tree Inn to your Saves list
Peach Tree Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2001 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great except for the breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed in this motel several times. It is quiet, clean and well kept. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The whole property has a friendly welcoming atmosphere. The bed was comfortable and the room well appointed. The only disappointment was breakfast. There used to be home made breads that you cut yourself which made that fact that toast was the main breakfast seem special. Now, not so much. I did enjoy the fresh strawberries. Otherwise cereal an muffins. It is kind of funny, on the website they show three "chefs" in tall white hats serving breakfast. I'm not sure if they supposedly put the pre-sliced bread in the toaster for you or what. Otherwise, I do like the place.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back. It is quieter and a friendlier atsmophere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    182
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
88
207
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I really don't have anything to add to the review I gave of the Peach Tree Inn from our first stay two years ago.

This motel is very pretty, in a quiet (but close) part of town, basic but homely, clean and safe and very, very good value. And the staff are great.

After two stays now I would still have no hesitation is recommending the Peach Tree Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is an old fashioned motel, no doubt dating back to when Monterrey St. was highway 101. It has, however, been lovingly maintained and upgraded appropriately.
A farmhouse style building and a dozen or so rooms face the street. The 'house' is the office and contains the breakfast area. Behind the house are several more building containing more rooms. At the back of the lot are the "Creekside" rooms. While all the rooms are adequate the creekside rooms have a sitting area and each has a private porch overlooking San Luis Obispo Creek.
Finally there is a grassy area with a huge eucalyptus and a swing, an excellent complementary breakfast, and exceptionally nice people.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia M, Guest Relations Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your stay and your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The peach tree inn is easily accessable to the freeway and was very easy to spot. We were given a room just down the hill from the office (i don't recall the number) You are asked to park your vehicle in front of your room. I tried to meet that request, but the spot was on an incline and I drive a manual transmission. When I asked the front desk attendant if I could park elsewhere or be moved rooms, he suggested I back in!

The room itself was just OK. The paint color was a strident yellow that clashed with the bedspread and the pastel pink bathroom.... but hey, I couldn't see it with my eyes closed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia M, Guest Relations Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and alert us to a shortfall in our guest service. I have shared your review with my staff and stressed the importance of accommodating every guest to the best of our ability. Regarding the parking space, our hotel is built on a hill and many of the rooms are on a slight slope. I will talk to my staff about allowing guests to be creative with parking when the incline is a problem. Regarding the wall color; we are in the process of repainting all of the rooms to our signature Peach Tree color. I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Peach Tree Inn! What the heck happened? We have stayed three times in the past year or so, and the first two times were just great. We were greeted by personnel at the front desk with a hearty welcome, served strawberry lemonade and enjoyed a clean room.

But this last time (June 2014), we were greeted by an indifferent young man who checked us in, and when asked about the strawberry lemonade said, "If I get a free minute, I might make some up." A free minute? There were NO other patrons in the lobby, NO patrons in the kitchen/dining area. I think he was surfing the internet when we arrived, but I can't be sure.

We went back an hour later, still no lemonade. There never was any lemonade. But I guess it still is served on occasion, since we were told it might be available...later.

The room was OK, the location is great - walk to the SLO farmer's market on Thursday night (highly recommended). The breakfast was your standard continental breakfast fare - but I recommend going to the Apple Farm next door for breakfast (probably overpriced, but VERY good).

I guess I shouldn't put so much emphasis on the strawberry lemonade, but coupled with the tremendous attitude of the woman who was our host the first two times we visited, it really made a difference. Without the cheery attitude and fun snack of lemonade, the Peach Tree Inn is just another motel along 101. Sorry, Peach Tree Inn, you just didn't do it for us this time.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back, along the creek. Nice and quiet. Other rooms (near the street) aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia M, Public Relations Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and alert us to a shortfall in our guest service. I apologize and thank you for your multiple stays with us. I have shared your review with my staff and stressed the importance of a “hearty welcome” for each and every guest. I have also reminded them to always follow through with satisfying a guest request. Regarding the strawberry lemonade, I’m sorry we did not provide it during your stay. We usually provide lemonade every day. And when we can get good fresh strawberries, we add those to the lemonade. I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottage
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here which surpassed our expectations. The price is good value. We had a king room at the back which had a lovely deck overlooking a small creek. The room was very well equipped and the bed very comfortable. There are nice little touches like swings to sit on and enjoy the sun and the pleasant view of the hills. Great accommodation for SLO.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a small cozy hotel with a relaxing feel to it. The rooms are always clean and there are warm and inviting outdoor seating areas. The breakfast is pretty decent and it's free. The trolley bus stops right out front of the hotel which is convenient. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, the ones out front are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Peach Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peach Tree Inn

Address: 2001 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Peach Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peach Tree Inn is a home-style inn centrally located in friendly San Luis Obispo. Our caring front desk staff know San Luis Obispo well and are eager to assist you in making your stay most enjoyable.Located on the edge of town, our Inn allows visitors the ability to carry on business-as-usual, or to escape from the hurried world to relax on the porch, gaze at the hillside and chat with interesting travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peach Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peach Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Peach Tree Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peach Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.