We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere after a long bike ride.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slo Brew Company

Slo Brew Company
1119 Garden Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
(805) 543-1843
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 257 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Menlo Park
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere after a long bike ride.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My friend and I came in here after a long bike ride on a Saturday night. When we walked up the stairs, we were welcomed by a hostess and seated. I ordered the sampler of beers along with some food and I was not disappointed. The sampler is a fun experience because the beer samples are served hanging on a long rack.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was really looking forward to coming to this place while visiting SLO with my family for the weekend. I love craft beer and I like visiting places that make their own beer every chance I get. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed in the food, service, and beer selection. First, they placed dirty plates on our table so we have them when the food arrives. We sent the plates back 2-3x, but they kept coming back dirty. That is just unacceptable for any restaurant. Second, the service was VERY slow even though there was hardly anyone there at the time. Third, the food was not that great. I had pizza, which was ok for me but no one else in our group enjoyed their food. Fourth and perhaps the most important part was the beer was just OK. It was extremely weak (most in the 4% ABV range) and the selection sucked. I brew my own beer at home and I have to say this beer didn't make the cut. It was the average IPA, pale ale, wheat, and then a dark variety. That's it and the ABV is well below average compared to the craft beer in the supermarket. The reason they probably do that is to have a quick turn around in the restaurant for the beer. Overall, I wish I had gone somewhere else and that I didn't waste one of the very few nights we had in SLO at this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beers, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved this bar; the drinks menu was extensive and the staff were so attentive. The menu is mostly burgers and pizza but it's spot on for having drinks with friends and watching the game. Your glass will never be empty!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expected better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Went for my friend Birthday. She is a vegetarian not by choice. She ordered an Ahi wrap and I ordered The Rock Star. It would have been a rock star if they hadn't served me a soggy bun. When my friend finished her wrap the waitress informed her she had given her a chicken wrap instead. The waitress gave her a jack and coke on the house, however, charged her for and ahi wrap and not the chicken wrap which was $5 cheaper. So much for the free drink. My friend had a stomach ache later that night and had a hard time sleeping. Service was also slow. You think with all the cute young girls working there, they could be more accommodating and not rip people off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service, okay beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The bartender Sarah was friendly, helpful and efficient. I loved the flavors of the sun splash sandwich and balsamic vinaigrette on the side salad. My husband had the rhythm and blues burger with fries. He said it hit the spot. I tried the fries and they were crispy delicious, not oily. The IPA was nothing to write home about. Loved the atmosphere. Would be a really cool place to hang out if I were 30 years younger.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slo Brew Company also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Slo Brew Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slo Brew Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.