We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creekside Rooms Have Great Patios” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peach Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Peach Tree Inn to your Saves list
Peach Tree Inn
2001 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Nelson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Creekside Rooms Have Great Patios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights, and enjoyed this motel very much. I will comment only on the creekside rooms - there are not many, but they are larger, more expensive (by $10 for a king, well worth it) and have a much better location. Other rooms looked pretty typical of a motel.

Let me compare it to a La Quinta - we tend to alternate between chains such as that and smaller motels. The room is comparable in quality, perhaps a bit smaller; but it has a quiet refrigerator (no microwave), good quality bathroom, comparable quality furniture. For us, the big bonus was location: far enough from the highway that there is no noise at night (a bit of white noise during the day), and the view from the patio (what La Quinta has that? was of green trees and green hills in the background. The spring air was heavily scent4ed, and the birds were chirping like mad - who cares if it was a bit cool, that's what wool sweaters are for. Finally, the breakfast was much better than I expected - bread, muffins (Costco?), fresh fruit (bananas, strawberries, pineapple), good choice of jams and cereals - everything I would get at La Quinta except the waffles. Would have liked some yogurt, but that's just me.

I would stay here again.Any room will do for an overnight, but for a longer stay you really want to be creekside.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms are special, for others you get a reasonably quite location and a good breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    172
    36
    9
    7
See reviews for
83
199
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was just your ordinary motel. Nothing special. The real problem I had was that I was quoted one price and then when my credit card bill came I had been charged $30 more. I called a number of times to get this taken care of and was either told to call back and speak to a manager, or had them take my name and number so a manager could call me back (never happened). When I did finally speak to a manager they told me they would issue me a refund to my card. Still didn't happen. It has been over a month now I have been trying to get this resolved. I can't believe they would go to such lengths to steal $30 from me. I should have just disputed the charge and not paid them anything, but I believed it was a simple mistake and they would take care of it. I was wrong. Don't take the change on being ripped off. Stay somewhere else.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been coming to Peachtree for years. It is convienient off the 101, good prices, great staff & excellent breakfast. Peachtree is a former 'Motor Lodge' with the paper towel dispenser still on the wall next to your room. The difference in the Peachtree is it is a larger property with the best rooms down below which have patios out back with refrigerators & microwaves. Definately a unique property and prices reflect which rooms you choose. Breakfast includes fresh fruit, homemade oatmeal, huge muffins, good breads & the usual cereals, etc. all served in a nice breakfast room next to the office. It is a bit far from town, maybe a mile or so, but we love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for one night as part of a border to border road trip. We arrived in SLO quite late due to bad weather on the PCH and were tired at check in. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and commiserated that we had missed the Thursday night market. He did recommend a great place for dinner.
The room was a typical motel room, but clean and comfortable. We were only staying one night and had a small room at the front. We were not troubled by noise either from the road or other guests.
Breakfast was a cut above what we had experienced at other motels, and again the staff were very friendly, chatting to us about the area and enjoying my confusion over American Football!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very good breakfast in a spacious breakfast room with a patio overlooking the nicely landscaped grounds. Exceptional customer service from Claire and the Owners. Overall a very pleasant stay in a convenient location, we would definitely choose Peach Tree in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Typical US chalet roomed motel but clean, courteous service, well appointed fittings like flat screen TVs and BluRay players. A simple but very nice breakfast. Lower level rooms would be further from the road but we slept peacefully on the road frontage. I'd recommend it for a no frills overnight stop. Not in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Down the ramp to the rooms at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I spent a week at this motel, and really enjoyed my stay. I requested a smaller room in front because I didn't need one of the larger rooms in back. I had no problem with street noise as some other reviewers have mentioned. There just isn't that much traffic on that street in this part of town.

The staff was very friendly when I checked in, and every morning in the breakfast area. The motel and the staff create a family-owned atmosphere.

The breakfasts included the basic items, but I thought the food quality was much better than at other motels. Breakfast was served in a very pleasant room with large tables and newspapers on each table. My room was clean, although somewhat small, but again, that was my choice. I was doing business during the day and not living in the room except in the evening. Since the building is only one floor high, no one was stomping on the floor above me, and I could park my car right in front of my door.

This is an excellent place to stay, especially for the rates charged. The next time I am in San Luis (which is once or twice a year), I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If all you want is a clean place to sleep, the smaller rooms in from are fine. Mine had a 40"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peach Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peach Tree Inn

Address: 2001 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peach Tree Inn is a home-style inn centrally located in friendly San Luis Obispo. Our caring front desk staff know San Luis Obispo well and are eager to assist you in making your stay most enjoyable.Located on the edge of town, our Inn allows visitors the ability to carry on business-as-usual, or to escape from the hurried world to relax on the porch, gaze at the hillside and chat with interesting travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Peach Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peach Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Peach Tree Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peach Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.