We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany in California” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Roma

Cafe Roma
1020 Railroad Ave, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-4450
805-541-6800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Roma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 231 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Santa Rosa
Transit: Across the street from the San Luis Obispo Train Station.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tuscany in California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This restaurant is the best Italian in San Luis Obispo! The quaint location across from the train depot (after dinner go climb up on one of the train engines on a sidetrack :)) The train station is in a nice part of SLO because there isn't a single "bad" part in this town! You definitely feel tuscany in terms of decor and cuisine. We have eaten there many times and the food is always impeccably prepared and served. It's a medium sized restaurant, so I'd recommend our favorite table for two...in the corner opposite the entrance and a little north, a little quieter. The cool breeze from the open window blends with the aroma of the food. The wine list is good with choices in the $50-$100 range. Enjoy Cafe Roma and beautiful SLO!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    9
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grab a meal here as you ride Amtrak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Everytime I take Amtrak from LA to the Bay Area, I get a meal from here. I ask the conductor what time we are scheduled to arrive in SLO, then I look up the Caffe Roma website online and place my order and call Marcos, the owner to place my order .

He has a staff member bring my order over as I wait by the train (Amtrak stops there for about 20 minutes). All of fellow train riders are so envious as I chomp on delicious Italian food

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food in San Luis Obispo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice ambiance when you walk in. Neat and clean wIth Italian warmth and European charm.. Excellent service, the wait staff made us feel very much at home. All food is handmade from scratch and outstanding. Three of us dined and all sampled each others entrees. Their version of minestrone soup had a wonderful flavor and was full of fresh vegetables. Caprese Salad was freshly made and well presented. The ossobuco was perhaps the best ever and the spinich ravioli was fantastic as well. I had a delicious linguini shrimp scampi with asparagus dish. We shared a birthday taramisu and although it was late in the evening the dessert was fresh and full of flavor. Will defenitely come back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Great meal at Cafe Roma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a very good meal at Cafe Roma. We were greeted and taken to our table immediately as we walked in. The waiter was very attentive but not pushy. We enjoyed the steamed mussels as an appetizer...very good. Everyone in our party enjoyed something different from the menu...the fresh fish, pasta dishes and steak selections and we were all pleased with our choices. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, lackluster service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We ate on the patio out front. The waiter took our order quickly enough, and the food was delivered fairly timely. As with all outdoor dining, there are flies... oh well. The music should have been more on the Italian genre, not the pop stuff that was being played, although the volume was not too loud. The food was very good, if not excellent. The server never one time came back to fill up our drinks... bad. Yes, I'll go back, but I'll be a little more vocal about having my drinks filled up during the meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Roma also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cafe Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.