We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find, this Japanese Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goshi

Goshi
570 Higuera St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-543-8942
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
seattle
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good find, this Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was surprised to find such a good Japanese restaurant in this city. The food was very good and the many small portions of my sashimi combo was so filling at $22. This restaurant has Japanese cooks/workers so it is visually authentic. The restaurant was full at 8 pm on a Sunday night so I felt good about eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    51
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun little sushi place with friendly service and fresh selections.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is a bit hard to find but well worth the effort. We ordered the smoked salmon roll as well as some grilled salmon. Both were prepared perfectly and tasted delicious. The service was very friendly from the moment we walked in and I would highly recommend that you try this place out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good sushi - friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Sushi is good, Service is friendly, prices are resonable. Little minus for athmosphere. The restaurant is not easy to find. It is hidden in a building complex.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Expensive and Mediocre"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I've been to many sushi restaurants and I am always weary when the sushi chef speaks Spanish. I had their lunch special and ended up leaving with a $17 tab. I feel the food was mediocre at best. The teriyaki sauce was some weird concoction. The staff was friendly, but I'm sorry to say that locals are in trouble if this is the highest rated sushi joint in SLO.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sushi lovers Dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My hubby loves this place. Very fresh! I hate sushi but there is plenty of friendly food for me on the menu.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goshi also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Goshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goshi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.