We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ol time food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margie's Diner-San Luis Obispo

Margie's Diner-San Luis Obispo
1575 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
(805) 541-2940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 257 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good ol time food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Plates are loaded with food. If you are worried about your cholesterol, don't go to Margie's - butter, grease flavor their food. No George Foreman grills used at this place. Good ol' fashioned food from the 50's and 60's!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    42
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

large portions and friendly service. prices were a little high. easy location right off freeway. If your staying in rose Garden Inn you can get discount

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A HUGE AMOUNT OF FOOD!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you are hungry or if you are traveling with ravenous teenagers....don't hesitate to stop at Margie's Diner which is anchored by a Best Western Plus Hotel just off of 101. We were shocked and awed by the huge oval platter filled with enough food for three people (with some left over) The atmosphere is dated but clean and the booths are filled with locals. Honestly...it's been a long while since I've seen such a load of food on a platter! Yikes!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Huge proportions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good food, huge servings. Be warned, if the item has Gravy on it, it's a LOT of gravy. It's clean, bright and plenty of parking.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Huge Portions, Heavenly Meals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Even the Seniors menu portions are gigantic, and the food is just amazing. On my most recent trip I ate both breakfast and dinner there, and was delighted with both. I had a traditional egg breakfast and substituted fruit for the potatoes....I couldn't finish it! And the shake I had with dinner....well that was just divine. I'm glad I only had to walk next door to my hotel....I needed a nap after each meal. NICE WORK, MARGIE!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margie's Diner-San Luis Obispo also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Margie's Diner-San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margie's Diner-San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.