We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peach Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Peach Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peach Tree Inn
2001 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Progreso, Mexico
1 review
“Friendly and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Staff could not have been nicer. Guy at desk answered questions, gave directions and was graciousness personified. Continental breakfast was included - very large ripe strawberries were awesome and coffee was drinkable. Rooms small but clean - shower only in our room. If you're looking for something fancy, this isn't it, but quiet, good location and a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear our staff met your expectations. If you ever needed a bathtub, let us know, we do have rooms with bathtubs. We will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    166
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
81
191
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a very strong, affordable candidate for a family traveling to/through SLO. Room is large and well furnished. The decorating is not my taste but certainly well done. The room rate is competitive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are doing our best on updating our decor and furnishings, each room will be, if not already, refurbished. We would love to hear what would make us 5 stars! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was travelling from San Francisco to LA and decided to split the journey and visit Hearst Castle on the way. This motel is very easy to get to and located not far from downtown SLO and about 1 hour south of Hearst Castle. It was a Tuesday night and I paid $69+taxes. Bill came to about $77 or so and included a buffet style breakfast. The breakfast was better than "continental breakfasts" I have had at other places. Coffee was better than average (but I still rather go to Peets or Philz); boiled eggs, juices, decent bread to toast, cereal and fruit - perfect to grab a quick bite.

The room itself was at the front of the property, roadside. It's opposite a gas station, but I didn't experience much road/traffic noise over night. I understand there are rooms at the rear of the property but they were ever so slightly more expensive. The guys at the evening check-in desk and morning check-out were courteous, efficient and I had no problems. The room itself was a reasonable size. I wouldn't say it was modern, but it was perfectly comfortable, clean and had a working flat-screen TV. Bathroom - I wouldn't have minded a place to put my stuff like a counter or cabinet, but it was not a big problem.

All in all, if you're looking for a good value place to lay your hat for a night or two while traveling, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! I think San Luis Obispo is the perfect halfway point between San Francisco and Los Angeles, it's a very relaxing town in the middle of the busy cities! We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very clean and nice motel. From the outside it appears older, but the rooms are very nice. My room was in the front and had wood floors, nice woven rug under bed, night stands, nice tv, coffee maker with gourmet coffee, and small table. The room had an ironing board, iron and hair dryer. The staff was very nice and in their breakfast area they had tables, microwaves, etc. The motel also had free wifi. The breakfast was nice, lots of options and fresh fruit. The only thing I would say, is my room did not have a desk or table. They had a small table and two chairs next to the coffee maker. I would have really like a table I could sit at or a small desk. My room only had a shower, no bath, other rooms may have a bathtub also. Otherwise nice clean motel, would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was in the front and there is a Chevron gas station across the street and you could occasion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property! We do have some rooms that feature a shower/bath combination along with rooms with different furniture arrangements. When making reservations, let us know what you need and we'll do our best! Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Peach Tree Inn is a wonderful hotel. We came for Cal Poly Parents Weekend and stayed here 3 nights. The room was very clean, plenty big enough, very comfortable beds, and had everything we needed. The price was definately very affordable. They have a fabulous breakfast in a very welcoming breakfast room. "Home away from home"! The staff was very friendly and always helpful. My husband enjoyed meeting the owners and found that they truly have a passion for their hotel and guests. We loved everything about the Peach Tree Inn. We will definately stay here everytime we come to visit our son. We actually just booked another 3 night stay in February. Just can't say enough great things about this place. It's amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our property, we are happy you enjoyed your stay! The owners do love their guests, so it's only natural they treat you like family! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed one night here and would definitely recommend it. It's within easy walking distance to the town centre; rooms are clean & comfortable and staff very friendly. Breakfast was much better than I expected - lots of choice of cereals, breads, pastries, yoghurt, etc - much more than you get at many place in the same price range. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the review! We appreciate your feedback. Next time you come let us know how we can be 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We came to visit CalPoly on "Parents Weekend," and everyplace else was booked. From the outside, Peach Tree looks like an old highway motel, and we discovered that's exactly what it is! What we did not expect, though, is that it was clean, comfortable, and very charming. We learned that it is family owned (17-years, I think she said), and had all the amenities we needed: wireless internet, great location (pretty) close to campus, and a delicious breakfast.
I would actually describe it more as a "bed and breakfast" than a motel. The owners were onsite: the wife handled our check-out and the husband laid out the hot oatmeal, local berries, and fresh sourdough bread for breakfast. There is a small library of books and board games to play in the "lobby" area (that feels more like a living room), and they played relaxing CD's and had several different newspapers available there. They were kind and gracious and made us feel at home.
Depending on who else might be in the motel, I can imagine it getting a bit noisy, but it wasn't while we were there.
Availability got us in, but price, location, hospitality, and cleanliness will send us back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you! We do our best to avoid any noise issues that may occur during your stay. I'm happy you were able to meet the owners, they're great! Again, thank you for the review, we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peach Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peach Tree Inn

Address: 2001 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peach Tree Inn is a home-style inn centrally located in friendly San Luis Obispo. Our caring front desk staff know San Luis Obispo well and are eager to assist you in making your stay most enjoyable.Located on the edge of town, our Inn allows visitors the ability to carry on business-as-usual, or to escape from the hurried world to relax on the porch, gaze at the hillside and chat with interesting travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peach Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peach Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Peach Tree Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peach Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.