We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ribs, generous portions.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firestone Grill

Firestone Grill
1001 Higuera St Ste A, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3603
(805) 783-1001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great ribs, generous portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I went here with my son on our recent trip. The ribs were delicious (skip the sauce, the rub taste great as is). Very generous portion, my kid ate half my garlic bread and most of my fries, and I still took some of my ribs home! They have a nice local wine list with fair prices (had a glass of Tobin James Zin for $7), and local brews also. My kid had a burger which was delicious. Good value, great place for families.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    160
    27
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious and quick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The line and outside dining area ws packed but we waited anyway. The locals can't be wrong can they? They are not. The best sandwich is by far the tri- tip steak sandwich . We can't get this on the Chicago area unfortunately . A must eat!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great BBQ for the entire family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went to visit family and had lunch here on a Sunday. The place opened at 11 am and a line was forming by 11:15 am.. Lines went quick and food came out quickly. The pulled pork sandwich looked dry and we thought it would need more sauce, but it was excellent. Tender and tasty and not dry at all. We didn't finish it and took half home, it was good the next day too! The tri tip steak sandwich was delicious and tender and tasty- can definitely see why it is one of their best sellers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great summer hangout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My daughter & I were touring Cal Poly and decided to try one of the local restaurants in town (where the kids her age hang out). Well these college kids have it right, this place was great! Nothing fancy you order your food from the cashier & then go pick it up. We had the pulled BB-Q pork sandwiches excellent & huge portions. The patio outside is nice for people watching too. Just a fun place to get an excellent quick sandwich or salad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My kids had the tri tip sandwich and were not impressed. They said it was okay but they prefer the tri tip from the Buckhorn Grill in Roseville. I had the fish tacos and felt the fish was too peppery and slightly too overcooked. The fries were good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firestone Grill also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Firestone Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firestone Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.