We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Hotel and Bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Granada Hotel and Bistro to your Saves list
Granada Hotel and Bistro
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with an overnight trip to San Luis Obispo for my birthday. He made all of the arrangements and I didn't know what to expect. Upon arriving at The Granada Inn, I was immediately impressed. It was one block off of the main street in town, Higuera Street, and it has off-street parking which was very convenient considering the metered parking in the downtown area. We also noticed the bikes that you can use to ride to wineries or just to cruise around town. We parked the car and walked up to the front. The hotel itself isn't clearly marked, but the bistro next door made it clear that we were in the right spot. I kinda liked that it was a little bit hidden. We didn't eat at the bistro, but it looked like it had great ambiance and I've heard that it has good food. We checked into our room and loved it. Exposed brick wall, fireplace, nice fluffy bed, robes, cool toiletries, and funky decor. Distressed metal wardrobe and side tables added a very cool look. The bathroom looked brand new and was very clean. The shower was incredible. I just LOVED our room. I made a last minute appointment for a deep tissue massage and they were able to find an awesome massage therapist to see me the next morning. The massage room was right next to our room which made it very convenient. My massage was heavenly - I highly recommend Joleen. Everything at the Granada Inn was great - helpful staff, clean rooms, and excellent location. We are looking forward to staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    15
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
61
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Granada Hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel that surpasses all other hotels in this area. The rooms are small but very well appointed. The detailing is superb. They spared no expense. There is a private lounge/dining area with fireplace, games on the second floor. The customer service was excellent in the hotel and we had parking in the back and super cool bikes for riding.
Our restaurant experience was more like 3 stars. We ate there three times in two days on our romantic getaway. The servers were the buzz kill to this place. It kind of killed it for us. The food was good. Our clams were super fishy. Our candle was out at the table for dinner and our servers response was that the oil must have run out and walked away instead of replacing our candle. We had to get up and get another candle for our table. There were several odd interactions with two of our servers. The wine selection and mixed drinks were excellent and the ambiance and decor are excellent. If ever in the area again this will be out go to place. My hopes is that the inattentive servers smile and engage a bit more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Was not expecting to find a great restaurant life this in SLO. Food was excellent, service was great. Cocktails were expensive but the ambiance is very nice. I would go there again and would recommend Granada to my friends.




excel

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

For SLO I don't know that you could get any better..?

Very Hip, NYC vibe. Hotel is boutique and the size of rooms are reflective of that, but as long as you know that going in you should be impressed. The quality and care put into the rooms is apparent. Linens, mattress, and eclectic decor are spot on.

Staff was VERY helpful in ever aspect, from giving directions to the nearest gym (which they provided a free pass for), to providing bikes and a map to all the local wineries.

All and all a very enjoyable experience!

If you go to the Bistro definitley get the cheese plate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is really a hidden gem. Wonderful service, restful and beautifully appointed rooms. All the little details are thought of, and the furnishings are well thought out and nicely designed. We didn't have a chance to try the restaurant, but it looked lovely. They also have a nice outdoor patio for guests only.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We came to SLO for my husbands birthday weekend and are so thrilled we found the Granada. The staff were all fabulous and it is obvious they love where they work. Our room was small but perfect in every way. The decor is beautiful, warm woods and marble bath and shower, great bed and linens. The upstairs outdoor patio was a great place to sit and read or enjoy a glass of wine. We had dinner Friday night at the Bristo on the cozy patio. The corn soup was amazing as was my chicken and my husbands paella dinner. The Sunday brunch Granada Eggs Benedict was one of the best things we ever ate. Can't wait to tell our friends and return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Granada Hotel along with our entire wedding party for our wedding weekend, and simply can't say enough about our entire stay and experience. The quality, attention to detail, and uniqueness of each of the rooms was second to none, and our group even enjoyed popping into all of the rooms to see the various details. Easily one of our favorite parts of the hotel was the upstairs outdoor patio. Our group spent quite a bit of time out there each morning having coffee, reading the paper, and planning the day. The Bistro downstairs has great food (we especially enjoyed the brunch) and an even better wine list. Finally, we can't say enough about the service the Granada provided, specifically the team at the front desk. They were extremely helpful from the second we arrived and took care of our every need. They were even able to assist us in quickly securing a limo bus for an impromptu wine tasting trip on a Saturday, an hour or so before we wanted to depart. Again, I can't say enough about our experience...we loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Address: 1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.