We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Hotel and Bistro

Save Saved
You added Granada Hotel and Bistro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Granada Hotel and Bistro
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Atascadero
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So nice!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband planned a one night 20th anniversary get away for us. It was quite wonderful. We loved the Granada Hotel for many of the reasons everyone has written on earlier reviews. We were in Room 1 overlooking the street from our Juliet Balcony. It was just a really cool room with a totally different feel. The service was great as everyone treated us with lots of attention and did not fail to mention our anniversary. The restaurant and bar looked great, but we chose to go to the spectacular Koberl at Blue two blocks away instead. This restaurant has the same feel as the Granada with the brick walls and dark woods. We did not use any of the extra hotel spaces, but would in the future. For breakfast, my husband walked the short distance to Starbucks and brought back the items that we enjoyed on our Juliet Balcony. The view is nothing great, but we didn't care. We were just enjoying the moment. The only drawbacks we experienced where that the hot water took a long time to come on and the street noise was bad at times. I have already recommended the Granada to friends. If you stay more than one night, eat at the Granada for one and Koberl at Blue for the other.

Room Tip: We liked the front room with the Juliet Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
48
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here shortly after the hotel opened and while I applaud their attempts to offer a stylish boutique hotel, there were several serious flaws they need to sort out before I could recommend staying here. Many of the issues stem from their inability to better separate the guests staying in the hotel from the restaurant customers.

For a start, if the hotel says they offer free parking for hotel guests, they need to ensure that. It's not acceptable to allow restaurant customers (or anyone else) to take all the hotel parking spots and then tell the hotel guests they should park somewhere else and check back regularly for a spot to open up.

Also, if the upstairs lounge area is supposed to be a quieter area reserved for hotel guests only, then again the hotel needs to enforce that policy. For two nights, my husband and I tried to have a quiet evening enjoying a glass of wine on the outside patio of this guests-only lounge. Both nights, those plans were disrupted by groups of semi-drunk people from the restaurant downstairs invading the space, talking loudly to each other etc. This also highlighted a serious security risk as several of the hotel rooms (mine included) have bedroom windows that open into this lounge area - anyone could easily access the rooms by simply stepping in through the window.

The service was also very uneven - one manager was nice and tried to help and another manager was rude and unhelpful. Perhaps these issues were opening jitters and have been taken care of. For the prices they are charging, I should hope so.

Room Tip: Avoid the classic Queen unless you are a single traveler - these rooms are TINY!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I came up to SLO for a short birthday trip for some wine tasting in Paso Robles. We stayed for two nights - a Sunday (Easter, actually) and the next night. After ruling out the B&Bs in Paso, I came across the Granada Inn on tripadvisor and the search was over! The inn is small but the staff friendly and helpful. The Spanish style is done in a modern way-you won't feel like you're in a creepy, dusty, medieval castle. The rooms are stylish, quiet, modern, and sexy. Having a shower in the room is a bit strange but on a couples getaway, works just fine.

We didn't actually end up eating at the bistro unfortunately but it had many patrons both nights of our stay. The location is prime for strolling around SLO. In the morning, coffee is served upstairs in a lounge. There is also a great rooftop outdoor patio with a fireplace and very intimate seating to sit and sip coffee or a glass of wine.

There is a massage room that I didn't partake of - maybe next time! Be forewarned that parking is in the back and you have to drive down a very narrow alley to get to it which is a bit harrowing. I missed the alley the first time.

The pictures online don't really give you too much to go on but can totally be trusted. The inn is sexy and modern with rich dark wood and beautiful stone and vanity. The beds were super comfortable and even though the window of our room faced the parking lot, it was quiet and undisturbed. The cost was really great for the location and the value of the room as well. I will definitely be back if I am headed back up there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had lunch here on arrival in town. Realized it was a hotel as well as a Bistro and thought it was really interesting. We cancelled our reservations and decided to stay at the Granada for our one night in town. It's a new place and I would have to say we liked it so much better than staying on the coast or outside of town. The location is great. The shops and restaurants start just outside the doors and continue for blocks. Close to the university and a ten minute drive to the beach. The atmosphere though was really neat. It's a rebuild that kept the old world charm and was extremely well done. Great room amenities and great beds. Everything was polished. I can't even list the little things they did so well but my guess is the price will go up as they get more visibility. The bistro was also really nice and a great place for lunch outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I absolutely loved this place. So chic and elegant. I loved the rooftop fireplace, the gorgeous exposed brick wall in our room, and the shower/sink area was so cool. Comfy bed and nice toiletries.
If you find yourself in downtown SLO, you will love it here.
The only thing to make this place better would be to have a Kuereg coffee maker instead of the large pot in the common area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Up to now, there hasn't been a huge selection of places to stay beyond motels, a few bnb's and some old landmark inns (Madonna, for one). Which is totally fine, but what with the chic farm to table aesthetic of the area, combined with all the wineries, it has been a mystery to me why there wasn't a place that combined all of those elements in a place to lay one's head. Well, now there is one and it's the Granada. I grew up in SLO and watched it transform from a sleepy cattle town to a pretty bustling university and tourist destination. The Granada beckons you from the first step in the doorway, with rich dark colors, exposed brick, chic 'industrial meets vintage' touches in the furnishings and decor.

My husband and I were really impressed with the customer service of all the staff. Our suite (12) overlooked Morro Street and was beautifully appointed with great linens, a very comfortable bed and bottled water to drink. Literary choices for bedside reading was a great touch, as is the lighting in the room. Even though we came to see friends and do some sightseeing, we ended up lounging at the hotel more than we ever imagined we would due to the total comfort of the place. We had dinner by the fireplace upstairs with a friend and the food was outstanding. There was a 'gourmet fried chicken' special that was succulent and delicious, as were the wine and cocktail selections. In fact, we extended our stay for another night. Unfortunately, Sunday is when the street cleaning and trash pick up takes place and because we left our window open, we didn't get the restful sleep we'd had the night before. But, other than that, we have now found our 'go-to' hotel when visiting SLO. The bistro downstairs has a patio with a fireplace and really attentive staff and great food. Also, a winning note was the exceptional coffee that awaited us in the morning!

Room Tip: I would add that on Sunday nights a room toward the back is preferable, but probably just leaving th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arriving on a damp dreary afternoon we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and escorted to our room #14. She pointed out the cozy lounge and fireplace as well as where we could find coffee in the morning.

The room was on the small side yet the attention to detail by the designer was evident. The exposed brick and the glass paneled shower added to the uniqueness. Top notch soaps/shampoos in the silver trays and a Polaroid camera on the desk were nice touches. Our window did look out onto the outdoor patio and I wonder what the noise level would have been on a hot summer night and there would be little privacy in the room with the curtains open.

Although the room book said a newspaper was to be delivered to the door it did not happen and when asked why it wasn't they said they haven't set it up yet. Also at this price point, at other B & B's or Inns we have stayed in, there was wine/hors d'ouvers in the evening or muffins/rolls were served with morning coffee. I think one or the other would be a nice feature.

The location can't be beat and the free parking behind the hotel was a plus. Although we didn't eat at the Bistro it was bustling on a Thursday night. It looked warm and inviting with the twinkling lights and fire element.

We enjoyed our brief stay and with a few small changes we think it would really be a special get-a-way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Address: 1126 Morro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.