We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peach Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Peach Tree Inn to your Saves list
Peach Tree Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2001 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
West Linn, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We came to visit CalPoly on "Parents Weekend," and everyplace else was booked. From the outside, Peach Tree looks like an old highway motel, and we discovered that's exactly what it is! What we did not expect, though, is that it was clean, comfortable, and very charming. We learned that it is family owned (17-years, I think she said), and had all the amenities we needed: wireless internet, great location (pretty) close to campus, and a delicious breakfast.
I would actually describe it more as a "bed and breakfast" than a motel. The owners were onsite: the wife handled our check-out and the husband laid out the hot oatmeal, local berries, and fresh sourdough bread for breakfast. There is a small library of books and board games to play in the "lobby" area (that feels more like a living room), and they played relaxing CD's and had several different newspapers available there. They were kind and gracious and made us feel at home.
Depending on who else might be in the motel, I can imagine it getting a bit noisy, but it wasn't while we were there.
Availability got us in, but price, location, hospitality, and cleanliness will send us back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you! We do our best to avoid any noise issues that may occur during your stay. I'm happy you were able to meet the owners, they're great! Again, thank you for the review, we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    176
    37
    9
    8
See reviews for
84
202
22
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love this motel! Old-school style motel it's been completely refurbished large-screen TVs great beds superclean grounds incredible breakfast and super friendly staff. Will be coming over to stay alot having brought my daughter to school in San Luis can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachtree2001, Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property! We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Peach Tree Inn is very conveniently located next to a freeway exit. Although the rooms are small, they are clean and well maintained and have very comfortable beds. The breakfast was a nice touch and included hard boiled eggs. The staff was very welcoming and had peach lemonade and snacks out for the guests in the afternoon. There are several nice places to sit and enjoy the view of the nearby hills. The only negatives observed was the very limited flow shower heads and the lack of fresh air circulation in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

A truly lucky find after 6 nights in popular named chains. Clean, friendly, great value. Rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. Inn keeper and staff made you feel at home. Great value that also included breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our trip up the coast and the motel was what we expected. I was surprised at the big at screen tv but the rest of the room has not been updated in 20 years. The room was very clean and the had a good included breakfast. Our only complaint was that the ac did not really work. It was perfect for a cheap nights sleep while driving up the expensive hwy 1.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I m italian! I stayed here with my girlfriend just for a day cause we were travelling the west coast California! I found it in my lonely planet guide and therefore it should be must tried! I believe in that guide and infact it was a great stay! The back side of the hotel is Pretty nice and i rather like it cause is less noisy instead of the front side! But Dont worry it s all Located in a right and silent place! The amazing thing was the day after i woke up! I went to have my breakfast! And i swear it was sooo beautiful the whole room! I felt like an american kitchen and it looked like i was in an America family's room!!! There were many sweety and other to eat and drink! I must say that i am a greedy person but i swear muffin are the greatest i ve never eaten! So let me say to Every traveler to stop and rest in peach tree inn of San luis obispo! It doesn't let you down!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place was a pleasant surprise on a road trip up the coast. Small, local motels can usually be fairly sketchy but this place was great. The bed was comfortable, the 42" LCD TV was awesome, and the staff was extremely friendly.

Breakfast in the morning was really fresh and tasty before continuing on the trip. If I were to return to this area, I would definitely return to the Peace Tree Inn

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peach Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peach Tree Inn

Address: 2001 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Peach Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peach Tree Inn is a home-style inn centrally located in friendly San Luis Obispo. Our caring front desk staff know San Luis Obispo well and are eager to assist you in making your stay most enjoyable.Located on the edge of town, our Inn allows visitors the ability to carry on business-as-usual, or to escape from the hurried world to relax on the porch, gaze at the hillside and chat with interesting travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Peach Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peach Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Peach Tree Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peach Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.