We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Hotel and Bistro

Save Saved
You added Granada Hotel and Bistro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Granada Hotel and Bistro
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
El Dorado Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you like the charm of a boutique hotel- you'll want to check this one out. The photos and description on line - accurately depict the property. You can park your car and walk to fabulous restaurants and shops. Our room was cozy, clean, and comfortable. Though the room is compact, the space is used well. I loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    14
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
60
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have spent nearly 100 nights in SLO on business over the past two years and I've tried a dozen different hotels in the process. The Granada has by far the most authentically "local" vibe of a them all, capturing the folksy, college-and-cow-town-and-California-Mission atmosphere of this lovely Central Coast city with a unique flair. Rooms combine century-old red-brick-and-mahogany with modern touches like a glass/tile shower that opens to the room in a way that seems to whisper "just relax!" to any lingering anxieties or inhibitions. The hotel's several public spaces are cozy (couches and fireplaces) but spacious with an outdoorsy atmosphere that fits the near perfect climate and invites convivial chat. Food is good. Drinks are great. Staff is attentive without getting in the way. The whole place is both romantic and charming ("Charmantic?") in that it invites you to be deeply comfortable. That works if you're traveling on business or vacationing with someone special. I'm looking forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Traveling to SoCal from Marin for thanksgiving, my husband and I wanted to break up the long drive and stay along the Central Coast of CA. We'd never been to SLO so decided to check it out. After a quick web search using my favorite keyword (luxury), I found the Granada Hotel. Well...it did not disappoint. Located in the middle of a college town with a variety of shopping and dinning options, the hotel is in a converted old brick building. The overall hotel design is lovely and would be interesting to anyone who enjoys contemporary and traditional styling. Granada has a great, lively vibe that is suitable for young and not so young. We had a suite with a great bathroom -- the shower stall was really cool with an exposed brick wall and good water pressure. The comfortable queen bed had nice linens, and the room was made complete by having a fireplace, small but viewable flat-screen tv and plenty of space for the two of us. Super lotions and potions -- great size soap, too. Our room faced out on a slightly busy street so there was some early morning truck delivery noise but there really weren't other options since the hotel is wedged in between other buildings in the heart of the old downtown. By no means was the noise a deal killer. On second floor is a light-filled living room lounge area with an outdoor deck that had views of town and the tree-lined street below. Hosted coffee/tea available in the morning. Friendly service at check in by Kathleen and great check out service by Celia (I think) a graduate of Swiss Hospitality College. Nice bikes are available for free to bop around the town; just ask. The perfect hotel for parents wanting to scope out Cal Poly or for couples wanting to do wine tasting and visit the nearby Avila Beach. Would be a nice property for a small group wedding party, too!

Room Tip: Stay on the Second Floor -- Lots of natural light and the rooms are quieter. First floor has a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Granada, fondly referred to by locals as the G-Spot, is a sultry and seductive boutique hotel that brings the a taste of international culture and cuisine to the Central Coast. It's my favorite after-work-drink-spot as the ambiance transports me from my daily responsibilities to another more exotic space and time. Or maybe its the wine. Either way, The Granada gives me the unique experience of feeling simultaneously on vacation in a swanky European town and while being very comfortably settled at home. Eric always has a new Malbec or Tempranillo for me to try with my favorite cheese platter. The staff is consistently pleasant, efficient, and clearly trained to pay attention to details. I'm always pleased to acquaint my out-of-town guests with one of San Luis Obispo's gems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the granada; the location is suberp..walking distance to all of the good stuff in SLO e.g., the mission, movies, shopping and restaurants. We didn't eat at the bistro downstairs but enjoyed the bistro's delicious appetizers and drinks in the common upstairs lovely sitting room, which has an outside patio, a cool fireplace and a great atmosphere.The bistro provides a great scene and the food I am sure is as the delicious as the starters. The rooms are on the small side but the cool decor and excellent bedding makes up for a lot. Very nicely decorated with a european feel.The hotel provides bikes free of charge, which is a great way to cruise the area, staff is friendly and nice and overall the stay was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This beautiful boutique hotel is just what SLO needed!! This was our second stay and we are in LOVE! There is a sophisticated, sexy and fun vibe. The decor has an eclectic, Spanish flare with exposed brick throughout. The rooms are beautiful, quiet and very comfortable. The bistro has amazing food and wine! As a guest, you must order the "Granada" cheese platter with wine and enjoy upstairs in the private guest lounge. The lounge has a great fireplace and is equipped with games for guests to play. There are bikes available to ride around town and even take wine tasting! We were highly impressed and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Granada Hotel truly makes you feel like you are staying somewhere special. Its style is unlike anything else in San Luis Obispo, with a cozy, European feel. The rooms are filled with the best amenities, amazing beds, and the hotel is in the heart of downtown---right where you want to be. Our first night, we had dinner at the restaurant, which was a real treat. The bartender also makes some great drinks that you can't find anywhere else. If you are looking to plan a special night or weekend, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Address: 1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.