We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only place to go for sushi in slo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goshi

Goshi
570 Higuera St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-543-8942
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“the only place to go for sushi in slo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

ooooooh goshi's i love you so much. your garlic chip roll haunts my dreams. this is, by far, the BEST sushi in san luis obispo. i love everything about it. from yuki, to the sketchy stairs to the bathroom, the warm greetings, knowing at least 2 other couples in there at almost all times, the intimacy of the dining room, but most of all the two seats at the far right of the bar, on a date night with my husband... hot sake, miso soup, sashimi, tataki...
the quality of the fish is phenomenal. i like the fact that their fish isn't all covered up in weird over-the-top sweet or mayonnaise-y sauces. and maybe it's the sake, but i always leave happier than when i arrived. so, thanks yuki and everyone at goshi's for maintaining the comfortable, small town-feel of this restaurant and integrity of what tsurugi's was all about.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good find, this Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was surprised to find such a good Japanese restaurant in this city. The food was very good and the many small portions of my sashimi combo was so filling at $22. This restaurant has Japanese cooks/workers so it is visually authentic. The restaurant was full at 8 pm on a Sunday night so I felt good about eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun little sushi place with friendly service and fresh selections.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is a bit hard to find but well worth the effort. We ordered the smoked salmon roll as well as some grilled salmon. Both were prepared perfectly and tasted delicious. The service was very friendly from the moment we walked in and I would highly recommend that you try this place out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good sushi - friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Sushi is good, Service is friendly, prices are resonable. Little minus for athmosphere. The restaurant is not easy to find. It is hidden in a building complex.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Expensive and Mediocre"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I've been to many sushi restaurants and I am always weary when the sushi chef speaks Spanish. I had their lunch special and ended up leaving with a $17 tab. I feel the food was mediocre at best. The teriyaki sauce was some weird concoction. The staff was friendly, but I'm sorry to say that locals are in trouble if this is the highest rated sushi joint in SLO.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goshi also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Goshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goshi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.